We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat, drink coffee and learn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java Kai

Java Kai
4-1384 Kuhio Highway #105, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
(808) 823-6887
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Vegetarian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Eat, drink coffee and learn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stopped at Java Kai several times for coffee and once for lunch. Good coffee, food, and a casual island atmosphere. Look for the word of the day posted on the chalkboard. You can either feel smart or learn something new every day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    73
    21
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Healthy in Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was looking for something healthy and fresh and found it here. Smoothies, salads, sammies etc.I got a wrap and asked them to add some extra ingredients and they honored my request. It was delicious and and large plus it came with a side.Didn't have to wait long after I placed my order to receive it. Service was friendly. Atmosphere was casual where many friendly locals were present.Didn't try the coffee.Would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Impossibly cool coffee bar..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We decided to pop into Java Kai on our way to Hanalei and we're glad we did. Excellent breakfast burritos and baked goods and the best coffee on the island that we tasted. Java Kai is the cool coffee place you dream about finding on your vacation... Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good place. Served it's purpose for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Had the organic chicken salad with purple potato salad and it was good. Since I follow a Paleo diet the purple potato salad was a nice alternative to the usual mac salad in Hawaii (you can also have a green salad, but what the heck I am on vacation)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the midst of Kapaa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We thought we "discovered" Java Kai - a gem - fabulous
Iced Mochas, Lattes - desserts - and a breakfast menu - we vow to try next time. Check any "tour" book and you'll see numerous ads for Java Kai - a hot spot...not a secret anymore. Great place for picnic lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Kai also viewed

 

Been to Java Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.