We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Vitoria, ES
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Perfect for a holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've chosen Kapaa following a piece of advice from a friend who lives in Hawaii. Kapaa is logistically well located, it allows you a easy access to the main atractions in the island, offering good prices.
About the hotel, it's really relaxing. My wife and I stayed here in April '13. Third floor, North view. Our windows and balconies were directed to a green area, so we had plenty of privacy. Definetely, I recomend it.
The hotel offered a few indispensable free services: parking and high speed internet access. This is important! In another hotel in Hawaii, we must pay US$10 per gadget per day! If you are looking for a hotel, pay attention to this issue.
At the time we've been there, the beach was not very attractive. Narrow sand strip, waves in many directions. If you want to read a book, it's relaxing, but if you want to swim, you will prefer the hotel's swimmig pool.
The hotel doesn't offer breakfast, but the appartment's kitchen is absolutely complete and you can do a good one, once you visit the supermarket before.
The cleaning is perfect! I have never been at a hotel with this standard. Congratulations to the management and the team!
And the cherry of the cake... the hotel restaurant is one of the best in the region for dinning, so, don't worry about looking for another one, just make a reservation in advance.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Third floor, North view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    140
    38
    11
    12
See reviews for
111
268
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had reserved a two-bedroom, two bath apartment ON THE FIRST FLOOR TO ACCOMMODATE A PERSON IN A WHEELCHAIR. The room, with the accomodations for a person in a wheelchair, was confirmed several times by phone and email. When we arrived more than an hour after our earliest permissible arrival time, no room was available. Then they gave us a second floor apartment. They said all the first floor accommodations had been taken, and SUGGESTED THAT I CRAWL UP THE STAIRS (WHICH ARE OUTSIDE)!! Really. No kidding. After waiting hours my husband and I were given a first-floor room with wheelchair access; our hosts got a second-floor room on the opposite side of the resort. The next day all four of us were moved to a two-bedroom apartment with garden view. Waiting for rooms to be prepared and arguing at the front desk cost us one day of our vacation. Talking with management, repacking and then unpacking again cost us much of our second day. Management said the problem was our fault because we had asked for a room that would accommodate a wheelchair but we hadn't said that we wanted an "ADA" room. Please note that the law does not require that anyone use the magic letters ADA. By the way, our hosts are timeshare owners at the Beachboy and several other of the company's properties. We can only imagine how we would have been treated otherwise. Also, giant cockroaches. We're told that's just part of island life, and it may be (though we hadn't run into the problem before). But if they bother you, consider yourself warned.

Room Tip: Second floor is less likely to have a cockroach problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I were generously treated toa weeks stay at the Beach Boy Resort about 8 years ago. We fell in love, so much so that even though we said "no" during the presentation, we went back to the office the morning we were due to leave and asked for the rep that did our presentation. We bought in that morning and have been back nearly every year since. Only missed 2 years because once we sent our kids for their honeymoon and then one year we wanted to try the big island. Kauai remains our happy place! We are still great friends with the rep too, even though she no longer works there.

We love the rooms, whether ocean view or garden. It doesn't matter which end of the building your on, the beach is only a few steps away! Our son enjoyed sleeping in the hammocks at night. I sleep better than I do at home with the sound of the ocean crashing on the shore, and I wake up happier with the ocean sounds and the hawaiian coffe watching the sun rise.

The staff there make us feel like royalty every single time we go and never hesitate to accomodate any and every need promptly!

We are taking some different friends this year (end of May) and can hardly wait. The ONLY bad thing about this island or this resort is 'going home' at the end of the vacation. We love taking people that have never been and we find new adventures each time we go. If I could only bring my dogs I would never leave!

The resort restaraunt is the only 5 star one on the island. It can be pricey but is well worth the splurge. The food is fabulously delicious, the chef is very accomodating and tthe service is impeccable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a beautiful condo from Ap. 8-14 2013. We had a beautiful 1 bedroom garden view apartment. You could see the ocean from your lanai. For under $1000 for the week, this was a great accommodation. They had a grilling area out near the pools. The pool and hot tub area were never crowed. This location was centrally located for travel around the island. This is part of a time share operation, so they will try to sell you if you go to one of the presentations. Buying a time share is just not our thing, so obviously, we did not bite.
This is the kind of place where you could just lay around and relax or site see as we did with relaxation at night when we returned. Very clean and well kept property. A little shopping center was just a across the road.
If we were to ever travel to Kauai again, this would be where we would stay.
Pat McGrath
Port Edwards, WI

Room Tip: I would not pay extra for an ocean view since you can see it nicely from the lanai. There are no el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed mid April 2013 in a one bedroom garden view suite. It feels like a home away from home with a comfortable eat-in-kitchen, washer-dryer, and nice lanai. This was our first trip to Kauai, so we weren't sure what to expect. It's not St. Regis style, so if you're expecting high-end appliances and accommodations, you should go somewhere else. This place is comfortable and centrally located on the island. I would highly recommend if you are looking for a comfortable, quiet place to stay to relax and explore all the adventure Kauai has to offer. We will definitely stay here on our next trip.

Room Tip: We had a one bed garden view room but still had an excellent view of the ocean from the lanai. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and loved it! The décor of the rooms is a little dated, but the rooms were very clean and the resort grounds had amazing, well-kept landscaping. The staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. We stayed in an ocean front room and could watch the sunrise from our balcony. We took full advantage of the kitchen during our stay and we were able to make ourselves breakfast every morning and dinner when we didn't want to go out at night. The resort is located in one of the quieter cities on the island, but most if not all the other tourist destinations on the island are within an hour's drive.

The beach at the resort is small, but was never crowded and I'd much prefer the quiet beauty here than the bustling beaches elsewhere on the island. The restaurant on site, the Hukilau Lanai, was fantastic and had great service. The restaurant is crowded during peak dining hours, but for good reason so make sure you get reservations a day or so ahead of time. The pool bar was also great, with very cheerful bartenders.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
223 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We loved our two night stay at the Beachboy. Superfriendly stuff, huge and tidy rooms with kitchen, beautiful garden, nice beach and good location. There are two supermarkets 3 min drive away which is good for selfcatering what we did. What was special that all the guests were greeting themselves giving a feel of family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.