We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose this resort from Trip Advisor reviews. it was a nice place, clean, comfortable, well maintained. The beach at the resort is very rocky and not really swimmable. There is a swimmable beach up the road in Kapaa, but you have to drive there. Full Kitchens are very nice and 2 supermarkets are minutes away. the restaurant in the resort is excellent but you need to make reservations as it is very popular with locals. We sat at the bar twice and had appetizers, and they were fantastic! But its only open for dinner and not everyday. Breakfast at Eggberts in the Coconut Mall is walking distance and is open for Breakfast and Lunch and is also a great deal!

Room Tip: Ground level lets you walk out sliding doors and almost like having your own backyard to sit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    140
    38
    11
    12
See reviews for
111
268
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place is well-run. The excellent restaurant has to be reserved a few days in advance, but only serves diner. For lunch and breakfast, you're on your own. There is a great sand beach well protected from the surf, and so, perfectly swimmable, just 2 miles away, called Lydgate Park. Foodland and Safeway are just a 3 minutes drive from the hotel. The central location makes it easy to visit the Canyon, Hanalei and the NaPali Coast, as well as Poipu. Free parking and good Wifi reception ( free ). Unfortunately, the wonderful rooms facing the ocean are reserved for the timesharing users. We particularly enjoyed the huge bathrooms with washer-dryer included.We recommend getting a one-bedroom apartment, even for only 2 people, the comfort level is appreciable. Upper floors enable you to avoid bugs, cats and chicken and the steps are very easy to walk up. Main disappointment is the pool ( tiny size ). There are quite a few very pleasant stores at walking distance in the MarketPlace ( literally one minute walk ), including a supermarket.

Room Tip: Get a one-bedroom apartment. As long as you are on the 2nd or third floor, it does not natter where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort for four days in August, and enjoyed our stay there. It is close to the airport, and we were picked up by the hotel shuttle. The driver was very helpful and gave us a quick commentary about the island. The resort is set in beautiful, well tended, grounds with excellent pools and spas. The beach is not really for swimming, but OK for walking on. Our room was on the third floor and we had a sea view from our balcony. The room was adequate for what we wanted, with an OK bathroom. We had the breakfast included in our price, which we would recommend. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the music each night in the bar. The only downfall was the evening meal at the restaurant. You had to book and keep coming back every ten minutes to check if your table was ready. We thought this could have been managed better. It is a little out of the way of things, so if you wish to see the rest of the island you will need to hire a car.

Room Tip: We were in the second from the end building, on the third floor, with a sea view from the balcony. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at this property numerous times and have yet to be disappointed. The grounds are immaculate, the area very quiet, and the rooms have always been extremely clean and well appointed. Can't wait to go back in December 2013!

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite sides of the building from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Typical of Hawaii, this place has endured a few hurricanes, and it has been put back together a couple of times. It's beginning to show its 25+ year age. You can only put so much lipstick on a pig. Not that it's not nice, it's just not new. Apartments and rooms are large, pool area so-so, location handy to grocery stores etc. a good place to have a family vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Pros: beach is seconds away from your room. Great facilities. Nice pool, nice BBQ area. Great lanai's. large rooms. Great balcony. Good fitness room. Close to grocery stores.

Cons: small parking. You may end up parking next door or the street some nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had to book this a year in advance to get a Ocean view. It was worth every penny to wake up to see the beautiful sunrise every morning. Just open the door and the ocean is so close. We got the ground floor for my in-law's and we stayed on the second floor with the brother-in-law. Had a great time with all the family. The resort is well kept and you will have everything you need to cook with in the condo and the outside BBQ's. Pool and spa's are nice to relax by. Kauai Beach Boy is a great location with Costco, Foodland and Safeway close by to get everything you need for your stay. I always enjoy the washer and dryer so I do not have to go home with dirty clothes. You will not want to leave the resort. Need to get a job there and just stay year round. That would make me sooo happy. Love to stay here and so will you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.