We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REFRESHING SHAVED ICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hee Fat General Store

Hee Fat General Store
4-1354 Kuhio Hwy, Ste 1, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
(808) 823-6169
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 114 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Independence, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“REFRESHING SHAVED ICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You must try the shaved ice here; it is so good and for an extra treat add a scoop of icecream to it. BIG portion! WOW; a must do while on Kauai.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    47
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If you are looking for the best Hawaiian Snow, look no further.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This store in on the Main Street in Kapaa. Go slow through town or you will miss it. They have the best Hawaiian Snow, by far. There is no lines because the counter is inside the store. Be sure to have it with ice cream on the bottom. Don't worry about calories, it's a " vacation weight". They also have very nice gifts. Stop in and enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mmmmm...POG....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped by Hee Fat General Store for their shave ice. Of course. I ordered the POG (passion fruit, orange, guava on coconut ice cream) and my husband ordered the Lava Flow. We both really loved our shave ice, but we didn't realize how incredibly good it really was until we tried shave ice at other places are Kauai and Oahu. Hee Fat was, by far, the best that we tried. Well worth the stop. The gift shop also has some unique finds that I wished, later, I would've bought as I didn't find the same things anywhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best shave ice on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Never thought I would be writing a review about shave ice because frankly I thought they were all pretty much the same. I couldn't have been more wrong. Unfortunately for us this was the first shave ice we enjoyed on this trip. All others afterwards, including recommended, didn't compare. Hee Fat shave ice literally melts in your mouth. As the ice melts it doesn't create an ice snowball requiring sharp jabs to break up. Syrup flavors are tasty too. I think think this was also the place where you could get all natural juice flavors too. Shave ice over macadamia nut ice cream was also recommended. I was a little hesitant but it was Yummy!!!
Fortunately for us we ended our shave ice tasting on a high note Hee Fat was the last we enjoyed before returning home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Very refreshing - love the real fruit flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hee Fat General Store is a fun stop. I don't know what I was expecting but it was a lot nicer. The gift part was fun to look through but that was good since there was a wait for the shave ice.

I loved how fine the ice was. It reminded me of when I was little and would eat snow. We elected to go with the natural fruit flavor and were happy with the taste. I go the additional mac ice cream in the bottom of mine. My favorite bites were where the fruit flavors and melted ice cream combined. A place to sit is a problem after you get your shave ice but we just walked down to the beach.

We did see someone getting the root beer float shave ice and I have to say that is the one I was planning if we had gotten time to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hee Fat General Store also viewed

 

Been to Hee Fat General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hee Fat General Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.