We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ahi Poke Salad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pono Market

Pono Market
4-1300 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI
(808) 822-4581
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 103 restaurants in Kapaa
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Ahi Poke Salad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After reading other reviews, I checked out this market. I was pleased with the quality of the food. I ordered the ahi poke saland and ocean salad. Both were excellent. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    130
    48
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good omiyage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Found this place by accident when stopping to dine at Ono Family Restaurant. Easy on-street parking (and no parking meters). Heard that the manju was good stuff to bring back home as omiyage. The helpful counter person suggested a mixture of their different manju - black sugar, sweet potato, coconut and apple - all were very delicious! They even package it very well to take back home on the airplane. Happy to have found this place. Need to return on our next trip to try their poke and other delicious looking foods.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Imagine your favorite local market, you know the one with the killer deli counter in back? Pono Market is all that, and more! They have local Kauai specialties, and all the Island staples. For the less "food adventurous", try the Teriyaki Meatloaf on Wednesday and Saturday, served with "two scoops of heaven" rice and Macaroni salad. It's cheap and good and a LOT of food! My wife had the Pineapple Chicken and said it was to die for. This place is worth more than 5 stars, but that's all we could give it. Highly recommended and WE will be back! Yumm!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our All TIme Favorite Place For A Plate Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Love Pono Market! Family owned, with the family working there greeting and helping you.These are nice people! They work hard, and still manage to be warm and friendly to their customers. We went in to pick up a plate lunch. Hubby wanted more poke, and I had a taste for some fried chicken. I asked if they had dark meat on the bone, because I saw strips or tenders available( I'm not a fan of any type boneless chicken chunks, tenders, balls, tidbits, strips...etc).
This adorable guy said no. So,I decided to go with the teri meatloaf instead. But, then he surprised me with a sample of their fried chicken. OH MY GOSH! It was out this world! It was homestyle fried chicken crunchy goodness, and the chicken itself, tasted like it had been marinated with some ginger. It was sooo good. Well, we ordered a teri meatloaf plate and a sesame poke plate with an ocean salad...and a large side of fried chicken to go! The teri meatloaf is delicious. Highly recommend the meatloaf. We destroyed our lunch that day. They offer many different lunch items each day, so check to see what you may like on a given day. Oh yeah, and be sure to order that fried chicken if you can!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I think they have the best value for a Plate Lunch on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a great family owned market. We like to order the day before for next day pickup. We take our carry out back to our Lanai to enjoy it with our great view of the ocean. They have great chicken but my favorite is the LauLau. It's a must every time we're on the island.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pono Market also viewed

 

Been to Pono Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pono Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.