We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would at the Beachboy again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Save Saved
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Aloha Special - $25 off
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I would at the Beachboy again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The good news is there were no issues during my 4 night stay at the Beachboy. This Shell property was very well maintained. The grounds were extremely well kept. The one bedroom was large with a full kitchen. There is a shopping plaza next door that had several places to eat. If your looking for a beautiful beach you won't find it here. The beach is only steps away from all rooms. You won't have to walk far to find decent stretches of beach. I'd return and recommend the Beachboy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for providing such great feedback and the recommendation. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our unit amenities and overall stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    125
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
98
253
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just returned from a five day stay at the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy and highly recommend it. Our one bedroom garden view condo was supplied with everything needed for our stay. The view from our lanai of the gardens and the ocean was lovely. Having a full kitchen plus washer and dryer was great. The location was perfect for day trips as we were about half way between the North and South Shores of Kauai. We asked for an upper floor in a quiet building and were given a second floor unit in the Canoe Building. There are grocery stores and restaurants nearby plus the Coconut Marketplace next store. The only downside is the amount of traffic on the main road which makes it difficult to get in and out of the resort. Once you are in the resort, it is fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback along with some helpful tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations and view. We hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

It's well worth a visit, one bedroom condo we had was great. Spacious, good kitchen and nice bedroom and bathroom. The grounds are fantastic and the pool was quite nice too. There is no real swimming beach there but not a far walk to the closest one. It is also quite close to food stores and some restaurants. They have a restaurant on site which is supposed to be quite good but we got too lazy and didn't end up going. There is also a little shopping village close for emergency beers etc. for this time of year the weather was so changeable on the East side so if I had my time again I would probably go to Poipu as the weather was a lot better there when we visited. Kapaa is a great location to explore the island by car as it's about 1.5 hr drive to the end of the north and south coast, the west is by car so you will either need to book a boat or helicopter trip. The only gripe I have is that after we booked in the reception gestured us towards the concierge regarding our parking and as soon as I sat down I knew I had made a mistake. They offer you cheap tours in exchange for 1.5 hrs if your time for timeshare sales. We had just arrived from Australia and did not appreciate this on arrival. We phoned later that night and said we weren't going and they phoned us back and left messages hounding us to go that night as well as the next morning, last thing we needed. All in all I was very happy with the resort just try and stay spa way from the concierge unless you like timeshare pitches.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Paul,

Thank you for providing this feedback along with some helpful tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the resort amenities and location. We apologize for any negative encounters with our guest services staff. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home and your feedback will help us to do so. We hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

All the photos give a good representation of the property. We had the garden view because we didn't spend much time in the room. We used the kitchen for breakfast and one night had restaurant leftovers on the balcony. On last morning we had breakfast at Eggberts (located in the front stores) which was excellent. Wished we had gone there earlier. This place has one of the best restaurants in all of Kauai. You must go at least once. You can't beat this place for the price and amenities. We would definitely go back again and recommend this place to our friends. We requested a top floor so nobody was walking above us. The place was very quiet and no elevator didn't bother us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. We will share these with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the Eggberts restaurant on property. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We LOVED this hotel!!! We were pleasantly surprised (perhaps I did not look at the amenities closely enough when booking) to find that our room was a suite with a full kitchen, living room, dining area, large luxurious bathroom & a washer and dryer! They had everything we would need to cook meals (which we took full advantage of and saved lots of money by not eating out much), had detergent for the laundry, and we had a beautiful view of palm trees and the ocean while sitting on our patio every morning and evening during our stay. We were in the middle of our island hopping around Hawaii, so it was perfect timing to wash all our dirty clothes and have all clean clothes when we headed to the Big Island! The staff was friendly and helpful, but we never really needed anything from them because our room already had everything we could need, including extra towels. I'd say this is the best bang for your buck out of any hotel we stayed at while in Hawaii. The sunrise and sunset from the back of the property was gorgeous as well. It was a perfect way to begin or end your day. Just down the road a couple miles was also a running / bicycling path that runs along the coastline. We utilized this running trail one morning and had the best of both worlds - endorphins AND a beautiful view of the sunrise over the ocean. If we ever head back to Kaua'i, THIS is where we will be staying!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved this place. It's what I always thought Hawaii should look like. The sloped roofs, Coconut palms, Tiki torches, blue ocean and flowers everywhere. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony at night watching the refection of the full moon on the ocean. This resort is close to the airport, shopping and many restaurants in every price range. It is easy to go anywhere on the island with ease. Our longest trip was to the canyon. I would definitely stay here again. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a small leak in the ice maker and called to have it fixed. Unfortunately it never was during our stay. We found having the Coconut Market next door was great. We went for Ice Cream, shopping and eating a number of times. My only warning is if your on the third floor be prepared to haul your suitcases and groceries up floor flights of steps. We also enjoyed watching the three local cats antics everyday. If you are tired of the massive, overdone, expensive resorts, this place is for you.

Room Tip: If you can't handle a lot of steps several times a day ask for a lower room. The advantage was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The room was awesome...like a little home away from home...well stocked kitchen & washer/dryer were great to have. The bed was possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in...wanted to ship it home. Nice soft sheets too. The grounds are gorgeous. Do eat at the Hukilau Lanai restaurant at least once. There are also some less expensive options at the Coconut Marketplace next door (which appears to be undergoing a remodel) and in Kapa'a. We used the BBQ grills a couple times and they were clean and in good shape. The ONLY drawback I could mention is the concierge pushing the timeshare presentation. Ask me once - that's fine, twice? well ok. Three times? Four times? you're starting to bug me...just stop. Other than that GREAT place, and I would recommend it to anyone - especially if you want to explore both north & south sides of the island.

Room Tip: Chose the 3rd floor and even though not an ocean view room, we could see the ocean and had a nice ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa
Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.