We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicken In A Barrel BBQ

Chicken In A Barrel BBQ
4-1586 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
8088230780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Dry rubbed, smoked BBQ chicken, beef, pork, and ribs! Falls of da bone, melts in your mouth! Eat-in or take-out! Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!
Pamiruru
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good food and good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed our BBQ sampler outside on a picnic table at Chicken In A Barrel BBQ in Kapaa. The sides were delicious too. For the sampler, it's enough for 2 people and includes chicken, ribs, beef bbq, pulled pork and a few sides - all very good. I would recommend this to those passing by as I did for several years before deciding to give it a try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    185
    39
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good BBQ in Hawaii? YES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I got the chicken and ribs combo. Ribs were decent but the chicken was awesome! The barbeque sauce is really good too though the chicken definitely doesn't need it. Great spot for lunch- try it for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The amount of food you got was large! The chicken was great and barbeque sauce was just right! You did get a quarter of a chicken and 2 pork ribs. The ribs were not my favorite. Tough to get the meat off the bones. I like meat that just falls off of the bone. Loved that they had a sink outside to wash your hands after you were done. Seating too close to the main highway!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“MUST TRY THIS! AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

After seeing the reviews, I had to try this place. Probably the best chicken I have ever had. Just thinking about it makes my mouth water. I wish we had a place like this back home. This will be one of my first stops when I return to Kauai. The chicken is smoked in a barrel all day and you get this delicious smoky BBQ taste like none other. We did the Kauai fine dining and other great eats mentioned on trip advisor, but this place left me with the biggest memory. Mahalo to who ever created this gem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Delicious BBQ that you can't beat. Got the combo plate and loved every bit of it. Pulled pork was to die for. Stop by here if you're craving some BBQ. They won't disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken In A Barrel BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Chicken In A Barrel BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicken In A Barrel BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.