We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel right on the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Blainville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly hotel right on the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Friendly staff, great view since it's right on the ocean and has free Wi-Fi. Clean rooms and affordable. Everything that I love when I have to stay at a hotel. We even had free breakfast donuts, danish pastries, fruit, juice, coffee. Very affordable for a hotel that's by the ocean. Good pool with confortable lounge chairs. We took long walks next to the ocean watching the sun set. Shopping center almost next door I can't think of anything that I didn't like.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
54
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here with a tour so were a captive group but we were pleased with the rooms. Had a room that would be considered poolside I guess. Need to keep the curtains pulled for privacy but was very easy access to the pool and out to the beach. I say beach with tongue in cheek as there was sand to sit on but if you want to go in the ocean, you better have very good swim shoes. This is all coral as soon as you hit the water and don't even think about walking in with out shoes. We did walk about a mile down towards the highway and found a nice public beach with sand and access to the ocean without sore feet ! This place is an older 50's or 60's motel built in the classic "U" shape that has been remodeled. room was very nice and clean and OK for us although a little small. No restaurant here so you have to go out to eat but we found several good places locally.

Room Tip: poolside were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just needed a place to clean up and sleep after doing a 3 day hike. We stopped at this hotel, it was reasonably priced, the room was clean and they had rooms available.

We had the limited breakfast included in the morning and left for our flight right after.

WiFi worked

The place is right on the ocean, beautiful view.

There seemed to be a lot of tour buses, so this hotel might be heavily used by tour companies.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great staff, atmosphere and room. We stayer here last year for 8 nights, we are going back this year for 16 nights we loved this place so much. Open lobby right at the ocean with free coffee, bananas, water, daily beach towel, pastry's and much more. This is a budget friendly place and well worth the money. The have yoga right at the beach for free several mornings a week. I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Pool view room was amazing, right off or our lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. Yes, we are a boutique hotel on the beach and away from the highway and traffic noise.

Very soon we will have a new lobby and a restaurant. Please visit us again and enjoy the new amenities.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms have been renovated and are great. Only unfortunate thing is that the rooms are not soundproof. If no one is staying above you, however, all is good! There is a DVD player (PlayStation) in the room with unlimited DVDs available to borrow. Hotel grounds are on a decent beach - lots of room to suntan and nice to swim in. Breakfast isn't much but is nice to have. Yoga on the beach (offered free three times a week) was amazing! One of the highlights of my stay for sure. Five minute walk to Longs Drugs, under ten to Safeway and Foodland, McDonalds, etc. 30 minute walk to the "Old Kapaa" end of town where the food trucks, shops and restaurants are.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the second floor (presumably more soundproof) and away from the parking lot...having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. we are currently renovating the restaurant and we should have a full breakfast, lunch and dinner service, seven days a week.

With the restaurant we will be renovating the lobby too. In a few months we should have fully renovated hotel and a brand new restaurant.

Please visit us again and enjoy the new amenities.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice rooms, renovated, clean...comfy beds, nice bathroom.
Did get a chance to snack on small breakfast treats every day.
Renovations in the lobby just started. ...will be really nice once finished. ..
2 pools, clean, but never swam, a bit too cold....but plenty beaches to go to:)
AC/heat box didn't work but was able to get a blanket on the third night...
Location is great, close to lots of places and travel. If you are ok with less pampered feeling when it comes to staff, you'll enjoy it here, good value...Would stay again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. Yes, all of us are looking forward to our renovations and hope to have a new restaurant and lobby in a few months. It is definitely a great addition to all the renovated rooms and new landscaping.

I am sorry, the A/C is only for cooling. We do not have heaters in our rooms. But we are happy to provide extra blankets for your comfort.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a great hotel if you are on a budget. The hotel grounds and rooms are clean, nice pool and the beach is a nice way to relax in the morning or evening. Lacks in food service but from what I heard they were renovating their restaurant. Their breakfast option is really not breakfast so I advise those to eat at a local restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. We are now renovating our restaurant. The morning refreshments. the coffee, tea and juice are complimentary. It's a great start for the morning.

Once our restaurant is open in a few months, we will be serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week.

Look forward to your next trip to the hotel and the islands.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor and feature free Wifi Internet access, mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. Other free amenities include doily Continental breakfast, doily coffee and tea service, yoga classes and Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.