We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your average tourist attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Coffee Company

Kauai Coffee Company
P.O. Box 530, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
808 335-0813
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Kauai Coffee Company like an insider
Private Tour
$234*
and up
Private Tour: Kauai Sightseeing Adventure with...
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Kalaheo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Vermont, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Better than your average tourist attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was a little leery about stopping at a commercial tourist spot, but I was pleasantly pleased with its low-key, informative approach and the great variety of coffee sampling offered for free.
The self-guided tour through "the world's largest coffee maze" was fascinating and passed through groves of coffee trees at various stages of ripeness, explaining each step in growing, harvesting and processing coffee. The coffee sampling was a huge bonus and the gift shop had interesting items at good value. A great place to get your morning coffee "fix" in beautiful surroundings.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    206
    46
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This place is great! You can sample all the different types and flavors of coffee!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice Break From the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Walking through the grounds (no pun intended) is a nice, relaxing way to spend an hour or two. Snacks are available at the coffee shop/museum, along with many complimentary samples of the different coffees available.

After being to the Islands many times, the gift shops all start to look alike. I have found this little gift shop to have unique and useful items and I always enjoy shopping there.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Fun Visit for Coffee Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you love, or even just like, coffee, make sure you visit this free attraction, sample from the 15-20 different varieties of amazing coffee, take the self-guided tour, and learn how coffee is harvested, roasted and produced. We liked the coffee so much (better than Kona!) that we now have it shipped to us on a regular basis!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Poipo Espresso - Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Been here 3 times now. Great place to stop at the top of the hill. Self-tour the farms, a little info film, and yes coffee tasting. Grab a hot dog and walk around. We enjoy the dark roast coffee; Mundo & Espresso are favorites. We taste them all and make notes so we can order online when we get back home. Gift shop has a few goodies too. Very nice feeling, canyon views, friendly staff and visitors. (Tip to blockhead tourist: please don't let your kids climb all over the trees .. very disrespectful.)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Coffee Company also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Coffee Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.