We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Save Saved
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We actually got "suckered" into buying a timeshare here while staying at another one down the road, but haven't regretted it. (Was random actually) The rooms are air conditioned ..big plus!! You can't go wrong with the garden view or ocean view as both are breathtaking. They keep the grounds beautiful and also have an awesome restaurant on site that is best to make dinner reservations for. Hukilau Lanai I think it's called. Great prime rib! Coconut marketplace practically shares a parking lot, offering Whalers Village convenient market and must try Lapperts Ice Cream. Kapaa is a pretty central location allowing you to explore the island. Safeway is close by for groceries, as units have kitchens, tables, and everything you need for your stay! We usually get some fruit at the Farmers Market they have at Coconut Marketplace for our breakfasts so we aren't spending so much $$ on food during our stay. Relax in a hammock on the beach, too :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    134
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
106
263
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Kauai Coast Resort (@ The Beachboy) several times and never been disappointed. It's superb location on the ocean provides a warm soft breeze and awesome view - nice to enjoy from guest room balconies I especially like the accommodations which are attractive, clean & comfortable. Great to use the modern kitchen to brew coffee or enjoy an in-room meal. Appreciate having an in-room washer & dryer which allows for lighter packing. The pool and Jacuzzi are well kept and the surrounding landscaping is a true reflection of Hawaiian Charm.
Above all mahalo to the Staff at this Resort They are professional yet friendly. This Resort is Aloha at it's best. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy for a week and enjoyed our entire stay. Overall the resort was peaceful and quiet and a perfect location for site seeing around the Island. The first day we went south to Waimea Canyon and the next day we went north to Princeville and Hanalei Bay. In addition to site seeing we spent a couple of days relaxing and enjoying the swimming pools and ocean front property. Our room was clean and the staff was always helpful and attentive without being intrusive. We would definitely return to this resort if and when we return to Kauai, Hawaii.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days to add some extra relaxation (and average down the airfare!!) before our Time Share week in Princeville. We also wanted to experience a different location on the Island. This site by Kapaa is a nice central location between North and South Kauai. Overall, we found the Kauai Coast Resort (The Beachboy) a nice, spacious, clean property. The beach access is great, walk out your door and drag one of the lounge chairs provided right onto the beach... or in my case under one of the trees to read and lightly sunbath.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with a "garden" view on the 2nd floor, we could see a bit of the ocean. The unit had 2 spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. We found the unit clean and not overly showing its age. The king bed was comfortable. The kitchen was adequately stocked. The unit had Air Conditioning which was important as the buildings layout made it difficult to enjoy the tradewinds.
The grounds, pool, etc. were all well kept. Parking was adequate near our building. The exercise room was basic but adequate with treadmills and bikes, weight machine, air conditioning, a filtered cold water machine, towels, etc.
The veranda(s) from our room was nice to go out on in the morning for coffee and see a little of the ocean (and watch some Hawaiian construction methods going on at the property next door - They were considerate and did not start before 8:00am).
The on-site Resturant was a very nice dining experience. The garden, far ocean view was relaxing. The food was well prepared and presented, the portions were gormet (not gourmand, as my wife likes to remind me). The price will be typical of an upper end Kauai restaurant.
Our only "gripe" about our unit was that being on the 2nd floor we had to listen to the clomping, banging, thumping and scraping of the people upstairs above our unit. The composite and tile flooring in much of the unit made for a lot of sound transmission between floors. We could tell when the people above us were going on a Port Allen excursion due to all the noise made at 4:00am. Needless to say we were very carefull not to clomp or bang around lest our neighbors below suffer the same irritant.
Hey, but overall, I would not hesitate to highly recommend this Property. It gives one a lot of "bang for the buck".

Room Tip: On the top floor you will not get as much noise from the neighbors above. But remember NO elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We come to Kauai quite often and, once we discovered the Beachboy, there was no other choice for future stays. The views are either garden view (with a bit of ocean view) or ocean front. It's centrally located to both sides of the island, close to Costco, Foodland, Safeway, and the Airport. All the rooms are in great condition. If you're staying for longer periods of time, I would definitely recommend a one bedroom or two rather than getting a studio for the full kitchen and laundry. Make sure you visit the Hukilau. The food is amazing!! We had the Prime Rib, Ono, and Tasting menu last time, and I'm already dying to go back!! Say hi to Jennifer at the front desk, Nani at the concierge desk, and Kilani to plan your activities. They'll make you feel like ohana. I hope you enjoy Kauai Coast as much as we do!

Room Tip: There is currently construction at the adjacent condo, so try to avoid that... otherwise, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I found this hotel via TripAdvisor and they were offering a "green" deal that discounted the rate for not needing full housekeeping each day of our stay. Having our towels replaced & trash emptied each day was perfect for us and helped us save money.

The resort is located in Kapaa on the eastern side of the island, which gets more wind & rain than the southern part of the island. It was a central location for exploring the entire island, which requires a car and quite a bit of driving. The resort is oceanfront, although the beach is not suitable for swimming as it is very rocky and seemed rough while we were there. It was a good beach for walking on and probably lounging on. They have hammocks and lounge chairs in the grassy area near the beach, which was nice to relax on. The pool is small, although nice and has a snack bar with drinks open in the afternoon.

We stayed in a small room with a kitchenette (fridge, microwave, dishes & silverware), which was sufficient for us and allowed us to bring food back & eat in our room when we wanted to. There is a small dining table, but it is crammed into a corner between the lanai doors and the TV cabinet. My only complaint about the room overall is the lack of towel racks in the bathroom. There is only one for the bath towel and didn't allow us to spread out both of our towels to dry out after showers. There is no rack for the hand towel by the sink, which is somewhat separate from the shower area.

There was a sign that they were doing some minor construction in our building (Building C) for the first few days of our stay, but besides smelling paint we didn’t notice anything significant. The resort next door (Aston Islander) was doing more physical construction so had we been on that side of our building we probably would have noticed it.

They have a great lanai with outdoor seating and fire pits, which we ate dinner around one evening. The front desk immediately sent someone to light the fire pit when I walked over to ask. Our lanai overlooked this lounge area, but we never had any issues with noise. We could also see a little bit of the ocean from our room/lanai.

There is a little strip mall across the neighborhood street with several casual dining options, gift shops and a Whaler's General Store. All were very convenient and we ate at almost every place in there, including multiple visits to Lappert's Ice Cream!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This resort is great. The units are clean with a full kitchen. We usually hit Costco and stock up right after we land. We bought into the timeshare here many years ago. Since then we have been very disappointed in the timeshare, but never in this resort. The restaurant on site is great. So is the spa. The beach is quiet and worth spending hours on. The plants and landscape on the property are beautiful. The pool area is a little small, but it suits the resort just right. There are sand toys for the kids provided. You can easily stroll to the Coconut Marketplace for trinkets, food, ice cream. There is a washer and dryer in each unit! The bedrooms and bathrooms are large. The only downside to the Beachboy is the timeshare aspect, but the sales aren't NEARLY as pushy here as they are in many of the resorts we have visited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.