We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are into granite and upgrades this is not your hotel. If you are into great location and value for your dollar this is y” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Sands Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kauai Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kauai Sands Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you are into granite and upgrades this is not your hotel. If you are into great location and value for your dollar this is y”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Basically this hotel is going thru a renovation. It is well priced for what you get. The pool and ocean location is excellent. The rooms need new flooring but are well cleaned daily. The pool area is nice and the new owners are doing some exterior work now to spruce the place up. The staff is wonderful. The pool view unit is great. There is a weird odor to this place sort of like your grandpa but location in kapaa is great. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again once they update the rooms just slightly inside.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Sands Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are definitely renovating the inside of the buildings and the rooms this year. We will be completing the exterior of the buildings by the end of May and continue the interior.

It is indeed a great location and it is on the beach. Please visit us again soon and enjoy the new amenities at the hotel.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    54
    39
    10
    13
See reviews for
22
70
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel we found on Hotwire and we stayed here April 15th, 2013. The price was ok but not worth $100. When we got there, the blue shag carpet, which usually I can dig and usually love old surroundings was again NO BUENO! It was loud, they put us next to the parking lot, it looked like when we went out the next morning that they were remodeling the place but this place really sucked. It could be really cool but it wasn't. The beds were hard as rocks and all the noise from the outside came in. The glass slat windows didn't do anything for noise protection. I generally am NOT picky at all and just need a place to rest my head, but this place really sucked. Sorry Kauai Sands, I wish I could say differently.

Room Tip: If I could I would get a room near the water and away from the parking lots but if a Tsunami comes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking time to fill out our survey. I am sorry you did not like the hotel. We are in the process of completely renovating the hotel and hopefully you can visit us and enjoy the new amenities and upgrades.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at Kauai Sands Hotel April 1st, 2nd, and 3rd of this year with three friends in two rooms. We truly enjoyed our stay!
We were surprised by the outdated decor and terquoise shag carpets in the rooms. At first we joked about it. The ladies at the front desk apologized, and said that the hotel was in the process of being remodeled. I could tell that they really cared and worked with what they had. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. The price was low and the location was perfect. Right on the beach and near shopping and restaurants. I was surprised that the remodeling was so quiet! The construction crew were very respectful and unobtrusive to our stay.
One day the ladies at the front desk recommended that we watch the sunrise, so the next morning we set our alarms, got coffee and watched the sunrise right on the beach of our hotel. We even saw humpback whales out in the ocean. You really can't judge a book by it's cover. can't wait to see the finished product!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guests. I am happy to hear that all three of you enjoyed your stay with us.
We try our best to make our guests feel at home. Our greatest asset is our friendly and caring staff. All of our guests and staff are anxiously awaiting the completion of the renovation and to enjoy the final product. We are hoping to complete the total renovation by the end of Fall 2013 and at that time there will be more amenities for our guests to enjoy.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Two out of the three wings were being rebuilt. The lobby was awful. The beds were hard. There was only luke warm water in the shower. The swimming pool was tiny. The beach was littered with rocks and sticks. The waves were micro. The parking was hard to get out of.

Room Tip: Don't go to this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us. Our team members remember you visiting the lobby on several occations and spending time in the lobby.
Indeed, we are trying our best to get the whole hotel repaired/renovated in a short amount of time and during this period we offered many discounts and specials that you and most of the guests have enjoyed. We should be done with the renovation of the exterior building by mid May. We will begin our interior renovations during the slow season and be ready by the end of Fall 2013.
The public beach is one of the best beaches we have in Kapaa. On many occasions the surf is very good. It's still a safe beach to swim and snorket. We take pride on the beach fronting our hotel and for the guests comfort we do clean the beach 3 to 4 times a week and have also trimmed the ironwood trees to lessen the falling of pine combs and needles. We have provided lounge chairs on the beach and on the lawn for guests to enjoy the sunrise and get togethers.

Hopefully, when you visit us when the whole hotel is renovated, you would be able to enjoy the added amenities.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned from a 4 nite stay at the Kauai Sands. My 6 or 7th stay in last few years. The renovations are awsome. Everything is so clean. New paint, Trimmed trees ( specktacular view from the ocean front delux rooms. Awsome !! As usual, freindly, helpful, dilligent staff. Loved the new coffee area in the lobby. The pool was spotless, and perfect temp. Loved listening to the frogs and the ocean during the night. Slept like a rock. Love, love, love, the Kauai Sands. See ya next time !!

