We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one night, wished we had more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Cameron Park, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Only one night, wished we had more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We only stayed one night and the room was so nice we wished we had more. Huge one bedroom, garden view. Fast check in. Keys wouldn't work so security let us in and got us new keys. Full kitchen, washer/dryer, large bathroom with double sinks, nice bedroom with comfy mattress on 4 poster bed, flat screen tv, ample closet space, living area large and a balcony on second floor. Will go back and stay longer. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Nice walking path on the ocean. Location is just behind the coconut marketplace and there was no highway noise, nice and quiet, very clean. Central island location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    142
    38
    11
    12
See reviews for
111
271
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

One bedroom garden view. Clean, clean, clean. King size bed. Large sitting area with balcony and flat screen TVs. Kitchen updated, clean. Bathroom huge. Two sinks. Separate room for toilet and shower/tub. Nice location and price. Stayed in Maui week before for roughly same price and room was outdated, stained carpets, dusty. Felt totally at home at the Beachboy. Unpacked and nested. Since much of the things to do in Kauai are during the day, was nice to come back to the hotel to do laundry, watch a movie (Gone With the Wind) eat some popcorn and recoop from the aches and pains of hiking, snorkeling and exploring the island all day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice and clean. If you are older and looking to relax, this could be the perfect hotel for you.

I would recommend younger travelers or couples to look elsewhere. The good thing is that you are only a quick drive to anywhere you'd like to visit on Kauai!

However, there were a bit too many cons:
- we were one night without AC. This is manageable but the hotel did not provide any sort of credit for the inconvenience
- minimal beaches
- the location of the hotel was always surrounded by clouds and rain due to the mountains. This of course is beyond the hotels doing, but we went to kauai for sunshine, and not clouds and rain. Would recommend staying on the other side of the island. The side where the hotel is on is referred to as the rainy side.
- we left the 'do not disturb' sign on our door as we prefer to not have a maid service daily. Yet when we came back to our hotel room we found our room had been serviced.
- after checkout, the hotel allows you to use their facilities and beaches. The down side - there is no hospitality room or private showers for people to use after spending the entire day at the beach, prior to boarding for your next flight. However we were told by the front desk that we could use the outdoor shower by the pool - keep in mind, the outdoor showers they were referring to were the showers people use to get sand off their feet...
- the concierge was unreliable. After spending time with locals from Kauai, we were told this was the season to absolutely NOT take any boat trips due to the current. However, the concierge highly recommended and talked up how we should take a boat to see the napali coast and the waves on that side of the island would be minimal. We would've preferred an honest opinion and possibly an alternative route to see the coast (I.e hiking).
- mixed vibe from the staff

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We will share this information with our staff. We are so sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. We also apologize for the maintenance issues you encountered in your unit. We will be sure to utilize your feedback for continued improvement at our resort. Again, thanks for reaching out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and daughter spent 8 nights a the Lauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy and this was a return stay.
The grounds, staff, and restaurant on site were fantastic and made the stay even more relaxing.
When it comes to find a spot to swim just walk along the beach area and down a little way you can find a nice spot to go in and swim and a little further you will find a spot for small children that they will also enjoy.
As a saying goes "Try it you will like it"

Room Tip: We had ocean front this time but we have also had other rooms before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice with a full kitchen. Whenever we needed something or had an issue with the room, they were at our door in under 10 minutes. The pool is super fun especially with our 5 year old. They have a big pool with a waterfall, a toddler pool, and a hot tub. We're also right on the ocean and get the stunning sunrise into our room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy for 4 nights in September 2013. Booked through the Shell Resort web site, reserved a single bedroom suite garden view for $139.20 + tax per night**. Kauai was our first stop on a 2-week 4-island vacation. When we arrived after 20+ hours of travel from Connecticut (including a multi-mile traffic jam in the 7 mile drive from the Lihue airport to the resort due to a large ground fire), without prompting, the delightful young lady checking us in upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite, ocean view, ground floor for the entire stay. Aloha!

We watched every sunrise from the patio table immediately outside the room while enjoying freshly brewed coffee supplied by the Beachboy and breakfast delectables from our new found Hawaiian friend, the Safeway grocery store chain (sign up for a club card and save some cash, even for a short stay). The 'walk' from the room to the beach was literally 22 steps (not baby steps, but not "giant-mother-may-I?" steps either). Sunrise color varied from day to day. The last morning was the best - an unadulterated, un-retouched photo from our patio is attached, brought to you by a little point and shoot camera. Wow!

Check in was easy; however, after getting a room key, you must get a parking pass from the 'activities desk and time share marketer'. There was no hard sell - we previously planned our activities and we simply have no interest in purchasing a time share or spending any precious vacation time listening to the TS drone in order to save a few bucks. No thank you!

