We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Mililani
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Given how much the hotel charged, I had very low expectations on what to expect. They put in a lot of money in renovations and they continue to invest in the property. I believe the hotel was originally built a while ago and so the rooms are slightly larger than average of this class of hotels. Everything looked new. Beds, curtains, tv, bathroom fixtures, carpet, etc...

There was a separate resort fee but it included parking and a machine to rent DVD's as well as the use of a pool.

There is no continental breakfast like some have reported. Apparently they used to serve a limited variety of things. They do serve coffee but you need to wake up really early (before 7 am) because they run out very quickly.

Housekeepers are friendly and do a great job.

The front desk staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. They gave us our room for early check out. It was a busy weekend so we could not get a later checkout so they do what they can when they can.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so stay on the first floor away from the middle where the DVD and ice machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ESCONDIDO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It started when we checked in. They could do everything to assist us with questions to where to go. All were very pleasant and "No" was not in their vocabulary. The grounds were all trimmed and really loved the "Old Hawaiian" motif of the resort. Very clean through out. Cannot say enough for the buildings and especially the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a combination swimming pool and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are looking for an inexpensive and clean place to sleep, this is the place. Don't expect a five star hotel. This place was wrapping up renovations. The staff is friendly but the parking in insufficient. Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

After average hotels on Maui and Oahu we came here and I was really shocked. The room was huge and really nice and clean. Staff at check-in was super nice.
Also the hotel is located and very good place. Close ti the airport and close to restaurants and grocery store.

Staying here for 5 days with a friend.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really don't know why some people give this place anything less than a 5 star rating... Its affordable & the staff is cooperative, understanding & most importantly they are friendly. It really boils down to this - are you traveling to Hawaii to stay in your room all day? If not, the two pools are beautiful. The beach is literally a stones throw away. And you are within walking distance to Kapaa's stores & entertainment. Maybe I've been spoiled (NOT), but it works for me ;-)7.

And yes, there is construction right now... They are obviously working to improve some things - nothing that can't be avoided. Get over it!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. Yes, we are renovating the lobby and the restaurant and will be open in Mid summer.

Look forward to your next visit soon. Again thank you for your comments.

Appreciate it much.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So we needed a hotel for a night and then till we left the following evening. We won't be staying again or recommending it to anyone else.
The room was updated with new furnishings but the window a/c wasn't enough to cool the room without the ceiling fan on high.
The sliding glass door had no lock and only a stick for the track to keep the door closed.
The room door had a big enough chunk out of it to see everything in the room.
The bathtub wasn't especially clean.
The beach was nice but the water is not really safe.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking time to complete the survey. I am sorry you feel that the room and the hotel did not fit your needs.

Have a great day.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My biggest advice would be to book this hotel AFTER their major construction on their new lobby/resturant is complete. I'm sure this is going to be a huge plus when it's complete but to be there during construction noise allday wasn't very relaxing. It takes care of your basic needs. The room was more spacious then I had expected and recently decorated and modernized but you can see and feel the years on this hotel. Bed reminded me of an IKEA hard bed and wasn't comfortable. I did like the view from our room which overlooked pool area and beach which was a very short walk BUT not a swimming beach.The water was extremely rough. The pool area was nice and clean and a relaxing spot if you ignore the beeping of construction equipment. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The bathroom mirror area is super tiny and only space for 1 person to try and get ready. They offer Wifi but we couldn't get a signal the whole time we were there and we were close to their business center which I thought would help the strength but didn't. This is a 2 story hotel and no elevators only stairs. This hotel was just o.k.

Room Tip: If you don't want to lug your suitcases upstairs or have limitations get a down stairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha and thank you for our guest. We finishes renovating all the rooms and the landscaping. We are in the process of renovating the lobby and the restaurant, which will be complete by mid summer.

Our apologies for the construction vehicle's beeping noise during the week days.

Look forward to your next trip and hopefully you will get to enjoy the new restaurant.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor featuring mini-refrigerators, a blu-ray/DVD player and Playstation 3 console, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. With the daily Hospitality Fee, guests enjoy amenities including daily coffee and tea service, outdoor yoga classes, Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel, unlimited movies and Playstation 3 games, use of beach towels and chairs, local and toll-free phone calls, in-room safe, a daily newspaper, and self-parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.