We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hukilau Lanai

Hukilau Lanai
520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
8088220600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hukilau Lanai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 114 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just quickly wanted to say that we loved this restaurant. The food was amazing (I had the Hukilau Mixed Grill and my husband had the tasting menu) and the atmosphere was great. The kid's menu was awesome as well. We had to wait 2 days for a reservation, but it was worth it! Still dreaming of the sauce with my fish...mmmm....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,123
    306
    91
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skillman, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All meats rubbed with MSG”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Waited 2 days to get a reservation and then were made to wait 15 minutes by an extremely rude hostess for a seat. The meats were rubbed with MSG like crazy and my tongue started feeling funny from it. Mahi Mahi was not impressive and a bit fishy, my wife said her prime rib was clearly rubbed with MSG as well. Go get a fantastic steak at Wranglers or Mexican at Verde instead of this pretentious rip off joint, for breakfast go to Kountry Kitchen, they are the BEST!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants on the island. Food and service was top notch. Highly recommend the mixed grill because it gives you several different taste. Didn't give it a 5 star rating because they seated us 30 minutes after our reservations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, Virgnia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The seafood was fresh, brought in my local fishermen. Everything was fresh.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mahi Mahi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by a local and we couldn't have been more pleased! Delightful evening! Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hukilau Lanai also viewed

 

Been to Hukilau Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hukilau Lanai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.