We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent location, older hotel under new ownership” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Sandy, UT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent location, older hotel under new ownership”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

When our bed and breakfast fell through we found ourselves in Kauai without a hotel. We felt lucky to find the Kauai Sands. The price was right and we got a room in the first floor on one end of the newly painted building facing the pool. The beautiful beach is 150 yard away. This is not swimming beach, but a great place to enjoy the sunrise and sunset. The staff is friendly and helpful. the rooms are showing some wear but spotless. The room are is nice size with 2 double beds. The bathroom is smaller and the sink area is tiny and there is no blow dryer. The air conditioner was ancient and looked iffy on working. We never needed to use it as the weather was perfect. The location more than made up for any lack in the rooms. They are in the middle of a remodel and there was construction noise during the day. It wasn't convenient to have to go to the lobby for wifi but who wants to spend their time in Hawaii online. All in all I felt like it was a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guests. I am glad you were able to stay and enjoy the facilites while some of the buildings are undergoing a new look. By the end of Fall 2013 we should have a new hotel with upgraded amenities and newer facilities. Hope you can visit us again and enjoy our new hotel.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    42
    11
    13
See reviews for
25
75
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Overall great location! After the first night of sleeping on the rock that they called a bed it had me thinking time to switch hotels......lucky for me, my girlfriend came up with the idea of a foam matress pad....30 minutes later after a quick trip to Big K and $25 the bed was fixed! Well worth the investment...unless you can sleep on a rock.

We spent most of our time out and about so this hotel was perfect for us. The staff was very nice and exuded the aloha spirit. For the price it really couldn't be beat. There were several dead roaches found on the floor, but it's expected in Hawaii, invest in a can of lemon fresh Raid like we did and form a barrier around your room and you'll be good! ;-)

One helpful hint is if you want the internet and you are staying for more than a few days sign up for a month for $20 instead of the $9 per day rate....wish we would've known this sooner than our last few days there.

Again, overall this hotel was good for our stay, not a resort by any means....but who goes to Kauai to stay at the hotel for the entire trip??

Room Tip: See review for internet tip! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guests. We are presently replacing all the pillows and king mattress and we should be completing our renovation by the end of Fall this year. Again, I am sorry about the unwelcome visitors, the housekeeping manager is aware and have taken corrective actions.
Please visit us again soon and experienc the new amenities and the new facilties.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is an excellent value with friendly staff. It is clean, but basic.

It has a nice pool, and is directly on the beach. Note: the sand is coarse and swimming in this beach is unadvised, but it was winter and we watched whales from the beach chairs while we watched the sun rise over the ocean.

The property was undergoing renovation (March 2013) and our furnishings were not exactly new, but the bed was good. Quite firm, not soft beds!

You had to wait some time for the tap to produce hot water. (2-4 minutes with the shower running) It was a waste of water, and frustrating. My only other complaint is that they use styrofoam cups for the coffee in the lobby.

We used this hotel for a shower and bed, and got excellent value for that. We stayed here for our first four days while we explored and took tours, and splurged on a resort for our last three. This hotel worked out beautifully for our plans. If you want luxury and amenities full time (less travel/more vacation) then this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, it's a great location and convenient hotel for all the travellers. We are continually upgrading and renovating the hotel which will be complete by the Fall of 2013.
We will be replacing the styrofoam coffee cups to paper as this was the second request and we do appreciate the comments on the review.
Please visit us again soon and enjoy the new amenities and the hotel.
Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Kauai Sands,We love the fact that it is smaller property, you cant beat the location and the staff are really friendly! Its an older hotel but is always clean!
We would defiantely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guests. Yes, we do pride on our services and friendliness of our staff to make our guests' stay enjoyable and relaxing.
Like the servcies, we are also renovating the hotel to add more upgrades and amenities.
On your next visit, hope you can experience both the hotel and the services.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at Kauai Sands for 4 nights in February of 2013. The rooms are very basic. It is not fancy, but the rooms are clean. Everyday when I returned to my room it was spotless. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job. There is free wi-fi in the lobby which is spacious and clean. In the lobby they have free coffee every morning and the TV is always on. Each room has a mini refrigerator but if you want to microwave something, you will need to walk over to the lobby, where there are two of them. It is explained in their handout that water and electrical rates on the island are extremely high. The hotel is located next door to the Coconut Marketplace which has restaurants, shops, and a Whalers General Store for anything else you might need. Also at the Coconut Marketplace is a bus stop and for $2 the bus will take you all the way to Honalei. The hotel is also close to a taqueria, a Korean BBQ restaurant, and a pizza joint. And if you don't mind a hike, there is a Safeway and many other stores and restaurants a few blocks north on the highway. Like I said, it's not the most fancy place on the island, but it is clean and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for being our guests and the great comments of our hotel and the surrounding hotels and stores. Yes, we are centrally located and close to everything that a guest would like to have and they are all a walking distance away.

We are also blessed with great employees that service the hotel and guests. We continually raise the bar in cleanliness and comfort. By Fall 2013, we should have a fully renovated/upgraded hotel for all the guests to enjoy and relax here on vacation, business and relaxation.
Look forward to seeing you all again.
Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Awesome staff! Clarrissa, Angela, and Lorri were so helpful and friendly:) They made my birthday an experience that I will never forget! We love Kauai Sands so much that... we have already made reservations again in Aug.:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks again for the great comments. The employees that you mentioned appreciated your comments.
Looking forward to seeing you all in August.
Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My fiance and I where just in Kauai in the middle of February for her birthday, After searching hotels through out the Island , we decided on Kauai Sands, We had read many reviews and decided that because we were going to be enjoying the Island we just needed a comfortable place to sleep and relaxe. Kauai Sands is exactly that right on the beach (seals included) this little hotel has been here for a long time and has gone thru a tsunami and is still in my opinion a great hotel, the staff that helped us Claresa , Angela and Lorri were great always read to help and the grounds crew and others always very friendly and helpful. Parking could be better however it was just fine.

The room was just fine a little dated however very clean and rooming (the hotel is under new ownership and is slowing being up graded where needed) beds very comfortable , a little mini fridge , coffee pot if ya needed one just ask :) . We are going back in August and made reservation the day we left to stay at Kauai Sands again, as for pricing in my opinion it was the best value for the type of hotel was perfect, lobby with internet and coffee and plenty of room to just chillaxe :) pool clean and easy access right from room beach as well very clean , So when your Island bound stay at Kauai Sands , Mahalo and Aloha .

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottlom floor and south side near west end for the most part the noise was not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for being our guest. I am glad you enjoyed the birthday celeberations at the hotel. Indeed, we are blessed with great employees that makes it special. We are continually upgrading and renovating the hotel. We do our very best to service our guests and I do appreciate you recognizing them.
Please visit us again on your next trip to Kauai.
Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy newly renovated accommodations at this beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. Discover on array of popular nearby attractions including snorkeling and stand up paddle boarding, Woiluo River kayaking, Woiluo Golf Course, Coconut Marketplace Shopping Center and historic Kopoo town. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools with barbeque grills. Contemporary accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor and feature free Wifi Internet access, mini-refrigerators, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. Other free amenities include doily Continental breakfast, doily coffee and tea service, yoga classes and Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores, An Aqua Hotel Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.