We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mud buggy heaven through the valley of Jurassic Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai ATV Tours

Kauai ATV Tours
P.O. Box 800, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
1 (877) 707-7088
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$120*
and up
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Kalaheo
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All terrain vehicle tours of Kauai.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mud buggy heaven through the valley of Jurassic Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The mud buggy tour is highly recommended. My wife and 2 teen children (13 & 15) had a great time, though teens were not allowed to drive - they were passengers on the 2 seater mud buggies. We were a little nervous before the tour about getting so dirty, but the guides were great, and by the time we returned, we were actually seeking out the puddles to splash in the mud. It turned out to be really fun, with a wonderful stop at a beautiful swimming hole fed by a waterfall. We had fun jumping off rocks into the water and standing under the waterfall as well as swimming around in the refreshing water. The buggies were safe but fast enough to be really fun. It had been relatively dry for a couple of days when we did our tour so it was pretty easy to control the amount of mud splash. The guides were fun, knowledgable and funny, so overall we had a great time. Definitely bring clothes and shoes you don't mind getting dirty because they will get dirty and the mud is hard to wash off.

Very highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    51
    18
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loads of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We did this our first day in Kaui and loved it! We had great tour guides; Jerica and Tiffany. I wish it would have been wetter so we could have gotten muddier, but they can't control the weather. We went on a mud buggy and really enjoyed it. The guides were great--very knowledgable about Kaui and their job. One ATV had a flat and they quickly changed it. I would do this again in a heartbeat!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawai, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a great time. We highly recommend this activity! We'll be doing it again. We're not really country people, so the off-roading was new to us. The next time, I would like to go when there's more rain. The puddles were awesome. My wife is a very clean, woman, and she had a blast also. We also did the ziplining 2 days later. Great staff also.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Amazing views, good guides and both ATV and Ziplining were a blast. It was a great balance of safety that didnt get in the way of the fun. Highly recommended!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“at first it was a little scary to devote 1/2 a day and $300 on an ATV tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

at first it was a little scary to devote 1/2 a day and $300 on an ATV tour, but WOW.
Did it on our first morning on the island, since I figured I would be awake early anyways because of the time difference to home. The trip is fun, takes you through old sugar plantation tunnels, up through jungles to a waterfall and lunch. Eric was our tour guide, and did a great job. He had a great sense of humor and sarcasm when dealing with some of the other guests who don't listen when given specific directions. that was the only drawback....you are on a tour with maybe 12 vehicles in a line, some aren't really all that into letting the throttle out, which kind of sucks, cause then everyone behind them has to go slow. word of advice, wear old clothes you wont care about ruining... ours go so muddy, we just tossed em.
also if possible, bring your own waterproof camera to take pics. They have an employee take pics from time to time, but they sell the CD to you for $30 at the end of the trip.
you will get muddy
thanks again Eric for the awesome tour!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai ATV Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kauai ATV Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai ATV Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.