We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Atmosphere, Friendly Staff and Reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere, Friendly Staff and Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Kauai Shores can best be described as serviceable. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Morning breakfast consists of bananas, juice, pastry and excellent Kauai Coffee. It's right on the beach and although not in the Four or Five Star range, it is a good value. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for being our guests. It is indeed a great friendly boutique hotel. We completed all our room renovations and will be renovating our lobby and restaurant next.

Hope you will visit us again and enjoy the new amenities.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ranshaw, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night on our two day trip to Kauai. It was very clean, quiet, and recently updated like many others have stated. It is a great price, directly on the beach, and very friendly staff. The breakfast provided was enough to get us going including pastries and bananas. Will stay here again if we find ourselves island hopping.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. Please visit us again when you are in the islands.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is AWESOME!! I highly recommend this hotel. They renovated it recently so it's very clean. luckily it's right next to the beach and close to Kappa downtown. Also, they have very nice employees. :)

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guests. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your visit again.

I shall pass on your compliments to all the staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on November 25th and my credit card was skimmed. The guy working the office when we checked in was very confrontational and took my credit card into the back. Charges were then made fraudulently at another aqua hotel and elsewhere. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for expressing your concerns about your credit card. After investigating your concern, I would like to state that the credit card machine is located right at the front desk, so guest sees the transaction been applied. There are no credit card machines in the back office.
The gentleman working at the front desk claims that never a day that he takes a credit card away from the guest to anywhere, but leaves it at the desk in the guest's view.
You claimed that charges were made at other Aqua hotels, but you never contacted this hotel to question the charge.
As a hotel policy, we never keep your cc number on file. Once the credit card is run through the credit card machine, only the last four digits are notated in your folio. Hence no one can make another charge anywhere.
Hope I have answered your concerns.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just came back from our 4-night stay at the Kauai Shores. First and foremost it is hard to beat the location when you can walk down to the ocean in your PJs.. The hotel practically has its own private beach, which was amazing. You can walk down to the coconut marketplace which has plenty of shops and good restaurants. The Trees lounge, one of the rare places in the east shore, where you get food (and drinks) after 9 pm is also walkable.. The hotel plans to open their own restaurant in January which will be a huge plus..!!

We stayed in their upgraded ocean-view room and had a great view of the ocean from our balcony (not from inside the room as one of the management pictures show). The room was clean with a comfortable bed, lots of pillows and was quite spacious. The 'continental' breakfast, as most of the previous reviewers pointed out, was pretty simple comprising of donut, croissants, bananas, coffee and juice. The wireless signal was surprisingly good.. we saw folks sitting on the beach for hours on their laptop..!!

The staff were extremely friendly, always smiling and very helpful; although I should admit that at times they were not at the top of their game: we were locked out one night as they couldn't figure out the correct amount of taxes and fees to be deducted when we checked in. While that was sorted out and we were told that everything has been paid, we were in for another surprise at check-out when the front-desk lady told us that they forgot to deduct the fees for one night..!! Minor glitches, but I wish the staff were a little more professional.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommended the hotel mainly for the location and more than decent value for your money..!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for being our guests and enjoying your stay here at the Kauai Shores. It is indeed conveniently located and it's a beach front property.
The continental breakfast is a morning refreshment for guest to enjoy while watching the sunrise and checking up on the latest news and activities in the lobby.
Once we have our new restaurant, we will have a full breakfast, lunch and dinner service 7 days a week.
My apologies for the accounting error at the front desk. I am glad it was all squared away before you left the hotel.

Look forward to your next visit with us.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with girlfriends for two nights in an ocean front room and it was perfect for our needs. Footsteps from the beach, clean and updated rooms, super friendly staff with the aloha spirit :) The pool was great for evening swims and even though we were sight-seeing at other beaches most of the day it was nice to have the beach just outside our room. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Yes the beach is great fronting the hotel. Today we had our frequent visitor, a monk seal visit us and lay on the beach.

Look forward to your next visit with us.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the renewed facility because the older rooms didn't look good and also the location was worse. At the reception they kindly changed our room for a reasonable surcharge. Then we had a beautiful seaside view.
Staff is very helpful. There is also a long and beautiful beach besides the hotel, perfect for a romantic evening walk.
It's a good hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Aloha and thank you for staying at our hotel. All the rooms are renovated except the lobby and the restaurant, which will be renovated next month.

We have different view categories and changes in price. We also have studio suites which are larger than the normal rooms and has a kitchenette. Again prices vary from the room and the studio suite.

Please visit us again and thank you for completing our survey.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor and feature free Wifi Internet access, mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. Other free amenities include doily Continental breakfast, doily coffee and tea service, yoga classes and Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.