We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eastside

The Eastside
4-1380 Kuhio Hwy., Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
808-823-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 103 restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Eastside , located in the heart of downtown Kapaa HI offers a unique Pacific Rim dinner menu featuring an exquisite selection of seafood entrees as well as steak, pork and chicken. Dinner prices range from $17 to $30 per entrée and offers a full bar and nightly music.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Took a gamble and dropped in for a quick dinner. There was live music - mellow island guitar player - he was very good. H the parmasian encrusted Mahi. Man was it good. the serving size was large. for desert the cheesecake mango topping.... very yummy. Price was a little higer than I like - but overall nice experience. the servers were very nice and the owner was present.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    227
    78
    24
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Interesting flavor combinations, nice portions, intriguing mixed drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stopped here for dinner based on recommendations from both Trip Advisor and the Hawaii Revealed tour book series. Glad we did. Nice selection of wines by the glass, also beers, and a full bar with some Hawaiian/tropical drink specialties. Portions are healthy so you won't need an appetizer, salad and main course unless you're half-starved. We shared an appetizer that was a caprese (tomatoes and mozzarella) with an island twist - tropical fruit and an excellent drizzled dressing. Definitely want to eat this again. My fish was excellent and my husband's half-a-chicken provided leftovers for a future meal. Too bad we were too satisfied to try desserts. Service was excellent. Oh, and the live music was good, too. A singer/guitarist/songwriter worth listening to. They have lunch as well as dinner. We didn't have time this trip, but it would be fun to walk along the seashore multi-use trail for a few miles and end up here for a meal. Next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Ono on Kauai!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very delicious and fresh fish, use local farm grown food. An awesome Apple Lava dessert they set on fire at the table...melted in your mouth!! The night we came the cook and dish washer had both quit and were drunk, the staff and owner were awesome!! Thanks to the cops for getting the young men on their way...We would return to eat here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“5 things on the menu!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I read all the great reviews on this place and so we decided to try it. Unless you enjoy having no choices this place wasn't great. We sat down and looked at the menu, there were five entrees on it and so we told the waitress we needed more of a variety and left. She was very nice about the whole thing. One reason I go to Hawaii is to try different food, this isn't the place to do that. The only reason I am giving this place two stars is because the waitress was so nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“revisit may be last visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

this was a more pleasant visit than my first experience. the caesar salad was superb. the rib eye was extraordinarily good with fabulous horseradish mashed potatoes, sautéed greens, and terrific onion rings. that said, the most negative thing abt the resto was that we asked for bread and we were charged $2.00 for a little bit of stale, dry, cottony bread. that is outrageous and i intend to speak to the owner about this. i have eaten all over the world in the finest restos including, Paris, all over France, London, NYC, Hong Kong, Honolulu, Japan, Italy, Austria, etc. and i have NEVER had to pay for bread. In fact most great restos give fabulous bread freely as an integral part of the meal as well as a complimentary amuse-bouche or amuse-gueule to set the stage for a great meal. what a chintzy, cheap, off-putting way to treat diners! it will be a long time before i go back here. btw, this is a noisy place since it is right on the main drag in Kapa'a and lots of motorcycles pass by.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eastside also viewed

 

Been to The Eastside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eastside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.