Room and appliances were clean. Blender was powerful and could chop ice into a frozen pina colada almost as easily as we could suck down those lovely concoctions (Trader Vic's Pina Colada mix from Safeway - $7.20 on sale with the Safeway club card - 1 bottle makes six nice cocktails). Yum!

Electricity on Kauai is incredibly expensive by USA standards - it costs 46 cents per kilowatt hour - about 3 to 5 times the cost in most of the USA. Consequently, the air conditioning is interlocked with the sliding doors. If the sliding door is opened, the AC automatically turns off. If the door is closed and the AC doesn't work (no or non-responsive display on the wall controller), then the limit switch on the slider does not recognize that the door is shut - just push the door in the closed direction until the limit switch connects and the wall controller wakes up and awaits your next command. Each bedroom and the living/dining/kitchen area had independent sets of AC wall controllers and sliding door interlocks - so if 1 room's slider was open, you could still run the AC in the other room(s).

If you are interested in watching cruise ships coming into Kauai, you can see them easily from the Beachboy Resort beach about an hour before they are scheduled to arrive in Port Nawiliwili. They fade from view before they pull into port. Detailed cruise ship schedules for Nawiliwili (or any other port in the world) can be found by googling "CRUISE TT PORT".

The only, and I do mean only, aspect of the 4 days that did not wildly exceed expectations was morning hot water. On 3 of 4 mornings, we showered around 7:30AM and found a plentiful supply of nice hot water. On one morning, we showered at 08:30AM and found a meek and weakening stream of tepid water coming from the shower nozzle. After finishing the shower, the sinks literally were unable to gasp and cough up even a drop of the hot stuff (there was plenty of cold). Don't know if it was caused by equipment malfunction or just high demand for hot water as the masses staying in the building rose from their zombie vacation apocalypse sleep and lumbered to the showers simultaneously. The early bird gets the worm, the lovely sunrise, and the hot water!

The property is bounded by a similar hotel/rental property to the south, a large undeveloped lot to the north, and the Coconut marketplace 'shopping center' to the west. If you fail to display the Kauai Coast parking pass on your car's dash, you will find a polite reminder under the wiper the next morning. Guilty!

The Coconut marketplace has several nice stores, but is not fully occupied. The marketplace buildings are showing their age, and some of the shop employees told us that the ABC Store chain had recently purchased the center and planned to sequentially rebuild and fill the stores. There is a little farmers market at the coconut marketplace, but it was really a joke with few vendors, few products, and in the case of some commercial products (like bags of coconut syrup) prices substantially higher than offered by Safeway for the identical item. We saw several real farmers markets on other islands that were way more better brah.

** How we got a room deal - Reserved rooms 7 ½ months prior to travel. Reserved 4 nights in Kauai Coast Resort on the Shell Resort web site. Did NOT use pre-pay option. DID use 'ECO' option where housekeeping is limited to emptying trash and resupplying linens and coffee packets. Received email requesting I fill out a survey. Filled out and submitted the on-line survey. In response, Shell resorts sent code to save 20% on future reservations. I made reservations for later in the trip at another Shell Resort - the Kona Coast Resort (on the big island) using the discount code. Then I rebooked the Kauai reservation (same dates, same selections a second time, but using the discount code). After getting confirmation about the lower discounted rate, cancelled the initial Kauai reservations.

P.S. The Kona Coast Resort was also very nice, but The Kauai Coast Resort was the nicest of the four places we stayed during our 4-island vaca. Kauai Coast Resort was also, hands down, absolutely the best value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This beautiful spot is right on the water, has a walking trail along the beach/coast. The coast immediately next to the hotel has a bedrock shelf and is lovely but not a swimming location, but right next door is a sandy beach and beyond that are some good swimming spots. The location of the hotel is nicely situated between the hiking options near Hanalei, the Waimea Canyon, and is right next door to a nice mini-mall with local shops and a weekly farmer's market. Best of all, the easterly view provides for some fabulous sunrises!

Our room was in very good shape and had all the normal accommodations. The patio door opened to the pool and hot tub, bar, hammocks, kiddie pool, gardens and ocean view, etc. Our only and main complaint was that the walls are way too thin, so we heard quite loudly the people upstairs walking around.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if on Kauai, and I hope to return to Kauai as it's the prettiest island I have seen!

Room Tip: Select a room with a patio facing the east, or towards the eastern (ocean) side of the hotel for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some great area activity suggestions. We are so glad you enjoyed the resort accommodations and location. We are sorry to hear you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with noise from the neighbors. Our goal is to have our resorts up to each guest’s standards and your feedback will help us to do so. We hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.