We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the budget-conscious traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for the budget-conscious traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Kept looking on several sites (Priceline, TripAdvisor, Hotels.com, etc.) for the cheapest rate for a decently-rated hotel. Got a great deal on Booking.com (even cheaper than the kamaaina [Hawaii resident] rate. Spent the Memorial Day weekend with wife and 4 kids (20,17,12,10) so needed 2 rooms. Location of Kauai Shores is perfect (once you find it), just north of Lihue so about halfway along the highways that circle most of the island. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a small fridge, nice big TV and comfortable beds. There are 2 decent pools and a beach (that's not swimmable) and stores and restaurants right down the road. The $15/nt. resort fee includes use of the room safe, free DVD rentals, use of the BBQ grills and wifi. The staff was pleasant and helpful enough. There were a few minor issues (lanai door lock was broken, but there is a backup bar to keep it locked; bathtub faucet started leaking), but overall, we were very happy with the place. We were able to get a 6 PM checkout on one of the rooms for $50, which really helped because we went to Lydgate Beach on the last day.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
72
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for 12 days and everyone at hotel was so kind and helpful! Class A in service and Relaxation! The grounds are kept beautifully and the beach is steps away..nice pools and weber grills next to pools! Very honest cleaning personal. .I left m6 jewelry on nightstand daily and even my large purse when I used my wrislet! They are currently building a restaurant on site but just around the corner are plenty of restaurants, even close enough to walk to!Highly recommend staying and can't wait to return : )

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is on the beach side with a great view on the ocean. There are wales coming very close by that you can easily see from the beach.
There are bbq, that are very useful if you want to save some money on the restaurant. They were clean and we did quite a few times some fresh fish for dinner.
The rooms are brand new, nice beds, fridge and balcony. The lobby area is old and there is no more restaurant at the moment. They were supposed to offer breakfast but when there was something it was between 7:00AM and 8:00AM. We complained about that and they told us there was no breakfast included even if it was advertised everywhere (in the rooms, booking, on the lobby front desk...). Good new is that there is a fantastic bakery at walking distance.
The hotel is well located, allowing you to travel easily to any interesting location on the island. It is also quiet, there are not many roosters in the area.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I wouldn't even bother booking this hotel, the receptionist ignored us for several minutes and then when she decided to assist us, checked us in and gave us the right act...The restaurant staff were very rude and also pool staff.

Compliment goes to buss boy in restaurant, exceptional service gave him a $50 tip direct to him...He deserves to run the hotel as he know good service...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Given how much the hotel charged, I had very low expectations on what to expect. They put in a lot of money in renovations and they continue to invest in the property. I believe the hotel was originally built a while ago and so the rooms are slightly larger than average of this class of hotels. Everything looked new. Beds, curtains, tv, bathroom fixtures, carpet, etc...

There was a separate resort fee but it included parking and a machine to rent DVD's as well as the use of a pool.

There is no continental breakfast like some have reported. Apparently they used to serve a limited variety of things. They do serve coffee but you need to wake up really early (before 7 am) because they run out very quickly.

Housekeepers are friendly and do a great job.

The front desk staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. They gave us our room for early check out. It was a busy weekend so we could not get a later checkout so they do what they can when they can.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so stay on the first floor away from the middle where the DVD and ice machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. we are almost at the end of our renovation. The lobby and the restaurant will be complete in mid summer. We will serve breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.

We are still striving to be the best.

Look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESCONDIDO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It started when we checked in. They could do everything to assist us with questions to where to go. All were very pleasant and "No" was not in their vocabulary. The grounds were all trimmed and really loved the "Old Hawaiian" motif of the resort. Very clean through out. Cannot say enough for the buildings and especially the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a combination swimming pool and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate all the comments. We try our very best to make every guest enjoy their vacation. Our best assets are the employees and they have always made the guests their number 1 priority.

Look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for an inexpensive and clean place to sleep, this is the place. Don't expect a five star hotel. This place was wrapping up renovations. The staff is friendly but the parking in insufficient. Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry for the parking and inconvenience. Due to our lobby building under renovations, we had to shut down approximately 30 parking stalls. Once the lobby/restaurant building is open for business, we will have Bell/Valet staff to take care of your parking needs.

Look forward to your next visit.

mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor featuring mini-refrigerators, a blu-ray/DVD player and Playstation 3 console, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. With the daily Hospitality Fee, guests enjoy amenities including daily coffee and tea service, outdoor yoga classes, Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel, unlimited movies and Playstation 3 games, use of beach towels and chairs, local and toll-free phone calls, in-room safe, a daily newspaper, and self-parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.