We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Aloha Special - $25 off
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
portland, or
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Place and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

OK, first in full disclosure, I am a Shell Vacation Club owner and this is a Shell Club. Although my home base so to speak is on the Big Island and this was my first time to this resort or Kauai.
Now, on to the review. First, this is NOT an all-inclusive resort, so don't expect it, but it has everything you need.
1. Location- I think it is perfect. The coconuts shopping plaza is across the street. You are right near downtown Kapaa which has 3 supermarkets, drug store and many restaurants all within less than a 1 mile radius and could walk to a lot of them (which we did). The location in Kapaa I thought was great. Within 30-40 min you could get to Poipu in the south or the North beaches in Princeville and Hanalei bay. Close to airport as well. Also, from what wqe saw of the island, the most reasonable places to eat were in either Kapaa or Lihue/Kalapaki area (10min away).

2. Amenities. The pool was real nice and a great hot tub. The pool has a nice water feature. It also had a sand pit area for kids to play right off the pool. 2 big gass grills at pool for all to use. In addition, the old Tennis courts were turned into a outdoor lounger with fire pits.

3. Restaurant. The Hotels restaurant we did not eat at but is the #1 ranked place to eat on the Island by TA.

4. Rooms- We stayed in a 1 bedroom. Nice bathroom and excellent functional kitchen which had been completely upgraded. Rooms had fans and AC, both worked well

While I would not call any of these negatives, these are things you should be aware of if you are going to book there

1. There is a small fitness facility (1 universal equipment station, 2 treadmills, an elliptical and a bike). Rarely used so crowds not a problem. There is no other outdoor sports there (tennis, shuffleboard, BBall court etc....)

2. The beach there is quite rocky and not really made for swimming. Lydgate park is less than a mile or two away so you can get there easily (but would have to drive).

3. Be careful of the local birds. One of the little suckers stole a whole waffle of our plate, talk about leggo my eggo :)

4. If your room faces the inner courtyard by the pool, it could get a little loud with noise from the restaurant. THis is usually closed on Mondays and they had a big private part that night and it did get loud. However, was quieted down by 930, so not too bad. Just something to consider depending on where your room is.

5. There is no separate kids club or kids play area (arcade etc..) that I saw or heard of (My kid is 13 and we were out and about, so didn't need it) so if this is a must have, this would not be the place for you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    125
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
98
253
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is great! The grounds are really nice to look at. We had a garden view but could still see the ocean from our balcony. The pool is really nicely laid out, and the ocean view jacuzzi was a great place to sit in the afternoons. The pool was really enjoyed by the kids..and we liked standing under the waterfall in the pool. Free massage!

There is lunch and drinks at the pool from 10 to 6. While the menu was limited, we ate here, and the food was great..and...really reasonably priced! For both drinks and food. Nowhere else on the island can you get a truly delicious Mai tai for 6.50!

The king bed was really comfortable. My niece said the sofa bed was okay but not great.

We loved the gas fire rings at night. They have really comfy outdoor sofas. You can sit at the fire ring and star gaze, bring snacks and some drinks...very relaxing.

The price here really cannot be beat. For what you get it's great and a real value for anywhere in Hawaii.

The location is very convenient. You can drive to waimea canyon in about an hour and fifteen minutes. You can drive past Hanalei to Ke'e beach (end of the road north) in about an hour. The coconut marketplace has lapperts ice cream, shave ice, a whalers general store, and lots of little trinket filled places too. We ate at TC's island grill there a few times. Nothing fancy, but good, inexpensive fresh food. They have a farmers market there Tuesdays and Thursdays. Great veggies and banana bread! Kapaa has great restaurants at reasonable prices too.

We ate at the hukilau lanai, the hotels restaurant, for our anniversary. The food was great, and while not cheap, was significantly less than a similar type of meal might be at the hyatt or one of the other hotels on the island.

I would definitely stay here again. I have been to all of the Hawaiian islands, and I can tell you that this place is truly a slice of old Hawaii that is getting scarce. Reasonable,great vibe, Hawaiian style furnishings, and family friendly.

Room Tip: If you get a garden view on the third floor,you will still see the ocean. The ocean view rooms looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been traveling to Hawaii since 2003 and have stayed at The KCRBB over 15 times and have found it to be just as nice and clean this summer as it was in 2003. The pictures on line are exactly what you will see and get once you arrive at the resort. We have stayed at a few other properties on the islands but have not found any that are as nice, has a staff as helpful and polite as The KCRBB. Being located in Kapaa is a plus. There tends to be traffic throughout the day. The location of the resort usually puts you in the middle so you only have to spend half the time in traffic when traveling to the north or south portions of the island. The Hukilau Lanai Resturant (located on property) has outstanding food.

