We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Service, Helpful, Honest Staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location and Great Service, Helpful, Honest Staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed here five nights recently. I was very, very pleased with the hotel. It has a great location to explore the north and south sides of the island and is just south of the quaint Kapa'a downtown. The hotel is right on a beautiful beach. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, as was all the staff we interacted with. We were initially put in a room with two beds, but I asked to switch to a room with one king-size bed and the beautiful lady at the front desk happily made that happen. I was very pleased with the room: clean, comfortable, quiet and modern. There is a PS3 in the room that you can use to watch movies and free movies to choose from in the hotel lobby! I enjoyed the view of the palm trees and tiki torches from our room at night! We also sat by the fire table one evening enjoying the free Mai Tais they provide to guests on Wednesdays. We also took part in the yoga class on Friday morning which happens on the grass yard of the hotel in view of the beach. It was a glorious way to start the day. I forgot something in my room when I checked out and didn't realize it until I was stateside. I called the hotel in desperation and Ana the guest services manager said that my item had been turned in by the housekeeper. She said not to worry that she would mail the item to me at home. I was so very relieved and happy that they took the time to do this! It helped restore my faith in humanity! There are good people in the world and they work at Kauai Shores!! I highly recommend this hotel and hope that I can return some day soon! Mahalo!!!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra to get a room with a view of the inner area: pool, beach, tiki torches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the kauai shores for 8 nights. The hotel provides just the basics. Housekeeping is slow. We returned in the late afternoon most days and the room was not cleaned yet. There is no room service and no dining on site.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. We completed our room renovations and beginning to renovated our lobby and restaurant. In January 2015, we will have a new hotel with a beach front restaurant. The restaurant will have a full breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We do provide daily housekeeping and the housekeepers are scheduled from 8am to 4pm. I am sorry your room was cleaned late in the afternoon. When guests requests an early service, the housekeepers do honor them.

On your next visit with us, please request an early housekeeping service, preferably a time and we will definitely schedule it at your convenience.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good Value for the property - recently updated rooms - clean and modern and a flat screen in the room. No on-site restaurant, but they did offer donuts, coffee and banana's in the morning. It's right on the beach so the view is nice. Everyone I ran into in my overnight stay was very friendly and helpful. There are no taxi's waiting for hire so be sure that you organize your rides with the front desk the day before.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. Appreciate the great comments. We are moving ahead with our restaurant renovation and hope to re open it in January 2015. Very soon we will have a full service hotel in2015.
All the taxis are stationed either at the airport or in Kapaa town. Yes, our front desk staff makes reservations for all our guests. It usually takes about 15 mins or less to get a taxi.

Look forward to your next visit here.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

easy check in , clean fresh rooms , modern ! recently updated . well kept. comfortable beds , modern locks on the doors ! sunrise on the beach is great ! Breakfast is added bonus.. parking is a bit scarce , good eating places are not too far .

Room Tip: depends what you want different views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate the great comments. Yes, we are best hotel on the beach and very conveniently located in the heart of Kapaa. \.

Next year, when we re open the restaurant in January, we will have valet staff and they will take good care of your vehicle and the parking facility.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The 9 days stay at Kauai Shores was excellent. The renovated rooms are clean and modern. Decided to upgrade to an ocean view room to make things perfect.
The Wifi was the fastest I have ever experienced travelling.
The location of the hotel is perfect to explore Kauai, super markets are close by and good restaurants all around.
The hotel is reasonably priced, parking included - makes it a great value!
Definitely recommended!
The morning food options can be ignored.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate your great comments. We are in the process of re opening the restaurant. At that time we have a full breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner with a great bar over looking the beach.

Look forward to you next visit with us.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 4 nights and loved it. The location (off the main hiway) is great. The service was great. So nice to have your own beach. We watched the sunrises and at night you can sit on the beach and watch the planes land at the Lihue airport. Staff was great. This is a good value. It is close to the grocery and the restaurants. Can't say anything bad. It is being upgraded and updated now.

Room Tip: the poolside room was worth 10 more dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for enjoying your vacation at our hotel. We are continually adding and fine tuning our services.
Please visit us again when you are here in Kauai.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was super friendly! Location is prime, couple minutes away from the actual beach. Also enjoyed their pool and bonfire late nights. I couldn't believe that parking was also free! Def will come back again!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for visiting us and enjoying your stay at the hotel. We look forward to your next visit here. Hopefully we will have our beach front restaurant open for great food and entertainment.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor and feature free Wifi Internet access, mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. Other free amenities include doily Continental breakfast, doily coffee and tea service, yoga classes and Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.