We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Home away from home..!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Hoku

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Hoku
Save
You added Hale Hoku to your Saves list
4534 Lawai Beach Road, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Kalaheo B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Home away from home..!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Hale Hoku for our 25th wedding anniversary. We felt like we were in our home away from home. The setting was absolutely breathtaking. The Ocean roar we heard everynight and morning was a pleaseant sound to hear rather than all the hustle and bustle from our home in New York. The whole ground floor was ours to enjoy as we wished. We had complete and exclusive use of the pool in the backyard, with a beautiful backdrop of the ocean. What a perfect way to spend some quality time together. The amenities were incredible, better than some 5 star hotels we have visited in the past., the furnishings and and the linens were top notch. The ability to have a kitchen so we could enjoy a leasurely dinner at home was quite refreshing. Trying to keep cost down, eating every meal out can be very EXPENSIVE.. having the option was nice and we were able to take advantage of other opportunities and amenities on the beautiful Island of Kauai. Breakfast never tasted so good as we sat out on our porch and watching the whales go by as we ate was incredible.. I completely without reservation reccommend this beautiful home to anyone who is looking to spend quality time without going broke. The rates are very reasonable, compared to the other places and hotels we looked into.. We will be back and will tell all our friends about the wonderful time we had. A last note, Gale, the owner was very accommodating and extremely friendly and went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and special. Mahalo.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

We rented this home based on the photos and description on the internet site, www.homeaway.com. (http://www.homeaway.com/vacation rental/p151278#unitAmenities)

The owner, Gale K., was diligent in getting her money up front, way in advance, which was fine as the home looked wonderful

The pictures were great and the description enticing…all except, the pictures did not at all represent where we'd be staying. (See posted pictures we took during our stay of the "real" accomodations)

For close to $400/night we were stationed in the basement. Not a single shot of that area is on the website except for what is referred to as a "garden" bedroom - which is, in fact the master room on that level.

The lower level/basement is reminiscent of a little used second or third hand storage area. The sectional sofa is filthy. The kitchen is a galley complete with ants marching a path along the countertops each morning. There were no extra trash bags although the owner was clear (through signs posted all over the house) about emptying the trash regularly and no dishwasher detergent was available either - we purchased both.

There are lots of bugs in this home. Roaches, spiders, ants, and even scorpions. The owner even has a sign up in the home saying this is the tropics and bugs are part of the deal. We have stayed all over Hawaii and never saw anything like this place.

The "garden" bedroom featured 5 mis-matched pillows none of which seemed to have been purchased post-2000. The bed was okay as were the sheets however. Again - sleeping was dicey due to the air conditioner positioned at the head of the bed and sounded like a jet-plane. Luckily there was a ceiling fan, so we gave up on the AC.

The true gem in the deal was the location at ocean's edge and a beautiful lap pool - we did have access to those and they are aptly represented by the photos on the website. The lawn furniture is coming apart so be careful how you sit down. Also, the beach chairs are in disrepair and be careful how you sit on those too.

On Thursday evening - 6 nights into the stay - we heard noises in the upstairs area. I knocked on the door and two young men said they'd be staying there for a couple days. Having been assured by Gale, the owner, that we were to be alone during our stay, I called her. She was always instantly accessible. She didn't know anything about the upstairs residents and began berating my husband saying she could do anything with the upstairs area she wanted and he should refer to his contract - etc., not to hospitable given she said she didn't know who was upstairs.

She determined that her caretaker's husband had somehow allowed the young men access to her home and she said the young men would be leaving that same evening - her caretaker would ensure that.

The price is astronomical based on the accommodations as I described above. The website in no way represents what we have received and the treatment by the owner has been a confusing cocktail - a mixture of concern, disregard, misrepresentation and aggressive self protection.

There are so many great options to rent in Hawaii why fool with all the hassles of Hale Hokuu on 4534 Lawai Beach Road. The home is not what was advertised, the price is excessive given the physical plant and horrible hygiene and the owner tended to blame us for our expectations.

  • Liked — Pool/ocean view
  • Disliked — Not as advertised
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gkramer, Owner at Hale Hoku, responded to this review, April 16, 2008
This review is without merit. You can go to our web site and view a movie video and picture tour showing exactly what we offer. Just ask us for the web page info and we would be happy to send it to you. We would also be happy to offer you names and phone numbers of previous guests and current guests that have stayed at Hale Hoku for their opinion of my vacation rental

If you read this description, who could possible stay at this vacation rental for 10 nights without leaving and asking for a refund.
They never said a word to me, nor did they leave Hale Hoku. In my 20 years as a vacation rental owner I consider my ocean- front rental a 5 star accommodation here on the island of kauai. This is a prime facility, great location with water views from every room, your own private pool and newly decorated with air conditioning.

We have many guests that come back year after year to stay at Hale Hoku.

Hale Hoku is a must do!

