We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Italian Food, super helful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pomodoro - CLOSED

Pomodoro
Kaumualii Hwy, Rainbow Plaza, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
808 332 5945
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Reservations
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Superb Italian Food, super helful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Tim took care of us, and I mean really took care of us. My wife couldn't quite decide, so he suggested a combination; one cannelloni, one manicotti. I had the Lasagne. Our meal was superb - and then we had the Tiaramisu, Wow! Great food, great wines, and a lot of joking with Tim and other patrons. A thoroughly fun evening!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    52
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very family friendly and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The service staff was very friendly and nice. The food was fantastic. They do have a kid's menu. The pasta was freshly made and they have several sauces to chose from. The lasagna was very good as well. The deserts were just OK. I would recommend them for dinner if you're looking for something a little different. Its a little pricey for a pasta dish but still worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food on Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

OMG!!! To die for. A local favorite. Gnocci-amazing. Eggplant parm-amazing. Pasta-amazing. All home recipes all fresh. The owners wait tables and are very nice. From 1-10 its an 11!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service is highlight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Ate there with family on 6/27 and had great expectations from the reviews from TripAdvisor. Not sure what great food everyone is referencing. Even Frommers referred to home made pastas. Well the food was very average; pretty sure not home made anything. Meatballs perfectly round (that's not hand formed), smothered in plastic-y cheese. From entrees to desserts, all were mediocre. The bright spot was the friendly and prompt service. The owners even made small talk with us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The BEST Italian Restaurant on all of the Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been going to Pomodoro's since the '80s when they were first Casa D'Italiano before the Hurricane. We are from New York and know what simple, high-quality delicious Italian food tastes like. This is what you will find at Pomodoro's. Don't waste your time or money on other Italian food restaurants while you are visiting Kauai. You will not find more delicious, authentic Italian food ANYWHERE else on Kauai. Pomodoro's is simply the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.