We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best way to feel and see real Kauai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayak Wailua

Kayak Wailua
4565 Haleilio Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
+1 808-822-3388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 69 Activities in Kapaa
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please be advised that the trail leading to Secret Falls has been greatly improved since November 16th, 2014. A board walk has been installed to span the ditches which have been very muddy for many months. Although the trail is often muddy and slippery, the overall hiking experience is substantially better. For those of you who hiked the Secret Falls trail earlier this year, all of the kayak companies thank you for your patience and understanding that the rain forest trail is through a wilderness which is subject to Mother Nature's whimsical behavior. Mahalo nui loa and a hui hou!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Logan, Utah, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the best way to feel and see real Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our kayak trip up the Wailua River to Hidden Falls was one of the best way to really see Kauai how is is and how it was. You really get to see the inner beauty of the island and one of the most beautiful rivers in the world. Our guide Treada Fisher was the best. II you get to go with her you will feel her love and special connection to the island, Born and raised on the Island she has special insight to what makes Kauai one of the most spacial places on the planet. (and she did the whole hike bear foot) The Kayaking up and down the river, a great work out, the muddy trail hike, beauty of the rain forrest and the hidden treasure of the falls will be a life time memory that we will enjoy and share.
You have many choices but this is the best crew, and the best value !!!!!!

Jon and Darlene White
Utah

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    103
    23
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I took this kayak trip on the Wailua River to compare with a 1994 trip. The outfitter was very professional and helpful,and they made sure we had proper shoes and equipment. Our guide, Monica, was excellent. She showed us plants and trees on our hike to Secret Falls and even took pictures of my group on her i-phone. A really great time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience with Lisa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had already been exploring Kauai for a week when my partner & I decided to spend our last day on the island kayaking & hiking to Secret Falls. We considered a 'self guided' option offered by another outfitter...but we're extremely happy that we chose a guided tour through Kayak Wailua. Our guide, Lisa, took what could have been a total nightmare...heavy rain, ankle deep slippery mud, and quite a diverse group...and gave us one of the best experiences of our vacation. She was extremely patient & helpful with both the kayaking & the hike to the waterfall. She pointed out plants & trees, informed us of island history, and made sure everyone had an enjoyable & safe excursion despite the less than desirable conditions. We would definitely recommend a Kayak Wailua tour with Lisa to any of our friends who might visit Kauai.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Run Kayaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

While at first the business did not look like much, they really did prove us wrong! The staff was helpful friendly very intune to our needs. My guide (Monica) was awesome. The price was great and everyone enjoted the trip a lot.
Tips:
1. Go swimming in the waterfall before snacking/lunch. The water is a tad chilly and is especially cold when your stomach is digesting food. Both the waterfall and the picniking are worth doing.
2. Most should probably choose a double or triple kayak. You can go much faster and it is fun to chat with people. However if you are looking for a great workout and a slow, scenic peaceful trip pick a single kayak.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Highlight of the trip - ask for Andy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I went with my family during winter break, and we all had a great time. Our guide Andy was very knowledgeable and also very friendly and easy to talk to. Not only was the kayaking part of the trip enjoyable, but the hike through the forest to the waterfall was fun as well. The views of nature were great and it was very peaceful. The trip, though taking a few hours, was not strenuous at all, and would be suitable even for families not used to outdoor activities.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Wailua also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Wailua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayak Wailua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.