We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxurious but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not luxurious but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Me and my wife stayed here for our second week of our Hawaii trip. The first week was on Maui. The best way to describe this place is that it is not luxurious but comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom garden view room. This is a timeshare resort so if you are not a member you will not get a ocean view room, they are reserved for members only.The unit itself was comfortable with all the home away from home stuff you need. It had a full kitchen with refrigerator with ice maker, dish washer and stove top oven. Good size bathroom with an over under W/D. Decent sized L/R and B/R. Both with a flat screen TV and DVD player.The bedroom and living room had sliding glass doors that led out to a small balcony. The only problem with this was every time you opened the L/R sliding glass door the A/C turned off as an energy conservation item. Another thing I noticed about the unit we stayed in was every time we came in to our room from being out for awhile their was an odor we smelled as soon as we opened the door but then it either went away or our noses got used to it after we were in our room for a couple of minutes. I also noticed this odor in the hallway. Kind of like the rugs were real wet at one time then dried and got a moldy smell. The unit itself like other condo resorts only offers full maid service once a week but does offer trash and linen service everyday. But if you need anything else the staff is very friendly and courteous.I felt bad for the guy who handled our luggage we were on the second floor and the building had no elevator. The grounds of the resort are spectacular. Whoever is ahead of their landscaping should be rewarded for the excellent job he does. Their is a pool and hot tub with a pool side bar and grill and gas grills if you want to grill yourself. The pool is not very large but it doesn't have to be since this resort is only big enough to hold about a hundred guests.The resort is on the beach but you can't go swimming because their really is no beach since it is all rock and no sand. So if you want to go swimming on the beach you have to go a couple minutes down the road to a public beach. Check in was quick and efficient. Their is a restaurant off the lobby and I highly recommend dining here because the food and service were excellent a little pricey but worth every penny. Also since this is a time share resort they will try to sell you a time share but they are not pushy about it. If you go to the concierge and try to plan some events you can get some good discounts but you must go to a time share presentation to get them. We did this and got about 200 dollars in discounts and when we went to the presentation we were able to to say no and walk away after 20 minutes.Their was no pressure. If you want to go shopping to stock up the kitchen with food their are a couple of food markets just up the road one is a Safeway. Remember food in Hawaii is expensive but the liquor was pretty cheap. Get your self a Safeway card when you go shopping and you can save some money. Their is a small shopping center in the same complex as the resort it has a couple of bars and some stores to buy souvenirs and gifts. They have a store called The Whaler this is where you want to buy your t shirts and hats because they are very inexpensive.
So if you want luxury, elegance and all the extras you will want to stay somewhere else but you will probably pay more. If you want comfort, convenience and could care less about extravagance then stay here. It all depends on want you want in a vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    148
    43
    11
    13
See reviews for
115
283
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville GA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This resort is excellent. The one bedroom suites are well appointed and well maintained. The resort restaurant, although a little pricey (not unreasonable) offers excellent, excellent food. The pool is nice and the entire property sits right next to the ocean which provides a constant breeze and calm ocean sound. The suites come with washer and dryer which is really nice and the kitchen is fully equipped.

Overall this property is an excellent choice and value for a stay in Kauai. I have stayed at this property twice and if I travel to Kauai again I would book it without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We just booked our 13th stay today. KCR is clean, comfortable, quiet and located in the "middle" half way between Poipu and Hanalei. Close to shopping, groceries, and restaurants. The beach isn't a swimming beach, but safe enough for wading and playing in the sand.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

I booked this hotel because it fit within our budget and also because I trust the reviews on tripadivor. We checked into the hotel and were greeted by a VERY friendly staff. They told us where our room was etc. As we got to our room the security guard introduced himself and was also super friendly. He showed us to our room and made sure everything was ok before he left. The room was clean and well appointed. We stayed in the one bedroom condo. It had a full kitchen with everything that was needed to cook, washer dryer, 2 flat screen tvs and king size bed. It was great!Another great reason to book this hotel is because it is easy to drive north and south. The beach out front of the hotel is ok. We tried the restaurant and it was excellent! Overall this is the best hotel for the money I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Hi all,

We travelled in the first week of October 2010. We are members of the Shell Vacations Club. This was our first time at the resort. The main lobby of the resort looks just like a Hawaiian resort should. The check in was simple and we were on our way to our room in mere minutes. The staff was very helpfull. I was a little worried when we walked into our building and saw the faded rugs in the hallway. Our room was labelled as "garden view". Our room looked just like the pictures on the web page. We were on the second floor. Our balcony had a view of the ocean as well. At night we slept with the window open the hear the waves on the beach.

The only complaint I had was that the concierge desk kept pushing the 90 minute points update which we didn't want to do. They left a message every night on our room phone reminding us to attend. However, they and the front desk staff were very helpful when asked about local attractions. I also checked on the hallway rugs and they were in the process of being replaced.

The beach is not the big wide open sweeping beach that you might see on tv. But you could watch the sun rise from it and it was beautiful. This area is away from all the major tourist areas so the people on the beach are mainly from the hotel...This is quite different from the beaches in Lihue where there are many tourists from other areas and the cruise ships.

The swimming pool is not huge but it has a nice waterfall and is heated. Our 8 year old loved it and spent quite some time in the pool.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is the best spot if you are looking to explore both sides of the island. It's easy access to both Poipu and Hanelei without driving forever! The hotel is clean and staffed by the most excellent folks. Awesome hot tub.

You are also right near the Kauai Backcountry Tubing spot. Highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

My wife and I are new Shell owners and this was our first time using a timeshare. Who knew the Beachboy would be so awesome. First of all the grounds are well kept and look beautiful. Every employee we came across was so friendly and made me feel welcome while we were there. The room was perfect. We had a one bedroom condo and it was clean and mordern looking. The bed was by far the best bed I have ever slept in while on vacation. I have had a few. It felt like I was at home and not in a cheap hotel bed. Full kitchen was fully stocked with everthything I needed. We shopped at Foodland and Safeway for breakfast and lunch supplies as well as a dinner at home. The pool was incredible. Heated with a waterfall and it was never crowded. At times we were the only ones in it. I was supprised to hear the resort was almost full. A major benefit to a timeshare condo over a hotel. Less people. The view of the beach and ocean from the pool and hot tub was perfect. The Coconut Marketplace is next door with shops, food and a little market. Kapaa is a perfect location to stay in while on Kauai! We can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.