We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accommodation at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy to your Saves list
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Battleford, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed at the KCR at about seven times and will stay there again. The facilities are above average, the location is ideal for travel to both the north and the south and the various staffs are outstanding. The Hukilau Lanai Restaurant is unsurpassed on the island.

Room Tip: If one can, book a room overlooking the ocean. As a second, but most satisfactory alternative, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    142
    38
    11
    12
See reviews for
111
271
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The resort was exactly how described except for the pool renonvation, very disappointed that we were not notified. But's it's done now, they finished our last day there. So enjoy, it is beautiful. There is no bad view from any room. Nice to have washer and dryer in the room - very spacious with great resort staff service. Pool bar serves small lunch choices, but we chose to go to the Coconut Market Place right next door (short walking distance) that had several small places to eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner, plus shopping . Can by your essentials there, but suggest going to local grocery store if you plan to cook. They have nice BBQ's by the pool. Although you MUST eat at the resort for dinner at least one night, avg meal $30 per person - but way worth it. If you own Shell or not, I would suggest listening to their sales pitch, they are NOT pushy and offered rates lower than they we purchased 8 years ago. We will be back again and again.....Kauai is the place to relax.

Room Tip: No elevators, if you can't climb stairs get bottom floor. We LOVED our 3rd Floor room! Check wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo here and found it excellent. The condo was huge - large living room, well-stocked kitchen, bedroom with 4 poster bed, and large bathroom. It was very tastefully furnished and both the living room and bedroom had walkouts to the large patio. Everything looked very new and was impeccably clean.
We didn't try the on-site restaurant, choosing instead to cook our meals in the room so we could enjoy eating on the terrace and listening to the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach. There is easy access to shopping nearby.
The beach here is lovely, but not good for swimming (at least in the Winter) due to strong currents and waves. However, Lydgate State Park is just down the road and I've heard there are usually better swimming conditions there. The pool was pretty, but it's shallow and not very big.
I would highly recommend this as a great comfortable base to explore the Island of Kauai.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolligen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

After checking in and opened the door to our room we just went Wow! The rooms are huge and fully equipped. The resort offers 4 (maybe more?) public BBQ Weber gas grills close to your room so if you hungry for your favorite steak just go ahead and fire it up. It is close to the center of Kapaa but might be a little far from a prime located beach. The resort is clean and has very friendly staff, service is good. We had a great time here and can highly recommend this resort. For us it was a surprice of quality for money after having spent some days in Kihei, Maui, on a B&B for almost the same rate... Go ahead! I don't think you will BR disapointed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Everything from the pool, the large fully furnished and full kitchen rooms, the location and the
romantic atmosphere was perfect! I will return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and close to beach and pool, good swimming beach right down walkway from resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was our first vacation with our 6 month old boy so we were a little apprehensive. The resort is just how it is represented in the photos- beautiful grounds, clean rooms and very pleasant staff.

Parking was easy, they give you a pass you put on the dash. Plenty of spaces near your assigned building.

We stayed on the third floor and to our surprise there was no elevator. No big deal, but sometimes it's nice to be lazy and take a ride vs walking up and down.

The room was very nice, full kitchen, comfy clean bed. The bathroom was clean and stocked with plenty of towels. The patio ran the length from the living room to the bedroom. Our room overlooked the grounds and pool/bbq area. At first I was concerned there would be noise issues from the pool area but it was always quiet. The only noise came from the surf and hungry birds landing on the deck. (Don't feed the birds, they make quite a mess)

The pool was nice, especially the waterfall. Our son loved being held near the cascading water. I enjoyed using the bbq near the pool. (There are several around the grounds.) I had a beer in one hand, tongs in the other while grilling a rib eye steak from Costco. All while looking at the ocean and passing whales. Its a moment where you can't resist taking a photo/video and texting it to your friends back home to make them jealous.

We really enjoyed this resort and if we return to Kauai we would strongly consider staying here again. Clean, quiet, family friendly. Good location on the island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 via mobile

For a family with 3 kids 6 and under this was a fabulous place! A fun pool with waterfall and oceanside view, a hot tub practically on te beach, full kitchen, 2 very large bathrooms, very comfortable king bed in 1 room and 2 twins for our older kids in the other! TVs in each room!

We loved sleeping with deck doors open (only screen shut) and having the breeze flow through with the sound of constant crashing waves, probably not more then 30 meters from the shore.

The restaurant was top notch. A view of the ocean. We did the wine tour dinner and really enjoyed it!

Grounds are well kept, we were given an additional hour to checkbout, and we would be extremely happy to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.