We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Phoenix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our Second Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We come to Kauai quite often and, once we discovered the Beachboy, there was no other choice for future stays. The views are either garden view (with a bit of ocean view) or ocean front. It's centrally located to both sides of the island, close to Costco, Foodland, Safeway, and the Airport. All the rooms are in great condition. If you're staying for longer periods of time, I would definitely recommend a one bedroom or two rather than getting a studio for the full kitchen and laundry. Make sure you visit the Hukilau. The food is amazing!! We had the Prime Rib, Ono, and Tasting menu last time, and I'm already dying to go back!! Say hi to Jennifer at the front desk, Nani at the concierge desk, and Kilani to plan your activities. They'll make you feel like ohana. I hope you enjoy Kauai Coast as much as we do!

Room Tip: There is currently construction at the adjacent condo, so try to avoid that... otherwise, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    140
    38
    11
    12
See reviews for
111
269
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I found this hotel via TripAdvisor and they were offering a "green" deal that discounted the rate for not needing full housekeeping each day of our stay. Having our towels replaced & trash emptied each day was perfect for us and helped us save money.

The resort is located in Kapaa on the eastern side of the island, which gets more wind & rain than the southern part of the island. It was a central location for exploring the entire island, which requires a car and quite a bit of driving. The resort is oceanfront, although the beach is not suitable for swimming as it is very rocky and seemed rough while we were there. It was a good beach for walking on and probably lounging on. They have hammocks and lounge chairs in the grassy area near the beach, which was nice to relax on. The pool is small, although nice and has a snack bar with drinks open in the afternoon.

We stayed in a small room with a kitchenette (fridge, microwave, dishes & silverware), which was sufficient for us and allowed us to bring food back & eat in our room when we wanted to. There is a small dining table, but it is crammed into a corner between the lanai doors and the TV cabinet. My only complaint about the room overall is the lack of towel racks in the bathroom. There is only one for the bath towel and didn't allow us to spread out both of our towels to dry out after showers. There is no rack for the hand towel by the sink, which is somewhat separate from the shower area.

There was a sign that they were doing some minor construction in our building (Building C) for the first few days of our stay, but besides smelling paint we didn’t notice anything significant. The resort next door (Aston Islander) was doing more physical construction so had we been on that side of our building we probably would have noticed it.

They have a great lanai with outdoor seating and fire pits, which we ate dinner around one evening. The front desk immediately sent someone to light the fire pit when I walked over to ask. Our lanai overlooked this lounge area, but we never had any issues with noise. We could also see a little bit of the ocean from our room/lanai.

There is a little strip mall across the neighborhood street with several casual dining options, gift shops and a Whaler's General Store. All were very convenient and we ate at almost every place in there, including multiple visits to Lappert's Ice Cream!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This resort is great. The units are clean with a full kitchen. We usually hit Costco and stock up right after we land. We bought into the timeshare here many years ago. Since then we have been very disappointed in the timeshare, but never in this resort. The restaurant on site is great. So is the spa. The beach is quiet and worth spending hours on. The plants and landscape on the property are beautiful. The pool area is a little small, but it suits the resort just right. There are sand toys for the kids provided. You can easily stroll to the Coconut Marketplace for trinkets, food, ice cream. There is a washer and dryer in each unit! The bedrooms and bathrooms are large. The only downside to the Beachboy is the timeshare aspect, but the sales aren't NEARLY as pushy here as they are in many of the resorts we have visited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Prior to our stay at Kauai Cost, we had only stayed at bed and breakfasts on our Hawaiian vacation. While we were happy with both B&Bs, we were equally happy to have a change of pace. After having breakfast included at the B&Bs, having a full condo kitchen was great. We went to the local Safeway and bought some simple food so we could make our own breakfasts. A washer and dryer is also included in the unit and we took advantage of that on our last day. The condo is massive and everything was clean and well-kept. We had a garden view room, but we actually had a partial view of the ocean, so that was nice. The grounds are lovely and the pool, nice and welcoming. Beach towels are provided in every room, but someone forgot to stock our shelf. We called the front desk and someone showed up with towels very promptly.
The resort is located smack dab in the center of Kapaa right on the main road, so it was an easy drive to all our destinations (Smith's Family Luau and the North Shore). But it was also quite a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a nice resort. Condo units. Full kitchen, living room, and king's in the bedroom. the grounds are clean, with lots of flora. The staff were very nice. It is on the beach with a snack bar by the pool. It has a sand box for the kids with lots of toy's. It also has a nice restaurant on the property that is rated very well.

Room Tip: Ahi 1 on the outside gives you a nice view of the ocean and a large field past your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay every year at the beachboy when we come to Kauai. The amenities at the beachboy are first rate, the staff is awesome, the restuarant is great, and the beach is beautiful. This is the best central location for all of your destinations around Kauai. The rooms are beautiful with large kitchens, washer, dryers, huge bathrooms, comfortable beds, and lanai/balconies for every room. The beach in front of the resort is not a good place to swim but only a mile down the road is a wonderful beach for families. My husband had a massage at the spa and loved it. We would not stay any other place!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful, really it is your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed on the ground floor, looking across the gorgeous garden grounds towards the pool/waterfall/pool snack bar. We spent 7 glorious days here and loved it and the unspoiled beauty of the island. Lots of exploring to see this Paradise on earth. Restaurants were great, including the one on the property itself- a gourmet treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.