We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Heaven in the Pacific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pomodoro - CLOSED

Pomodoro
Kaumualii Hwy, Rainbow Plaza, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
808 332 5945
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Reservations
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Italian Heaven in the Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Pomodoro is one of my favorite Italian restaurants anywhere.The service is excellent as is the food. Love it and will go back every time I go to Kauai.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    52
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, New York
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, friendly service, and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped in here for dinner after attending the Friday night art fare in Hannappe.
The service was warm and friendly, almost like being in a relatives house for dinner.
We had the Veal Pizzaiola and the prosciutto with melon. Both plates were large and delicious. The server was all smiles and was even good natured when we turned down dessert because we had pie earlier at the art walk. The Tiramisu here must be fantastic

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had not visited here in a few years- just seemed too far. Now we wonder why we didn't go back sooner. The food was delicious- their marinara sauce is outstanding. The portions are huge! We split a great Cesar salad. The lasagna and baked penne were very tasty- and we had more than enough leftovers for another meal. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. We definitely will come back the next time we are in Kauai

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the special which was homemade pasta and it was excellent. Service was great and the owner checks on you as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sooo Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We live here on Kauai and have been enjoying the food and hospitality of Pomodoro for over 20 years. We drive about 40 minutes to get there and every time we ask, "ourselves how come we don't come more often?" Most recently I had fresh pasta stuffed with mushrooms with tomato cream sauce and my wife had veal MMMmmmmm sooo good!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.