We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our recent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Laie, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“our recent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Been staying at the sands every year for last five years for July 4th weekend and after seeing the disrepair of property last year we wasn't going to stay with them this year,but hilmy dole the general manager asked us to give the hotel another chance and boy we had a great experience hilmy gave us a free double upgrade and the room was beautiful ! The hotel has been upgrading and it shows the place is looking good again from the exterior of buildings to the landscaping to the rooms,and as always very friendly staff ,thank you Mr hilmy dole we look forward again to our annual trip to your hotel and look forward next year to seeing how it looks! Thank you and mahalo

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for giving us another chance to showcase our hotel. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are definitely moving forward in making the hotel comfortable and beautiful with new and improved amenities.
Look forward to your continued visits with us.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    60
    42
    11
    13
See reviews for
25
75
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapaa, Hawaii, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was a big surprise. The staff was top notch, the room was clean and quiet, the coffee in the lobby was delicious Kauai coffee, and the pool area was sparkling.
The place is right on the beach but I would recommend walking south along the path to the beach next door for an even swimming experience.
You cannot beat the price. This is the best value on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha and thank you for staying at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are continually upgrading the hotel with new amenities.
Looking forward to seeing you again at our "new" Kauai Sands Hotel.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I consider myself a budget minded traveler. Super 8 is fine. This place isn't even that nice. The pool is clean-not too much chlorine. The carpet looks like 1974-chartreuse short shag. One iron that you check out from the desk and use in the laundry room. There is an ad on Kauai radio right now advertising this place for 12 bucks cheaper per night than we are paying. It is empty-yet 8 bucks per nite to park. 8 bucks per nite if you want wi fi in your room. It is quiet, and because it is older, the rooms are large. I had low expectations upon arrival, but was embarassed that I had booked this for a week.

Room Tip: we had pool view-good size room with a small patio area and a sitting area in the room-2 double beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guests. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel. We just completely renovated the exteriors of all the buildings and have begun re doing the inside, the rooms and the hallways.
We should be completing our renovation by December 2013 and hopefully you can visit us again and enjoy the new amenities and the upgraded hotel.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani, Maui
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel like the Hilton, Hyatt, Marriot, etc, this is not that kind of hotel. This is a budget hotel and if you are looking for a centralized location to get to the north or south shore, this makes a good base.
The staff here is really friendly and will help make your stay better. I have to give kudos to Ben at the front desk for helping me get fresh bath towels when room service failed to give me new towels after cleaning my room. He was also the one who checked me in, so he made a good first impression. While the hotel is dated, the room was clean. The hotel is located next to the beach and is within walking access to the Coconut Marketplace.
A couple of downsides is that the wallpaper was peeling off the wall in the hallway. Like I said, it isn't one of the fancy hotels. It looks like they are in the process of renovating. Another thing was the bathroom had this weird musty smell and the shower had this high pitch whistle when turned on. I noticed that the room next to me had that same whistle. Parking is also $8 a day.
Overall, if you can look past the downsides this is a good place to stay if you are looking for somewhere to sleep. I would stay at the Kauai Sands on a future visit to check out more of Kauai.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha and thank you for staying at the Kauai Sands Hotel. Indeed we are striving for a 3 star rating upon the completion of the renovation. My apologies for the a few areas that needed attention. These areas will be corrected during our renovations.
We hope to complete the renovation by December 2013 and hopefully you will visit us again and see the transformation.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My first visit at the Kauai Sands was terrific. The beach and location are top notch. The staff (front desk, housekeeping, maintenance) were professional, helpful and friendly. The room was great and most importantly, the price was right. I plan to stay at the Sands again as I am often on Kauai for a few days for business. Great value, great price, good room, great staff and location. Mahalo! Amy E

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Your continued visits to the hotel is much appreciated. We strive hard in service and products for our guests to enjoy.
We will definitely have a "new" hotel within the next 6 months. On your next visit we will have added amenities for all our guests to enjoy.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights and it was a good experience. The room was clean despite a few small issues we noticed but it served its purpose. The only complaint is the $8/day parking fee. This is something that they don't tell you until you arrive. Their pool was clean and it's right on the water. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Aloha and I am happy to hear that all of you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continually upgrading our facilities and hoping to have a "new" hotel by the end of fall.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We requested a kitchenette, and at check in we were told they do not have any available for remodeling. We ended up with just a room cooler no microwave. My traveling companion is a diabetic and he has to have that handy. the cooler helped. The room itself was very dull and the beds just ok. Nothing that would bring me back. Although my son who traveled with us, enjoyed spending time at the beach. Close to the markets, and shopping within walking distance. Maybe a weekend trip would be ok, we stayed here three days and that was too long. They did have a good size lobby for the breakfast and such.It is near the Sleeping giant trail that my son hiked. Not a bad hotel, just need to upgrade a bit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guests. I am happy that your family enjoyed the beach and the activities around the hotel.
We are almost done with the renovation of the exterior of the buildings. The last of the buildings, where the Junior suites were completed on 6/13/13, I am sorry we did not have a junior suite during your stay here.
On your next visit we will have the junior suites ready and you are welcome to enjoy the new amenities.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor and feature free Wifi Internet access, mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. Other free amenities include doily Continental breakfast, doily coffee and tea service, yoga classes and Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.