Thank you
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

Hale Hoku was by far the best overall accomodations we've had in 4 trips to Kauai, especially for our family of 4 with 2 children for 12 days! We made our reservation 10 months in advance, and the owner, Gale Kramer, was good communicating at various stages leading up to the trip about deposit, and payments (our deposit was also promptly refunded the week we returned home!)
The views are to die for, the pool right on the ocean is great, A/C in the bedrooms and you can close off the hall door to the bedrooms to keep that area cool, and leave the windows/doors open in the den and kitchen areas for the ocean breeze! We slept great in the beds. The kids enjoyed the pool and watching black crabs on the lava rocks and the geikos abound, and my husband and I enjoyed having drinks watching the ocean waves a few feet away and Spouting Horn from the lounge chairs on lawn.
The private, keyed courtyard to the 1st level entrance helps provide privacy and safety. The owner was only there the last 3 days of our trip, whom we never saw unless we wanted to...we still had privacy in the back yard and pool. But, when we needed something, (couldn't get internet access for a bit) Gale responded. We also thought it was a nice touch Gale has a 'goody closet' with all the beach items you'd need: snorkel gear, beach mats, ice cooler, even straw hats. We donated our 2 boogie boards to the gear when we left! The new Cost-Co store was helpful for buying groceries and making most of our own meals, which saved money.
Add together the views, accomodations and competitive price...we'll be back and will tell others about Hale Hoku! Thanks Gale for providing your 1st level of your home for others' special vacations!
Holly Peck, Dallas TX

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Hale-Hoku.. Mrs. Gale Kramer is the ultimate
hostess. She is available if needed, otherwise, you may maintain your privacy.
The views are to "die for." We loved the scenery of the "spouting horn" (visible from
our lanai area), and the pool was throughly enjoyed by all.. Now, granted the furniture is
not brand new, such as you would find in a resort, however, for the price the
value is unsurpassed... My husband and I would highly recommend the
Hale Hoku for a great family get-away, or a relaxing retreat..
Next year we will stay longer and truly take the time to explore Kauai..
Mrs. Wormley / San Diego, California

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2006

My family stayed at Hale Hoku over Christmas vacation '05
We were thrilled with the facilities and location..the view is to die for. Yes, there are some BEAUTIFUL harmless spiders in the garden, occasional bugs and geckos...it's the tropics! The owner was very helpful, called us to make sure we arrived OK, helped us out with the (new) washer/dryer and made suggestions for restaurants, etc. The house is well-appointed, clean, has a great kitchen and was perfect for our family of 4. Nice pool and quiet, private location. Our daughter is disabled and we were able to do her treatments on the lawn chairs by the surf at sunset with humpback whales spouting in the distance...perfect! I would recommend Hale Hoku to anyone and hope to return soon.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

My wife and I spent the the first 5 days of our 10-day Kauai vacation at Hale Hoku, and couldn't have picked a better location to begin our trip. Close to all south shore activities yet completely private, we feel very fortunate to have found this beautiful home.

When we first arrived and walked out to the lanai and backyard we were amazed. The ocean came right up to the backyard, with Spouting Horn in clear view. The pool was also great, as was the landscaping surrounding the entire house and propery. The sunsets from the chairs on the sea-wall were beyond desription, as was the moon watching at night.

The house's appointments were also great with a nice kitchen, comfortable bed, 2 bathrooms, and floor to ceiling views of the ocean in every room. It was also nice that coolers, beachmats, and snorkeling gear were provided.

Gale was great to deal with. From our intial reservation to receiving our security deposit back in less than 5 days, she had great aloha spirit. We had the home to ourselves for the first 3 days, but even when Gale returned home we never knew she was there as we had complete privacy.

When we return to the paradise of Kauai we will definitely return to Hale Hoku. Mahalo nui loa Gail!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

This was the best deal ever! Our family of four (four year old included) ENJOYED the private pool (we were the only ones in it--owners didn't even use it while we were there), from which you could closely view the tourist attraction Spouting Horn. Didn't think we would use a pool but we used it every day. Relaxed in beach chairs less than 5 feet from the ocean (small drop off to lava rock barrier on which waves crash). No beach entry but you didn't need it--walk 1 minute to a small beach adjacent to property or drive 1 mile to other popular beaches. Everything is nearby. Furnishing are nice and perfect (nothing extravagant but wasn't expecting the Ritz Carlton like one of the trip advisor commentors seemed to expect) and duplex had everything you need for an extended stay (except hair dryers--no biggie). Owners live upstairs but you don't even know they are there. Two bedrooms AIR CONDITIONED (unheard of in Kauai), which came in handy as Sept was muggy at night and hot during the day with minimal trade winds. We had the luxury of leisurely awaking in the morning, we'd fix cereal/toast and drink coffee while watching the sea turtles and surf outside. Fixed sandwiches/sodas and packed them in the provided cooler and then went to the beach using provided beach towels/mats/chairs. No one had to even get ready/dressed up until dinner, where we went all out! Heavily suggest Roy's and the Beach House. Roy's was even better than the infamous Beach House!!!!! All in all, Hale Hoku made us feel like we were staying in our own, extremely private oceanfront home. If you are expecting to be waited on/maid service/extravagance then don't stay here. For the rest of us, you can't go wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Hoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hoku

Address: 4534 Lawai Beach Road, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaheo
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hale Hoku Kauai/Kalaheo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Hoku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.