We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a bit of work, but very comfortable and quiet.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of work, but very comfortable and quiet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was spartan but comfortable and my boyfriend loved the mid century modern affectation. The outlet in the bathroom and the blowdryer didn't work. The hotel does not serve breakfast, though they charged a "hospitality fee" that is meant to cover that. Instead they serve coffee in the lobby--get there early if you want cream in your coffee. At random times they will put out a dozen doughnuts or a few bananas--these typically last about 2 minutes and the odds of actually getting one are slim--make other plans for eating. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I'll likely look for something else in the future.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    39
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked online and the website we used (which was the hotel's site, not a broker site) promised amenities which were not offered. We booked this place partly because it said they offered free continental breakfast, free yoga, and daily newspapers and coffee and tea in the lobby all day. They offered us a $30 per night upgrade which gave us a view of the pool, as opposed to the parking lot. Not much of an upgrade. Be careful when you book and make sure you dont get one of the back units. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the staff were helpful (except for the manager, who told us we couldn't have coffee after 10 am). We probably could have done better for the roughly $200 per night, but we really were misled by some of the features listed on the website. The yoga instructor was great though.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved this hotel! friendly staff, really cute room with very comfy beds and plenty of pillows at such a great price! The hotel is clean and modern, provides free DVDs and tea and coffee in the mornings. They have lovely toiletries however do not provide conditioner so bring your own.
Swimming pool was lovely and clean with plenty of tables and lounge chairs around, plenty of activities including a volleyball net, walking paths and morning yoga on the beach several times a week. Great location, only 25 mins from hotel and minutes from supermarket and restaurants (need a car). Beach is good for swimming, further along the coastline in front of the other hotels it didn't seemed much more rocky. Highly recommend, only stayed 2 nights and wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate the great comments and look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Seems to be a hotel in transition. Looks tired from the outside and the lobby needs work but the room itself was very spacious and comfortable – so nice after living in the standard size (cozy). The bathroom shower pressure and temperature was inconsistent. The kitchenette was a nice feature.

We were in a unit farthest from the beach, right next to the parking lot and main entry way for people to get from the lot to their unit - noisy. If you like having your balcony doors open instead of using air-con, be prepared for noise, that is people walking (and talking) in and out, people having conversation on their own patios (lanais).

Continental breakfast – store bought bagels and bread and coffee in a dimly lit lobby.

I was okay with our stay – the other guests were pretty cool to chat with but I’d look for another place to stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guest. You had a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite from a standard room. All our rooms and buildings are renovated except for the lobby building, which will be done next at the beginning of March.

Hopefully, on your next visit you will be able to enjoy our full service restaurant and bar.

Look forward to your next visit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would base this hotel more like a motel. It was very clean, and were told it had just changed hands, so more updating was being done. We had a continental breakfast each morning which was great. Nice area for visiting and eating with the others that were on our tour. The beach was large, the lounges need to be updated, the ones on the beach. It was relaxing around the pool, lots of lounges, also a barbecue. It would have been nice to be able to have a meal, maybe that will come with the renovations. It was close to a small shopping mall, and a few places to eat (pizza, takeout).

Room Tip: The rooms were very clean, a little noisy at night. Definitely not high end but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying at the Kauai Shores. We are a boutique beach front hotel with many complimentary amenities. Centrally located and within walking distance to all the restaurants.

Very soon we will have our own restaurant and you could enjoy a full breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven day a week. All the beach lounge chairs will also be replaced once the restaurant is open.

Look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really liked this place, nicely laid out from an architectural and landscaping perspective. All the staff I met were cheerful and helpful and the room was clean.

There are a couple of negatives if you are with a group tour as my wife and I were. There is no restaurant on site and the Continental breakfast is okay as far as it goes but the only protein is cream cheese. I have Type 2 Diabetes and require protein after fasting through the night and cream cheese just isn't sufficient. The nearest restaurants are a 10-15 minute walk away (not a problem if you are on a driving holiday) but when excursions are booked with the tour and you have to leave at a certain time there isn't time to walk to a restaurant, have breakfast then walk back.

Our walks in the evenings to the restaurant along the main road were pleasant due to the fine weather however could be a miserable experience in inclement weather.

Also, be careful when moving about your room. The wooden bed frames extend well out from the mattress and I know of 4 people in our group who skinned their shins when opening the drapes.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guest. The morning refreshments are complimentary to our guests. Very soon we will have our own restaurant and bar. We will begin renovations of the lobby/restaurant in early March. The restaurant will serve a full breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Around the hotel, within a 5 min. walking distance, there are many restaurants, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle,wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is not ideal, but the rooms are nice, the property has a great beach, and the price is right. Has a small fridge so you can store all your delicious food. The bathroom is a bit cramped around the sink, making it a bit hard to neatly store toiletries, razors, etc. The courtyard gets a bit noisy during the day, and you can't really galavant around naked with blinds open, as you can see into all the other rooms from just about every room.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for being our guest. We are indeed a beach front hotel. It is located centrally and easy access to the north shore and to the Waimea Canyons, which is an equal distance from the hotel.

We do have very private rooms in different buildings. Hope you will request for one on your next visit.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor and feature free Wifi Internet access, mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. Other free amenities include doily Continental breakfast, doily coffee and tea service, yoga classes and Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.