We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here with girlfriends for two nights in an ocean front room and it was perfect for our needs. Footsteps from the beach, clean and updated rooms, super friendly staff with the aloha spirit :) The pool was great for evening swims and even though we were sight-seeing at other beaches most of the day it was nice to have the beach just outside our room. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the renewed facility because the older rooms didn't look good and also the location was worse. At the reception they kindly changed our room for a reasonable surcharge. Then we had a beautiful seaside view.
Staff is very helpful. There is also a long and beautiful beach besides the hotel, perfect for a romantic evening walk.
It's a good hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Kauai Shores twice, and during our most recent stay we enjoyed the newly remodeled rooms. They are tastefully done and very comfortable. The Front Desk staff were very helpful and pleasant to work with. I would recommend you consider the Kauai Shores for your stay on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for vacationing at our beautiful beach front hotel. Definitely the renovations has been great and we have added many amenities, wifi in the rooms/property wide, DVDs/games on our PS3 machines, Yoga classes, Coffee and Tea in the lobby and many more.

Early next year we will have a full service restaurant. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took a weekend trip to Kauai with friends and stayed here. Staff was super friendly and happy to help make our stay awesome. Hotel itself is comfortable, modern, and really nice for the price! It has direct access to a length of beach, which I spent my nights staring at the stars. Pleasant to fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean! Quick drive to the airport. Convenient central location to explore the northern and southern parts of the island on a weekday. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request the rooms closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for being our guest and enjoying your stay at the hotel/Kauai, We continue to improve our services and standards. Our beach front restaurant is coming soon.

Looking forward to your next visit at our hotel.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It was fine for a short stay. It is located next to Coconut Marketplace for shopping & eating plus the Hukilau Lanai restaurant is next door & it is known for its delicious food. Airport is only 20 minutes away & the small town of Kapaa is 5 minutes. I have had better continental breakfasts at small hotels. This one was sweet rolls (sometimes croissants), juice, bananas & coffee. No utensils or plates. It does have a microwave. The staff was very nice & the parking free. The location was perfect since it is on the beach. Was there during the hurricane & absolutely no problems.

Room Tip: All standard rate rooms face the driveway. You have to take your own luggage so if you are on the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. Yes, we are a two story hotel without elevators. However, we do assist with luggage on requests.
Our complimentary continental breakfast is an added amenity which we provided during our renovations. We will be renovating our restaurant next month and hope to have a full service restaurant in January 2015. The restaurant will serve a full breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner. The bar and the restaurant will on the beach front. You can enjoy the sunrise from the restaurant and have great food and drinks.

Look forward to your next visit with us.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wanted to book a reservation but unfortunately did not make it past the reservations dept. Two different reservations agents gave me incorrect information about fees (how much, what was included and whether or not it was reflected in the total price quoted.) The second agent changed what she communicated several times. I called the guest services dept. to make them aware of my experience. I was given an apology and told that I should "call direct" next time (i.e., call the hotel instead of the reservations dept.) What?!! I decided to forget it and book somewhere else, rather than take a chance on having more problems during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Aloha and thank you for taking time to complete the tripadvisor survey. As we are investigating your concerns, I would like a personal email from you so I could complete the investigation and respond appropriately.

Look forward to hearing from you by phone or email at your earliest convenience.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It has just been completely remodeled. The rooms are all new and clean and the location is great. Centrally located next to the Coconut Marketplace. The staff and manager were great. Free wifi, free DVD rentals and free PS3. Free parking and free continental breakfast. The beach is steps away. This was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Aloha and thank you for being our guests. Appreciate the great comments. We at the hotel try our very best to provide the services in a friendly and courteous manner. I am happy to hear that you two enjoyed your stay at the hotel and it was very convenient to your travels in the island.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor and feature free Wifi Internet access, mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. Other free amenities include doily Continental breakfast, doily coffee and tea service, yoga classes and Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.