We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNRELIABLE, MIGHT BE OPEN MIGHT NOT?????” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Hut

The Fish Hut
484 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 103 restaurants in Kapaa
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“UNRELIABLE, MIGHT BE OPEN MIGHT NOT?????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went here on 9/22/13 at 1pm. They were closed and nobody around. Also went here on 9/23/13 at 315 pm and 2 young ladies were there and said they wouldn't open for 20 more minutes. They state on their website they open @ 11pm daily. The young lady told me they didn't have a chef to cook the meals and that was the reason for them not being open. Looks to me like they are going down the tubes like the rest of the vendors in Coconut Marketplace. No apologies or sorry's from the women here They acted like they didn't care either way. We ate here back in 6/2010 and were served by the owner and the service and food were very good. These girls had the personalities of a wet rag. If I were the owner i would have fired them for acting like this. Who ever heard of a restaurant not having someone to cook the food? There are half the vendors that there used to be here 3+ years ago and from the looks of it, there might be one less food vendor here in the future. Save your time and money and go elsewhere for fish tacos. There are plenty of great places around the island for this type of food where they are there and ready to serve you. A huge disappointment!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    75
    56
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Fish Wraps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Love the Fish Wraps. Not a fancy place. You eat out side on tables but can get it to go and walk back to close by condo's and eat you lunch by the ocean. The coleslaw is good a lot of food for the price so you girls may want to share. Coconut Market Place is going thru a makeover so understand that it will be better next trip around. Just need to get supplies for the Shave Ice always out of flavors. Go to Ono Family Restaurant in Kapaa for the best shave ice and their breakfast are yummy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good fish and coconut shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had some really good fish here and to die for coconut shrimp. The only ding was the portions were way different depending on who was working. Very odd. But the food was always good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome, fresh seafood for $10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I had the one dinner plate for $10 and the wife had the mahi Maui wraps. Both (we share) tasted great, mine came with an OK tartar sauce and hers with a competent salsa. We both appreciated the freshly made seafood. We were also glad we could order a meal that did not include anything fried. At the price zero concerns and we would go again.

We try to eat reasonably healthy and so I wanted to repeat one moretime how we appreciated the fresh seafood grilled not fried served with rice, at fast food prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Delicious food and convenient. We ate there a couple times, and everything we ate we enjoyed. Once we ate at a table outside, and another time we took the food back to our room.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Hut also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.