We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verde Restaurant

Verde Restaurant
4-1105 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
+1 808-821-1400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 103 restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Local fave spot.
Kauai, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We live on Kauai and this island is not known for it's great food but when you find a place that is always "spot on" it should be noted. Verde is such a place, if you like Mexican food and are not looking for fancy decor then this is a great choice. The dishes are simple but all are great and they don't skimp on the size. The atmosphere is also simple but very clean and we have always had great service either sitting in or when we take out. The prices are standard for Kauai and might be a bit high if coming from the Mainland. There are only a few real Mexican restaurants on the island and this is by far the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    266
    100
    24
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kapaa, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had the Mahi Mahi Fish Taco and the Ultimate Chicken Burrito. The fish taco was the best we have ever had. The burrito was huge and very tasty, it was spicy but not overly so. You will not find a friendlier wait staff on Kauai. Would definitely go back. Located on a strip mall but don't let that deter you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best meal of the week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Great service was excellent from the moment you entered the establishment. Great food that was a great blend of Mexican and the islands. The verde burrito with ahi was awesome. Not loaded down with the typical Mexican condiments but full of veggies, ahi and a touch of spice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Do go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Servings robust, yum. Sound value for the location (Kauai is generally spendy). Sorry we didn't go earlier in trip to check out drink specials. Glad to find local source for good hot sauces - not ubiquitous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The WORST and most disrespectful service we have ever received. We had heard good things about the food at Verde so we made it a point to go by while we were on Kauai over the holidays. While in line we noticed the servings were quite large so we ordered it to go, so we could eat half there and take our leftovers back to the hotel without having to wait in the long line again for a To Go bag. My husband also ordered a beer for while we were waiting for our food. We sat down to wait for our food with his drink, and we were asked not once, not twice but THREE times to vacate our table, and stand because other customers wanted to sit. I was 6 months pregnant at the time and although I was a paying customer, was forced to stand in a corner so to make room for other customers - who were paying customers waiting to eat just as we were! When we complained that we had ordered food like everyone else, plus a beverage and we should not be asked to stand just because our food had not arrived yet (I saw plenty of people sitting at tables with just a beverage or just chips) the man working said he needed the tables and we'd just have to stand. I have never felt so discriminated against and disturbed at such outright shocking treatment. We demanded our money be refunded and left without ever even eating our dinner, we were and still are completely disgusted at the horrific behavior the employees exhibited that evening. They should all be ashamed of themselves.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Restaurant also viewed

 
Poipu, Kauai

Been to Verde Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verde Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.