We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No seasoning” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chicken In A Barrel BBQ

Chicken In A Barrel BBQ
4-1586 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
8088230780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Dry rubbed, smoked BBQ chicken, beef, pork, and ribs! Falls of da bone, melts in your mouth! Eat-in or take-out! Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No seasoning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Got the sampler plate, the ribs and chicken had no seasoning what's so ever, rice was just plain brown rice and beans right out of a can, it was nothing really special to rant about, I guess people are just really hungry, they go and try it, but don't waste your time and money, go check out Pono Market!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    184
    39
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food is only surpassed by the aroma of the BBQ!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This was great food and nice people! Between us we tried it all. The chili is very unique and delish. Loved the 3:16 on the carton!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Was planning to go to Scotty's Beachside BBQ but discovered it was out of business. Decided to just stop at first place that looked good. Chicken in a Barrel looks like a dive but the smell was so wonderful that we turned the car around and went back. It tasted as good as it smelled. I had chicken & rib combo & my husband had the sampler plate. Both were more than generous servings & the meat was cooked & seasoned to perfection. If you are on Kauai and would like some reasonably priced exceptional BBQ - eat here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
“"The Best of the Best"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was all we could talk about when we got back home to the mainland. I stare at the picture gallery on their website and just drool recalling the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The sampler platter was VERY good. Meat is smoked perfectly with a choice of sauces to add if you choose. Service is fast and friendly. Pepper knows his way around smoke! Nice change from fish while you are here. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken In A Barrel BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Chicken In A Barrel BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicken In A Barrel BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.