We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the end of the day one cannot find a more peaceful and beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Jungle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboo Jungle House
Save
You added Bamboo Jungle House to your Saves list
3829 Waha Rd., P.O. Box 737, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Kalaheo B&B and Inns
Victor, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“At the end of the day one cannot find a more peaceful and beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

The hospitality of the owner was enchanting... Terry enjoyed sharing stories of the island's history and culture giving us more personal connection with the island...
Our morning breakfast was a delicious variety of home cooked foods and local fruits... the portions are modest and not that of a breakfast buffet...
If your looking for a high end touristy place to stay, this is not the place for you...BUT, if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing place with good conversation and food, the Bamboo Jungle House should be at the top of your list of possibilities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    21
    3
    11
    2
See reviews for
4
105
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

This is one of those places that is more than it should be. Snuggled away in a suburban residential area, this is an elegant, professionally run establishment. Our room was excellently appointed and the common room upstairs, where breakfast is served, provides a wealth of information about the island, as well as numerous little knick-knacks to purchase - all discretely displayed. The decor is exactly in keeping with the design of the house and overall the effect is very inviting.

The family breakfast approach is just different to some of the other B&B's where a buffet is put out and you have an hour or so to come for breakfast. Terry likes to serve at 08:00 and provides a delicious meal including a fruit plate to start and a delicious main plate. You do feel obliged to attend at 8:00 and are asked to notify if you will not be having breakfast, but this system reduces waste.

Speaking of the environment, this facility uses solar for heating water and half the property is off the electric grid, so there is a genuine environmental statement here. I would recommend that more be made of this when promoting the facility.

It was unfortunate that Lucy was away during our visit, but Terry held the fort with aplomb. You don't have the incredible views we had at a couple of other B&B's on our Hawaii trip, but without a doubt, this was the best run and maintained. Terry's professional background in the hospitality industry really shows...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

A wonderful quiet place (only three guest rooms!). It is perfect, if you don´t want to be in the crowds of Poipu!
Our room was very romantic, we had a spacious private lanai, looking into the lush garden, enough closet space and private bathroom. Ear plugs are kept ready, in case the roosters from the neighborhood disturb you early in the morning. If the guests next door would be noisy, they would be helpful as well, because old plantation houses are traditionally poorly soundproofed. But we were lucky with our neighbors.
In the very spacious, sunny breakfast-/livingroom there is a fridge and microwave, which can be used, but there are no other cooking or laundry facilities. It is an about 15/20 minutes´ drive to the beautiful beaches of the south coast. But there is also a swimmingpool and a hot tub with a little waterfall ; very romantic.

In the morning Lucy & Terry are a perfect team: Terry is preparing a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit, fresh made banana and nut bread (Yummie), vegetable omelette - in five days we never had the same..., while Lucy is not only serving the delicious breakfast, but a most charming, friendly and caring host, never getting tired to answer all our questions about the island, history, special places to go etc...

Mahalo Lucy & Terry

Annalena & Jörn

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Bamboo Jungle House. Our room had everything we needed, and was very nicely decorated. The location was very convenient to Poipu (where we ate a number of times) and other great locations on the southern side of the island. Lucy and Terry were wonderful hosts. We stayed at a couple more B&B's on other islands after our stay at the Bamboo Jungle House, and I must say, Lucy provided the best breakfast service we had on our whole trip. Terry's food was very tasty, too! It didn't bother me, but I know some people may object to too many rules. I thought the little instruction notes were very reasonable requests and were really nothing but helpful reminders. We didn't get a chance to use the pool or relax on our lanai very much, because we were busy doing a lot of hiking! But it looked very beautiful and I would definitely return someday for a future stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

