We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Save Saved
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well located, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for seven nights in a one bedroom unit. It was well located right on the beach. We had a garden view but were still able to see the ocean from our unit. It was also well located in Kapaa for us to easily explore the entire island. Being in Kapaa, there was easy access to the grocery stores, outfitters and restaurants. The unit was clean, spacious and well equipped with a kitchen, living area, washer and dryer. It had a balcony to sit out and enjoy the cool evenings. On the premises were pools, jacuzzis and grills which we saw other travelers using. The only issue with this resort is that the units may need a little updating. This is not a high end resort, but for the price was an excellent value. Besides, you're not in Kauai to hang out in your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    129
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
105
257
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As a wedding gift, my parents gave us two weeks here for our honeymoon. We travel a lot and stay in a lot of hotels, and this was up there with the best!

We arrived into Lihue around 1pm, got the rental car and found some lunch. We got to the resort around 3:30pm and were able to check in right away.

The front desk greeted us with a smile and an aloha and got us checked in.

We were then sent to the concierge desk to get our parking pass. In the past at other resorts, our experience with concierge desks and "activity directors" has been pretty bad - they seemed desperate to sell you something. Our first experience here was similar. The concierge really tried to get us to book something immediately - even told us there were no seats left for helicopter tours. We were tired from our trip and just wanted to get to the room - it was our honeymoon after all... So that may have skewed our impression of the first concierge. Anyways, we got our parking pass and fled - promising to come back in the morning.

When we went back in the morning, the concierge was Cindy, and she was very helpful and not pushy at all. If she was working for commission, I couldn't tell. She genuinely wanted to help us figure out what to do and help us do it. She was very fun and outgoing, and had a lot of knowledge of the island. As we'd never been to Kauai before, she was very helpful in making suggestions on what to do.

We booked a helicopter tour for the next day (she suggested we do that first so we could get a good idea of the layout of the island). She got us "first class" front seats (more comfortable) for a great price - and after we agreed to attend a timeshare presentation she got us another $170 off the helicopter tour. Definitely worth the 90 minutes of our time.

We came back throughout our stay to see Cindy and she helped us book various other things (kayak trip, botanical gardens, catamaran trip) at rates equal to or less than what we could have done ourselves. Again, if she was working on commission it wasn't obvious to us.

The resort grounds are immaculate. The landscaping is beautiful and well maintained. The pool, hot tub, and BBQ areas were clean and well kept.

We had a first floor 1 bedroom suite and it was very comfortable and clean. Our room looked out onto the ocean and we were steps from the water. It was pretty great to be able to fall asleep to the sound of ocean waves. The views were incredible, especially the early morning sun rises.

There were plenty of lounge chairs and we spent a lot of time just sitting on the beach with a mai tai watching the ocean.

The room had a full kitchen and full size fridge stocked with pots, pans and utensils. There was also a full size washer and dryer in the room.

Every employee we encountered during our stay greeted us with a smile and aloha and we felt very welcome to be there.

The timeshare presentation we attended was not bad. The salesman was not pushy and didn't make us hang around when we made it clear we weren't in a position to buy. Again, we got a huge discount on a helicopter trip for attending.

Overall the resort exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We bought into the time share many years ago and started going to Kauai Coast Resort 5 or 6 years ago. We have thoroughly enjoyed the experience each time. We typically stay in the one bedroom unit, which is large, comfortable, well equipped (including washer and dryer) and nicely air conditioned. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the resort is right on the ocean so you get a nice view and sound of the ocean even in the "garden view" units. It is centrally located on the east coast of Kauai and convenient to downtown Kapa'a. The on site restaurant is excellent, but it is walking distance from several other fine restaurants. My only suggestion is that a ceiling fan in the living room (there is one in the bedroom) would help a lot, and the washer/dryer combination needs upgrading.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arriving from my flight about 2pm I was very disappointed to be told that I would have to return at 4pm as reception didn't know whether there were any rooms ready at that time. This was a surprise in view of the more accommodating approach in other resorts.
I have visited Kauai Coast a number of times over 10 years and also stayed at newer resorts. The only change to the room in that time is that the TVs are flat panel but in the original cabinets so they can only be viewed from a narrow angle. The washer and dryer have not changed and are old fashioned and technology has moved on. The resort is on three levels and there is no lift. Unless the price is right there is better value elsewhere

Room Tip: There is insect mesh on the windows but if you want to leave your windows open at night you will nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The sales team were beyond rude had a great time until they tried to sell me a timeshare the sales person made me feel belittled and like she was shocked I rented this condo on Expedia , my friends got condo for half the price, and double the room 2 bed 2 bath I had one bed one bath!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We actually got "suckered" into buying a timeshare here while staying at another one down the road, but haven't regretted it. (Was random actually) The rooms are air conditioned ..big plus!! You can't go wrong with the garden view or ocean view as both are breathtaking. They keep the grounds beautiful and also have an awesome restaurant on site that is best to make dinner reservations for. Hukilau Lanai I think it's called. Great prime rib! Coconut marketplace practically shares a parking lot, offering Whalers Village convenient market and must try Lapperts Ice Cream. Kapaa is a pretty central location allowing you to explore the island. Safeway is close by for groceries, as units have kitchens, tables, and everything you need for your stay! We usually get some fruit at the Farmers Market they have at Coconut Marketplace for our breakfasts so we aren't spending so much $$ on food during our stay. Relax in a hammock on the beach, too :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Kauai Coast Resort (@ The Beachboy) several times and never been disappointed. It's superb location on the ocean provides a warm soft breeze and awesome view - nice to enjoy from guest room balconies I especially like the accommodations which are attractive, clean & comfortable. Great to use the modern kitchen to brew coffee or enjoy an in-room meal. Appreciate having an in-room washer & dryer which allows for lighter packing. The pool and Jacuzzi are well kept and the surrounding landscaping is a true reflection of Hawaiian Charm.
Above all mahalo to the Staff at this Resort They are professional yet friendly. This Resort is Aloha at it's best. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Green Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.