We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Mexican Food in Kauai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monicos Taqueria

Monicos Taqueria
4-356 Kuhio Hwy, Apt D, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1413
808-822-4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 114 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
VEGAS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The BEST Mexican Food in Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is THE place to go for Mexican food. I am convinced out of all of the places we had fish tacos on the island, this definitely ranks #1. The service is great and the drinks are yummy. Very good prices as well. This is a must when we go to Kauai.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    135
    36
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced, slow service, very loud atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Buyer beware!!! Get ready to be nickle and dimed for everything that you order. As evidenced by this receipt, I ordered steak fajitas which were actually very flavorful and quality steak. The kicker is that the full order comes with only TWO flour tortillas! I asked for more tortillas and I was given two more. Let's consider that each flour tortillas probably costs 1 CENT each to make, I was not asked or informed but was charged $2.50 for TWO EXTRA TORTILLAS!!!! REALLY??? Well that is nothing compared to the $5.50 that I was charged for an approx. 3 ounce cup of shredded lettuce. When I asked for a side of lettuce to accompany my fajitas I was NOT notified that it would cost me $5.50!!! How unprofessional and rude. Why would anyone pay $5.50 for a 3-5 ounce little bitty cup of plain shredded lettuce. When I kindly challenged the charge AFTER my credit card was already processed (as I was not offered the opportunity to view my bill before paying)..:.the crazy charge was not reimbursed nor did I get any apology. When I challenged it, they just gave me a blank look. Too bad because although the portions are a bit small, the food was okay, the street noise is horrible and clearly the service is a failure!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We loved this place! The service was very, very good and the food was incredible. We ended up going twice. Once for dinner and then again later for lunch. Highly recommended from the menu: Seafood nachos and the fish tacos!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was our first experience to eat at Monicos. It won't be our last. It probably wasn't the best Mexican food I have ever eaten but it was good. The place is clean, the staff is friendly and attentive, the menu has a good selection(mostly fish dishes), and the prices are reasonable. It's a small place so you may want to get there early.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent a week in Kauai in early May, 2014. We ended up eating here three times during that week. We love "authentic" Mexican food and have several to choose from at home in Denver. But this place beats them all! I loved the seafood fajitas here. You get shrimp, scallops and fish-of-the-day on your platter. Everything is made-to-order, so give yourself some extra time. Loved the Silver Marg too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monicos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Monicos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monicos Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.