Mahalo !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here and have been a frequent visitor to Kauai and the Kauai Sands Hotel.
On your next visit you will find more improvements and added amenities for you and the guests to enjoy.
Look forward to your visit with us again.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Kauai Sands for 7 nights in late March. We chose this hotel because of its central location, low price, and the promise of cleanliness. For the most part, it satisfied our needs, but we did encounter a few problems during our stay.

After reading through several reviews, we were under the impression that parking would be free (in fact this caused us to choose Kauai Sands over other options). When we arrived, we were informed that there would be a charge of $8 per night to park at the hotel. Apparently, this is a new policy enacted at the start of this year. Our parking woes didn't end with the cost and we were quite disappointed with the parking arrangements. The spots were incredibly small and oddly angled along a narrow driveway. Parking was quite a chore every time we returned to the hotel. To make matters even worse, the lot became flooded after evening rain and we got wet feet while trying to reach our car in the morning.

The room bathroom caused us further frustration. They only provided us with one roll of toilet paper at a time and there wasn't any extra paper available in the room. When the room was cleaned during the day, the toilet paper was not replaced, so we ended up running out twice.

The shower had some issues as well. The shower head was very low and I had to duck to get under the water stream. We also ran out of hot water while showering in the evening. We even found some sort of mold growing on the ceiling above the shower.

Despite the above, there were still some positive aspects about the hotel. The front desk staff were very nice and informative. The pool was clean (although unheated) and was open from 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM every day. The location of the hotel was nice and its central position afforded us relatively quick access to the rest of the island.

The hotel felt rather dated at times with dim light fixtures and old carpet. Still, the room was clean and the temperatures were comfortable. If you end up staying here, it will help to know that the nearby Safeway is open 24 hours. If you want a hairdryer, you can check one out at the front desk. There were no microwaves in the room, but there were two available by the front desk.

I would probably not choose to stay here again. The price was only marginally better than comparable locations, and the added fee for parking undid any price benefits. If you can find a different place that is equally affordable, I would pursue that option first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. Ours was in the back facing an adjacent property. This offered no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was marginal. We strive hard to make every guests' stay cmfortable and enjoyable.
As you noticed during your stay, we were renovating the exterior of our buildings and we hope to begin the interior beautification in a few months. We should have a new hotel by the end of Fall 2013. Hopefully, you can visit us again to enjoy the new amenities and the hotel.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall it's a fine place to stay; courteous staff, clean, centrally located, nice pool, towel service, etc.

A couple things I would have wanted to know before arriving to share.

- Its an extremely bare bones, no frills hotel.

- Hotel is currently undergoing renovations, no noise ramifications, just aesthetically it looks a bit like a construction site..

- 8$ a day parking fee-- it Kauai NO ONE charges for parking so it's a little ridiculous that this hotel does, especially in light of the renovations going on. It would have been nice of them to comp parking as an 'excuse our mess' client service move.

- no swimming from the beach on the hotel grounds due to currents

- Carpets in the rooms are a bit dated, turquoise shag carpet

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. We advertise the lowest rates in Wailua/Kapaa due to the exterior renovations. We try our very best to minimize the noise and not create a construction zone atmosphere. We should be completing our exterior renovations by the middle of next month. We will then begin our interior beautification and hope to have a completely renovated hotel by the end of Fall 2013.

The $8.00 covers a few complimentary services the hotel offers. The parking, coffee and tea service, business center and WiFi in the lobby.

Please visit us again and enjoy the new amenities and the hotel.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Sands Hotel

Also Known As:
Kauai Sands
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Sands Hotel Kapaa
Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kauai Sands Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy affordable oceanfront accommodations at this quiet hotel situated on a secluded strolling beach on Kauai’s Royal Coconut Coast. Discover an array of popular attractions just minutes away, including Wailua River, Wailua Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kapaa town. This quaint hotel features 6 acres of lush lawns and tropical gardens and two outdoor swimming pools. Comfortable accommodations include island-style décor and feature WiFi Internet access ($), mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kauai Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.