We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the price! Great location and right on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for the price! Great location and right on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights and it was a good experience. The room was clean despite a few small issues we noticed but it served its purpose. The only complaint is the $8/day parking fee. This is something that they don't tell you until you arrive. Their pool was clean and it's right on the water. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Aloha and I am happy to hear that all of you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continually upgrading our facilities and hoping to have a "new" hotel by the end of fall.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    60
    42
    11
    13
See reviews for
25
75
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We requested a kitchenette, and at check in we were told they do not have any available for remodeling. We ended up with just a room cooler no microwave. My traveling companion is a diabetic and he has to have that handy. the cooler helped. The room itself was very dull and the beds just ok. Nothing that would bring me back. Although my son who traveled with us, enjoyed spending time at the beach. Close to the markets, and shopping within walking distance. Maybe a weekend trip would be ok, we stayed here three days and that was too long. They did have a good size lobby for the breakfast and such.It is near the Sleeping giant trail that my son hiked. Not a bad hotel, just need to upgrade a bit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guests. I am happy that your family enjoyed the beach and the activities around the hotel.
We are almost done with the renovation of the exterior of the buildings. The last of the buildings, where the Junior suites were completed on 6/13/13, I am sorry we did not have a junior suite during your stay here.
On your next visit we will have the junior suites ready and you are welcome to enjoy the new amenities.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Understanding the value of this hotel has to be in the context of Kauai as a whole. Compared to Honolulu or Maui, Kauai has less mega-fancy hotels and more remote sleepy towns. We were a bit disappointed at first by the older look of this hotel, but it made sense after being in Kauai for a few days.

Pros:

- located ON its own private beach
- pool, air conditioning
- free continental breakfast
- on the main road near restaurants/shops
- bathroom was remodeled and super clean/nice
- staff are extra friendly and responsive (they even respond to reviews on forums like this one)

Cons:

- furniture in rooms looked like from the 1970's (though they are in the process of renovating)
- gates lock at night so you have to walk all the way across the complex sometimes after parking
- need a car to get to (though this is more a general issue with Kauai) as there ARE taxis but much fewer of them and everything is located on one really long road
- $8 charge for parking (which apparently pays for the free wifi in the lobby and breakfast, but I would rather have free parking since there's plenty of room on Kauai and this hotel has a massive parking lot)

Bottom line: Good budget hotel with direct beach access but older furnishing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking your time to write us a review. All your contents have been notated and we have taken appropriate action to correct them.
We are in the process of renovating the rooms and the interiors of the building now that we have completed the renovations in the exterior of the buildings.
We continually strive to provide the best of services and complimentary amenities. We are also located on the beach and walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and to the many activities that guest enjoy.
We are trying our best to complete all our renovations by the end of the year and hope you can visit us again and enjoy the upgrades.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Yes, it needs upgrading, and they are in the process of doing so. But, the staff here is always very friendly and helpful. It's a great value for your money, if you do not need top of the line ammenities. It's beachfront, within easy walking of shopping and some great restaurants, and close enough to many attractions. Kapa'a is centrally located on the island, and pretty much you can find all you need in this town, and other things within a minimal drive.

As of end of May 2013, they are almost done with the exterior upgrades, and in the process of making a final decison on the interior upgrades, to be completed later this summer.

If you like sushi, this is just a couple blocks away from Kintaro, and I had some really excellent ahi sashimi there.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms here are quieter. Rooms overlooking the parking area can be noisy in the early morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking time to write an excellent review of the hotel and the renovations. Yes, all of us are eagerly awaiting the completing of the renovation and showcase a great product for all guests to enjoy.
Look forward to your visit and hopefully you can enjoy all the new amenities. soon.,
Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is good value for money, it is cheap but clean. The pool is clean and is in a lovely beachfront location.
The carpets are old, not broken, just old and the rooms are fine too. When you are paying this sort of price, don't expect 5 star, beacuse it isn't. It's just basic.
The staff were friendly. There was a free donoughts, pastries and fruit breakfast. Free Wifi in the lobby.
Security guards roamed the premises, which was a nice feeling.
There were renovations being done when we were here, so it would be interesting to see what the hotel is like, once they are completed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. We are trying to achieve a three star, however, we try our best to provide the services of a 5 star hotel. We pride on our services; friendly and caring staff. We have completed the renovations on the exteriors of the building and have begun the interiors of the building. On completion of all our renovations we will deliver a complete package of new upgrades and amenities to all our guests.
Hope to see you again at the hotel.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

You get what you pay for. The rooms here are clean, and mine had a new mattress (old boxspring) and new linens, and the carpet seemed new, but the louvered windows didn't seal well, and the window air conditioner was loud. The hallway was dark, and had ancient carpeting from when the island first emerged from the pacific. The staff was friendly. Parking is an additional $8. The beach is nice, but dirty. Free lounge chairs on beach. If you just need a clean cheap place to sleep and shower, and will spend most of your time elsewhere on the island, and you don't care too much about this stuff, then this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. We are in the process of upgrading the rooms and the hallways. We have completed the renovations of the exteriors of the buildings. Since we trimmed the ironwood trees on the beach, the beach has been cleaner and we do clean the beach 2 to 3 times a week. In addition we have lounge chairs placed on the beach for all our guests to relax and enjoy the sunrise and ocean activities.
Please visit us again and enjoy the upgrades of the hotel and the new amenities.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I'm surprise by some of the negative reviews of this place. I had read the reviews of this place before making a reservation and I understood it was a hotel that was no frills and could use a renovation. Thus, I decided it was OK with me because it was less expensive than my other options.

Overall, I was very happy with my stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and I had maid service every day. For breakfast they served donuts, croissants, bananas, coffee, and juice. I liked that it was located right on the beach. Although it's not the best beach for swimming I was OK with it. There are so many beaches a car ride away if

The location was perfect for me. A walk away from Coconut Market Place and Kinipopo Shopping Village. Because I drove all day sight seeing or going on activities, it was nice to be able to just walk somewhere for dinner and do a little souvenir shopping. It's also equidistance to the north and south towns. This was great because I did take a few trips up north and a few trips down south.

If you're used to staying at 5 star hotels and want to be able to swim on the beach right outside your room, then maybe this isn't the place for you. If you're used to views like you get in Princeville or Poipu then you might be disappointed. I'm from New York, so the location of this hotel was paradise to me. If you want nicer views and a nicer hotel then expect to pay more elsewhere.

It surprises me that people would complain about it being an old, budget hotel when the reviews already warns people about it. Also, if you're in Hawaii why are you complaining? :)

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, you can always change it if they have anything else available. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Aloha and thank you very much for an excellent review. We began our renovation last year in September and have come along way in completing the exteriors of all the buildings. In the next few months we will re do all our rooms, hallways, landscaping etc...We should have a "new" hotel by December.
Yes, we are located in the middle of the island and all the activities. It's very convenient and it is located right on the beach. A great location.
Look forward to your visits again.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor and feature free Wifi Internet access, mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. Other free amenities include doily Continental breakfast, doily coffee and tea service, yoga classes and Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;