We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Save Saved
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Our wedding anniversary holiday to Hawaii was topped off by four days in this hotel in paradise. Everything was perfect, from the rooms to the grounds to the beach to the service to the pool to the location. We are low maintenance, but everytime we asked for something (frypan for the BBQ, directions, coffee, etc) we got a friendly response and service beyond our expectations. We only stayed in a studio room, not the suite, but it was still the largest hotel room we stayed in on this vacations; was clean, fresh and all new furniture. The king bed was very comfortable and the balcony was great to relax on. We were the furtherest room from the beach but still had a very good ocean view. The Hukilau Lanai restaurant is superb (I have done a separate rating) and is onsite, but make sure to book early to get a good time. All in all it was fantastic and if we ever come back to anywhere in Hawaii it will be here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    129
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
105
257
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and have kitchenettes. The staff were friendly and the location was convenient. The property had a nice pool, spa, and a highly rated restaurant. Recommend getting a reservation ahead of time for restaurant or if you don't mind eating at the bar...they serve the whole menu there too.
Overall, a great place to stay....and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I really liked this resort and i would gladly go back. The place is clean and economically priced. The facilities are nice and well maintained. The staff is friendly. The rooms are comfortable, the kitchen is small but functional. The living room and the views of the ocean are great. The sea is so close to the room that you can actually hear it as a background all day long, something that i found very relaxing.

Absolutely everything about this place is outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This resort certainly lived up to its reputation. I found the front desk staff very helpful and genuine. There were a few problems, not of their making, that occured during our stay. They were handled as best they could. An accident took out the telephone, internet service. All issues were well communicated and it was obvious they were working to a speedy resolution.
Our room was a one bedroom with a garden view, but our room was positioned that we also had a view of the ocean that was a bonus. My only complaint with the room was the furniture was very uncomfortable. The sofa and chair were rather outdated. The carpeting was not great but I do understand with as much foot traffic the resort sees, it could be a problem to replace it. The bed was fantastic. Again, the bathroom, shower facilities were in need of updating, but overall very pleased.
Location was great. We were not far from shopping, grocery stores, etc. We did not get an opportunity to try the restaurant. It was always full so I assume the food was good.
I would certainly stay here again and hope to do so!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent 9 days at the KCRBB! Don't go there (I want to make sure there is room for my next reservation). The facilities are wonderful -- easy to get to pool, oceanside, grill, restaurant. The room (1 bedroom suite) was great -- spacious and the washer/dryer made it easy to pack economically for the trip. The kitchen / grill made it easy to cook for ourselves when we wanted and shopping for food was easy (Safeway just a mile away) and that's a plus, given the cost of eating out. But when we did choose to eat at the restaurant at the resort, it was a rewarding experience -- we had a five course meal with wine tasting with each course! The location couldn't be better with easy access to all parts of the island. We are not "shoppers," but he Marketplace right across the street and all of Kapaa just up the road have many shops. We especially enjoyed the biking / walking trail that runs for about six miles along the coast going north from Kapaa. We might try another resort when we return to the island, but only out of curiosity -- can't imagine any better than this. Only negative is that there is not much beach (but you can sit on the lounge chairs in the grass and enjoy the ocean view). You have to walk a little ways for beach and there is really no swimming. BUT, there are a couple of really nice beaches just a short drive away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcadia, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my husband just got back from Kauai, this resort was amazing. I do not understand how anyone can write a negative review about this property. I would highly recommend it. It is so amazing there. I would go back there again and again. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This resort has it all...great location, beautifully manicured grounds, wonderful accommodating staff, well-appointed rooms, and comfortable beds all at a fantastic price! Not to mention the restaurant, pool, hot tub, and fitness center are great! When we arrived, our room wasn't ready. No fault of the resort...We arrived an hour before check-in and the reception staff apologized and invited us to have a drink at the poolside bar. We accepted and had a relaxing drink on the chaise lounges looking out at the beautiful ocean. Within a half hour, our cell phone rang and the ocean view room was ready. Don't worry about booking a garden view room because all rooms have a view of the ocean. Relaxing on your lanai looking over to the ocean is what it's all about. Right when you arrive, you know you are in the tropics, the grounds, with the beautiful tropical foliage and hammocks hanging between the trees throughout just screams Hawaii. The food at the restaurant is gourmet all the way, you must try the fried calamari. Be sure to book a reservation it is busy. Our service was a little slow but once again the resort offered a comp dessert for both me and my husband (which were delicious) Mahalo Steve! Don't think because it's so cheap that it's not going to be a 5-star resort because that's what's so great about it. The location is halfway between, Poipu to the south and Princeville to the North so if you want a central location this is it. The marketplace across the street is wonderful to walk around and get food or souvenirs. The beach down the way is pristine and wonderful for romantic moonlight walks. The resort has thought of everything, even small gathering areas where you can grill your own food and sit and eat your meal while overlooking the ocean. The pool is relaxing with its warm water and cool waterfall. This is the best kept secret of the island. I can't give Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy a more raving review. We will be back and it won't be too soon for me. Mahalo!

Tip: best guidebook is the "the ultimate Kauai guidebook: Kauai Revealed". Recommend Bubba Burgers and Scotty's Barbecue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.