If you are looking for a calm, clean, friendly B & B, this is the place for you. Terry and Lucy will show you how to enjoy the wonders of Kauai with their words of advise and with the example of their own lifestyle.
The Bamboo Jungle House smells of the flowers of the island and whispers with the rush of the garden's waterfall. Terry prepares the perfect breakfast of fresh fruits and a variety of favorite breakfast dishes to get you started for each day's adventures. Besides giving their own recommendations of hikes, Terry and Lucy will share their useful guide books to help you map out your day.
The aspect that made this B & B perfect for us was the fact that it was so peaceful and respectful of each person's personal space. At the Bamboo Jungle House you can escape the rush and bustle of a large resort and instead find a restful and harmonious home away from home.
I look foward to returning here and I recommend it to any couple looking for an oasis of calm in paradise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Terry and Lucy were wonderful sources of information, friendly, and provided a Great breakfast (home made waffles, egg dishes and fresh fruit plates). We had special diets that they accomodated beautifully. They take pride in their B&B, which is well kept, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. I loved hanging out on our private lanai and walking through their gardens. They keep a couple of barrels full of beach stuff that you can use - sunscreen, beach mats, snorkel equipment, umbrellas. (That was handy).
This was the best B&B experience we had while in Hawaii.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This place looked great on the website. But the pictures were very deceiving.The waterfall was water that ran into the hot tub, which I would call a lukewarm tub without any jets! The owners were in our room every day while we were out. Felt a bit intrusive! Terry seemed like he did not want to be bothered at all by us. He made us feel very unwelcome! Breakfast was only served at 8am. We were told to sign a piece of paper if we were not attending. No offer of an alternative. Not that we would have accepted, but it would have been a nice gesture. We had breakfast there the first morning. At about 7:45 my wife asked for a drink so she could take her medication Terry obliged than proceeded to put my wife's used empty glass at her breakfast setting! There was also a gentleman snoring in the room next door to us. He might as well have been in bed with us!

On a good note Terry did loan us the book Kaua'i revealed. Excellent for traveling around the island.
( By the way the check for the clothes is on the way) Thank you housekeeper for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauaigal, Owner at Bamboo Jungle House, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
We always appreciate receiving comments from guests. While it is nice to hear good things, guest’s negative comments help us to see ourselves in a new way and change those things that may not be working. With that in mind, I will address this guest's points.

This guest commented about the photos on our website being deceiving. That is the first time we have ever heard that said. Our guests frequently say our web site photos understate the B&B and have suggested that we get better pictures to reflect who we are. One of our goals for the site is to keep it up to date and completely honest and accurate so guests will not feel deceived when they arrive.

The waterfall is part of our lava rock spa pool and is not a traditional hot tub. The water that flows down the waterfall is heated by propane to 100 degree temperature. The spa pool does have Jacuzzi jets. However, we were not using the jets for a few days that week because of high winds blowing sediment into the pool. When this occurs, the jets just circulate the sediment and make it uncomfortable for anyone in the pool. It takes a couple of days for the sediment to be filtered out. We informed the guest about this situation prior to their using the spa.

Yes, we do go into guest rooms daily. We empty waste baskets, remove trash, air out the rooms and place their towels on the lanai drying racks so they will have dry towels. Depending upon the length of stay, we also change towels and bedding.

We do serve a home cooked breakfast family style each morning at 8am. Most guests really enjoy meeting each other, discussing their adventures on the island and getting recommendations for activities and restaurants. We ask that if a guest will not be there for breakfast to please leave a note in the breakfast room. That way we will not be preparing breakfast for someone who will not be there. As for the used glass on the table, the guest's wife did ask for a glass of juice to take her morning medication. Terry suggested that she take one from the place she planned to sit at for breakfast and then it would be there for her in case she wanted more juice.

Noise can always be an issue when traveling. That is why we provide each guest room with high quality ear plugs to help ensure a good night's sleep. We are an old style Hawaiian Plantation home that does not have insulation like homes do on the mainland. And yes, some guests do snore. And the roosters crow as well.

We are sorry to hear that the guest had the experience that Terry did not want to be bothered. The truth is that he often moves into the background, especially at breakfast when he is cooking. At other times he can be ever so out-going and friendly. And sometimes the energy between people just does not resonate. Perhaps this was the situation between our guest and Terry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Jungle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Jungle House

Address: 3829 Waha Rd., P.O. Box 737, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaheo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Kauai's most romantic bed & breakfasts.  Enter the front gate of this comfortable plantation era home and be embraced by tropical gardens & waterfalls.  Three sparkling clean tropical guest rooms with queen beds draped with romantic netting.  All have private baths & lanais, some with ocean views. The suite has kitchen & sitting area.  Swim in our pool.  Soak in our hot tub with jacuzzi.  Full breakfast daily.  Visa, MasterCard.  No smoking.  New owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboo Jungle House Hotel Kalaheo
Bamboo Jungle House Kauai/Kalaheo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Jungle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.