We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be a five star.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Should be a five star.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a really nice hotel. The rating I gave is because of the following. We had a room on (I think was the north side) facing a field. Request not to be on that side. We did not feel safe leaving our sliding door open.The field and beach seems to be a home for transients. We were approached twice, once walking the beach on our first night,and a man came up to our patio, that was scary.Being able to have your windows open would be a plus with the really nice breezes that we could not enjoy.The beach was also a plus to walk, but after two experiences we choose not to go back to the beach in that area.The other reason was the restaurant breaks glass bottles around 10 PM every night. First time we heard it I thought a car had crashed it is that loud and really annoying to disturb the quiet. Not sure why they do that. The grounds, pool, and everything else about this hotel were really nice.The reception staff were very friendly. Try to avoid the timeshare sales people though.I wish I could give a better rating but we can't go back.

Room Tip: Stay away from the field side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    139
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
108
267
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Our wedding anniversary holiday to Hawaii was topped off by four days in this hotel in paradise. Everything was perfect, from the rooms to the grounds to the beach to the service to the pool to the location. We are low maintenance, but everytime we asked for something (frypan for the BBQ, directions, coffee, etc) we got a friendly response and service beyond our expectations. We only stayed in a studio room, not the suite, but it was still the largest hotel room we stayed in on this vacations; was clean, fresh and all new furniture. The king bed was very comfortable and the balcony was great to relax on. We were the furtherest room from the beach but still had a very good ocean view. The Hukilau Lanai restaurant is superb (I have done a separate rating) and is onsite, but make sure to book early to get a good time. All in all it was fantastic and if we ever come back to anywhere in Hawaii it will be here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and have kitchenettes. The staff were friendly and the location was convenient. The property had a nice pool, spa, and a highly rated restaurant. Recommend getting a reservation ahead of time for restaurant or if you don't mind eating at the bar...they serve the whole menu there too.
Overall, a great place to stay....and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I really liked this resort and i would gladly go back. The place is clean and economically priced. The facilities are nice and well maintained. The staff is friendly. The rooms are comfortable, the kitchen is small but functional. The living room and the views of the ocean are great. The sea is so close to the room that you can actually hear it as a background all day long, something that i found very relaxing.

Absolutely everything about this place is outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This resort certainly lived up to its reputation. I found the front desk staff very helpful and genuine. There were a few problems, not of their making, that occured during our stay. They were handled as best they could. An accident took out the telephone, internet service. All issues were well communicated and it was obvious they were working to a speedy resolution.
Our room was a one bedroom with a garden view, but our room was positioned that we also had a view of the ocean that was a bonus. My only complaint with the room was the furniture was very uncomfortable. The sofa and chair were rather outdated. The carpeting was not great but I do understand with as much foot traffic the resort sees, it could be a problem to replace it. The bed was fantastic. Again, the bathroom, shower facilities were in need of updating, but overall very pleased.
Location was great. We were not far from shopping, grocery stores, etc. We did not get an opportunity to try the restaurant. It was always full so I assume the food was good.
I would certainly stay here again and hope to do so!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent 9 days at the KCRBB! Don't go there (I want to make sure there is room for my next reservation). The facilities are wonderful -- easy to get to pool, oceanside, grill, restaurant. The room (1 bedroom suite) was great -- spacious and the washer/dryer made it easy to pack economically for the trip. The kitchen / grill made it easy to cook for ourselves when we wanted and shopping for food was easy (Safeway just a mile away) and that's a plus, given the cost of eating out. But when we did choose to eat at the restaurant at the resort, it was a rewarding experience -- we had a five course meal with wine tasting with each course! The location couldn't be better with easy access to all parts of the island. We are not "shoppers," but he Marketplace right across the street and all of Kapaa just up the road have many shops. We especially enjoyed the biking / walking trail that runs for about six miles along the coast going north from Kapaa. We might try another resort when we return to the island, but only out of curiosity -- can't imagine any better than this. Only negative is that there is not much beach (but you can sit on the lounge chairs in the grass and enjoy the ocean view). You have to walk a little ways for beach and there is really no swimming. BUT, there are a couple of really nice beaches just a short drive away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcadia, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my husband just got back from Kauai, this resort was amazing. I do not understand how anyone can write a negative review about this property. I would highly recommend it. It is so amazing there. I would go back there again and again. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.