We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Sale - Save 15%!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location & Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just returned home from Kauai and spent 11 nights at this hotel. Very pleased with this hotel. Simple clean room with comfortable bed provided great sleep for us every night. Free wifi connection in our room was fast. Beautiful beach was just 2 minutes walk. Beach lounge chairs were free to use. Free beach towels were very helpful. The continental breakfast (complementary breakfast is a better name for it) was donuts, croissants, banana, juice, tea and great Kauai coffee to wake you up! The location was very central and convenient to everywhere. Safeway and Foodland the two big shopping plazas were only a minute drive. 10 minutes drive to airport/Lihue/Costco/Walmart. 15/20 minutes drive to North shore or Poipu.

The only thing we didn't like was the noisy air con. We had to wear ear plugs for the first two nights to sleep then we got used to it... The noisy air con was great to muffle with the noise from next room (thin wall) and the hallway...

Over all, we were really happy with this place. We would stay here again the next time we visit Kauai. We would recommend this hotel to our families and friends.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This past August my boyfriend and I went to kauai for the first time. And by luck we landed on this hotel. It was perfect! The beach was in your backyard less than 100yds away. The two pools were never crowded, and if there happened to be people grilling out, they would offer you a taste! Pools were great for kids or a quick lap or two for adults (very comfortable lounging chairs). The daily breakfast was just what you needed: croissant or biscuit, some fruit, delicious island juice or island coffee. What my boyfriend and I enjoyed the most about this hotel was it's convenience. It was in walking or short driving distance from some of the best restaurants on the island (and best Mai tai @ the oasis). It's in the middle of the best beaches on the island. You can take a short morning drive up north to napali coast, or a short drive to poipu. Also if you like nightlife (which is slim on the island) the late night bar Trees is located next door. Also since most of the island shuts down around 11 the hotel had a great rental movie service (almost like a redbox if you're familiar) the selection was great! AND FREE!! The staff was adorable, same caring front desk lady most of the week. She would greet you with a smile anytime of the day. And maintenance guys who would always have a friendly "aloha" coming your way. I would tip the cleaning lady a couple of dollars every day and she would write sincere thank you notes after taking extra care to rid the room of our daily sand intake. Overall this hotel was absolutely perfect for our first time Hawaiian vacation.

I have read the other reviews and would agree with some that the interior isn't going to be the nicest hotel on the island, but how much time are you spending in your room while you're in paradise?

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yes it is a little less expensive than other hotels on the island, but I highly doubt it's worth the hassle. The maids STOLE items out of our room! And were not returned. Two items were family heirlooms that were irreplaceable. A few things (the food) was returned but not the other items. They told me that I had to call the cops and file a police report and that there was nothing I could do about it. I called the main offer on Oahu to file a complaint and they were more helpful but never followed through on call back. Finally the manager called me (2 days later) and said that everything was squared away because they had refunded us for one night, but I told him no way because 2 of the items couldn't be replaced. He said he'd call me back... Why did they even remove anything from our room in the first place??? They didn't even remove all of our items, just some. So what was supposed to be a romantic engagement turned into a nightmare with me in tears over the blanket I've had since I was born and my fiancés grandfathers knife stolen (among other things) and all we can do is... Nothing. Thanks for the $84 refund but that is not even close to the heartache and headache this has causes our family.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 days. Only about 15 minutes from the airport, and well located if you want to tour the north and south ends of the island. Very reasonable priced and cleaned. Like most hotels, there are problems here and there. Fire alarm kept going went off one night, and our section of the hotel did not have an ice machine; you had to walk over to another branched section to get ice. The breakfast they give is very basic, (croissants, doughnuts, juice and coffee). Is this the Four Seasons? No...but for the location and price, it was good.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. My apologies for the smoke alarm going off last week, This was due to very hot weather last week and the humidity. After researching we have upgraded the smoke alarms in the hallways.

For morning refreshments, we do serve a continental breakfast for all our guests. Very soon we will have a full service restaurant by the end of fall/early spring 2015.

We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We upgraded from the savy saver room to the next one up for 10$ a night and we're glad we did. Our room was really quiet, the beds confortable. Staff was friendly and willing to help us figure out activities. There are some really nice restaurants not too far. Loved the location right on the beach and swimming pool is clean and not crowded. Only down side was the breakfast that was just a few pastries and some juice and coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Yes, we do our best to keep the hotel clean, comfortable, affordable and have a top notch staff to help all our guests to relax and enjoy the hotel and the island.

The continental breakfast is a simple morning refreshment, since we do not have a restaurant yet. Once we re open our restaurant late fall or early spring 2015, we will have a full menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fire alarms going off nearly continually from 9:30 PM to 2:30 AM. I finally got up around 1 AM to complain. Was told, they are unplugging them trying to find the right one - they never did and when are they plugged back in?

Then on the day we checked out a guest was screaming at the lobby attendant ausing quite foul language. I asked him to pause while some young children passed - he threatened to punch me and the staff did nothing. Really shameful.

Pity as the beds were comfy and the re-do of the hotel was better than expected. But if one is unsafe and unable to sleep any hotel is really pointless.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. I am happy you enjoyed the newly renovated beach front hotel. After investigation on the smoke alarms that went off in the hallways was due to the humidity during those few days. It was indeed hot and humid last week. We have since, corrected the smoke alarms and upgraded them. Since then the smoke alarms have not gone off.

Regarding the guest, who had a domestic with his family. The proper authorities were called and while waiting for their arrival, the guest service manager was trying to calm the guest, but he was too emotional that only the law abiding officer were able to talk to him, I am sorry you intervention did not help the situation, but we do appreciate your assistance.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I truly enjoyed my stay here.Good location.The room was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom amenities were immaculate. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Would stay here again. Highly recommend to all!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. We just finished a total renovation of the rooms and new landscaping.
Look forward to your next visit with us.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor and feature free Wifi Internet access, mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. Other free amenities include doily Continental breakfast, doily coffee and tea service, yoga classes and Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;