You need to go to the Safeway Shopping center about a half nile north and stop by Tropical Dreams for some of the best ice cream anywhere. Dan (the owner) is outstanding.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room on the property. If you can get an ocean front room, the view is outstandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for seven nights in a one bedroom unit. It was well located right on the beach. We had a garden view but were still able to see the ocean from our unit. It was also well located in Kapaa for us to easily explore the entire island. Being in Kapaa, there was easy access to the grocery stores, outfitters and restaurants. The unit was clean, spacious and well equipped with a kitchen, living area, washer and dryer. It had a balcony to sit out and enjoy the cool evenings. On the premises were pools, jacuzzis and grills which we saw other travelers using. The only issue with this resort is that the units may need a little updating. This is not a high end resort, but for the price was an excellent value. Besides, you're not in Kauai to hang out in your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As a wedding gift, my parents gave us two weeks here for our honeymoon. We travel a lot and stay in a lot of hotels, and this was up there with the best!

We arrived into Lihue around 1pm, got the rental car and found some lunch. We got to the resort around 3:30pm and were able to check in right away.

The front desk greeted us with a smile and an aloha and got us checked in.

We were then sent to the concierge desk to get our parking pass. In the past at other resorts, our experience with concierge desks and "activity directors" has been pretty bad - they seemed desperate to sell you something. Our first experience here was similar. The concierge really tried to get us to book something immediately - even told us there were no seats left for helicopter tours. We were tired from our trip and just wanted to get to the room - it was our honeymoon after all... So that may have skewed our impression of the first concierge. Anyways, we got our parking pass and fled - promising to come back in the morning.

When we went back in the morning, the concierge was Cindy, and she was very helpful and not pushy at all. If she was working for commission, I couldn't tell. She genuinely wanted to help us figure out what to do and help us do it. She was very fun and outgoing, and had a lot of knowledge of the island. As we'd never been to Kauai before, she was very helpful in making suggestions on what to do.

We booked a helicopter tour for the next day (she suggested we do that first so we could get a good idea of the layout of the island). She got us "first class" front seats (more comfortable) for a great price - and after we agreed to attend a timeshare presentation she got us another $170 off the helicopter tour. Definitely worth the 90 minutes of our time.

We came back throughout our stay to see Cindy and she helped us book various other things (kayak trip, botanical gardens, catamaran trip) at rates equal to or less than what we could have done ourselves. Again, if she was working on commission it wasn't obvious to us.

The resort grounds are immaculate. The landscaping is beautiful and well maintained. The pool, hot tub, and BBQ areas were clean and well kept.

We had a first floor 1 bedroom suite and it was very comfortable and clean. Our room looked out onto the ocean and we were steps from the water. It was pretty great to be able to fall asleep to the sound of ocean waves. The views were incredible, especially the early morning sun rises.

There were plenty of lounge chairs and we spent a lot of time just sitting on the beach with a mai tai watching the ocean.

The room had a full kitchen and full size fridge stocked with pots, pans and utensils. There was also a full size washer and dryer in the room.

Every employee we encountered during our stay greeted us with a smile and aloha and we felt very welcome to be there.

The timeshare presentation we attended was not bad. The salesman was not pushy and didn't make us hang around when we made it clear we weren't in a position to buy. Again, we got a huge discount on a helicopter trip for attending.

Overall the resort exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We bought into the time share many years ago and started going to Kauai Coast Resort 5 or 6 years ago. We have thoroughly enjoyed the experience each time. We typically stay in the one bedroom unit, which is large, comfortable, well equipped (including washer and dryer) and nicely air conditioned. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the resort is right on the ocean so you get a nice view and sound of the ocean even in the "garden view" units. It is centrally located on the east coast of Kauai and convenient to downtown Kapa'a. The on site restaurant is excellent, but it is walking distance from several other fine restaurants. My only suggestion is that a ceiling fan in the living room (there is one in the bedroom) would help a lot, and the washer/dryer combination needs upgrading.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arriving from my flight about 2pm I was very disappointed to be told that I would have to return at 4pm as reception didn't know whether there were any rooms ready at that time. This was a surprise in view of the more accommodating approach in other resorts.
I have visited Kauai Coast a number of times over 10 years and also stayed at newer resorts. The only change to the room in that time is that the TVs are flat panel but in the original cabinets so they can only be viewed from a narrow angle. The washer and dryer have not changed and are old fashioned and technology has moved on. The resort is on three levels and there is no lift. Unless the price is right there is better value elsewhere

Room Tip: There is insect mesh on the windows but if you want to leave your windows open at night you will nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa
Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list