We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun track” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kukuiolono Golf Course

Kukuiolono Golf Course
854 Puu Road, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI
(808) 332-9151
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 Attractions in Kalaheo
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“fun track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

5 stars based on value and fun factor alone. Course is in fair shape with no frills. (carts are worn, no yardage markers, bunkers are hard, greens are well....green, etc)

It does not pretend to be in the same league as the resort courses on the island, and that is ok. However, if you are looking to get out and play some fun family golf in the rain (and we have gotten drenched every time we have played there), it can't be beat.

As a tourist, don't expect any warm and fuzzies from the desk staff...just give them your cash, and go hack away.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    8
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Never EVER going back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in the service was terrible! The dark haired woman at the front was raising her voice, interrupting us and putting her hand up in our faces. She was rude, unprofessional, and no help at all! We could not even get into the carts we rented and the service lady was terribly rude yelling over the microphone as we tried to let a twosome go ahead of us. We had a large group of three foursomes playing and three not playing with an infant less than a year old (which we had to pay an additional $4.00 for the baby) We tried calming her down sxplaining we are all here visiting grandpa for fathers day and we have a large group so we tried to help by allowing the two men to go ahead of us. The woman said "I have a list, you don't work here I do, so you don't tell people to go ahead of you!" My father and grandfather were completely offended when she raised her voice again and said, " everybody was talking at the same time and the old guy came over and started talking when the other old guy was talking" I said, "that is my grandfather!" "ok" she said. She did not care at all that she had offended me or my family. Once we finally started playing with our 16 player group which included small children, a man in a golf cart had stopped us before we could even finish the first hole. He told us to hurry up or pick up our balls and skip a hole. We tried to finish the hole and he kept telling us to hurry up, we are holding up everybody else. I said " we payed for clubs, carts, and 9 holes of golf. We are the last foursome and now you're telling us we are taking too long? We tried to let the guys go in front of us but the lady said no. Why would you intentionally rent me clubs for 2 children get them all excited to play and then say we are taking too long?!" We picked up our balls on the first hole a par 4 and packed up and left and never plan to go back.
How terrible a course that I played as a child, I bring my children to enjoy and this witch ruined our day! These rude people ruined our Father's Day visit with our grandfather the course is not the problem the views are beautiful but it is the ignorant, arrogant staff. The owners of this course really need to look into some basic training for the staff if they plan to keep business coming and not receive a lawsuit for discrimination. What happened to Aloha and hang loose? No excuse, this was absolutely unacceptable!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Golf in Kalaheo kukuolono”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Golfed 9 with some really nice locals Pat and Ron (If i remembered right) He actually worked at the golf course and gave Michael all the inside tips. We went back a week later and golfed again. Kauai is beautiful and the golf course was pretty amazing. The greens were fast and we were amazed when Ron putted for over 60 feet with a wedge. Its a different game in Kauai! Loved it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Barely better than working”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This course is great if you like playing on concrete. It gets water every time it rains, which isn't that much in the summer. The friendly staff must have taken the day off when I went. Seemed to be angry that the stupid tourist made them do something. The views are great, but save the $9 and take a nice walk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chino hills,ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun golf for an excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We played two rounds of golf during our recent visit. Conditions average, $9 green fee and $9 cart fee. We had 2 sets of clubs in one bag on the plane. So we rented a bag at the course for $1. Several holes that were par 4 & 5. The 2nd hole is 580 yards.
Friendly staff and as we're the locals we played with.
Enjoyed both days. The cost for 2 days of golf for both of us $56. Better than $150 or more for one person at a big name course. More money to spend on other activities and great meals.
Don't miss this hidden gem.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kukuiolono Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Kukuiolono Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kukuiolono Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.