We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Hoku

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Hoku
Save
You added Hale Hoku to your Saves list
4534 Lawai Beach Road, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Kalaheo B&B and Inns
Westfield, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Agreed that this location cannot be beat. Beautiful views each and every day. The owner loves her home and is quite proud of it. There are a lot of cobwebs etc., but feel that it would be difficult for the gardener to control most of that, unless he was onsite every day.However, there are some issues. Confirming the previous poster who stated that the upstairs is quite hot. The sea breeze is not enough to cool it off and the lower windows make air circulation difficult. Following owner request and Hawaiian custom we removed our shoes at the door. The floors need a good cleaning, not a damp mop as our feet were filthy. The master bathroom is sorely in need of a renovation...very 1977. We have rental homes and we have rented homes many times...this home in any other location would be average +.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gkramer, Owner at Hale Hoku, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
In Hawaii there are times that it can be warm due to either very little or no trade winds blowing. We do offer Air Conditioning in all the bedrooms.

We were changing cleaners at that time. The dirty floor problems have been rectified.

The master bathroom in my opinion is quite lovely. We have double sinks, a large walk in shower and a separate room for the toilet. The house was built and finished in 1997. I strongly disagree with their descriptions of my master bathroom.

Gale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We rented this home with another couple and loved almost every aspect of the home and location.

First the good:
1. The location, views and privacy are absolutely amazing. We spent every evening in the lounge chairs by the ocean watching the sunset and every morning watching the sunrise. It was like being in a Corona commercial.
2. Master bedroom and bathroom were huge, comfortable and the A/C was potent
3. The pool was clean, warm and perfect for lounging and enjoying the surf and views
4. Kitchen and outdoor grill were well equipped and enjoyable to use (lots of extra propane tanks)
5. Gail the owner was exceptionally responsive to meeting most of our needs.
6. Lots of nice extra's available for your day trips such as coolers, beach towels, mats, boogie boards, etc.
7. Downstairs rooms stayed cool enough to minimize need to turn on A/C.
8. 2 minute walk to a kid-friendly beach. 3 minute drive to a pretty good snorkel spot
9. Very clean inside and out.

The Not-so-Good:
1. If you have a bug phobia, I would recommend against staying here. The outside grounds are very lush and completely overgrown in our groups opinion. While it provides great privacy, we felt like Indiana Jones chopping through massive cobwebs and spiders every day. Plus the ants that are common to homes in Kauai were frequent visitors and if you go in/out frequently at dusk/night, the hordes of gnats that come inside were awful.
2. As mentioned in other reviews, there is no A/C in the main room and it must have been 90 degrees when we first checked in and was only cool enough to stay inside each morning as we opened every door and window we could find to cool it overnight (screens are on everything). The huge sky-lights certainly didn't help keep things cool either. However, the A/C in the master bedroom was outstanding but couldn't cool more than that room.
3. The kitchen knives were dull beyond comprehension. It's understandable since years of guests throwing them in the dishwasher will dull even the best set, but PLEASE spend a few dollars each year to get them sharpened.

Overall, the house is in such a fantastic location, that we would strongly consider staying here again, especially if some of its quirks are dealt with. $4,500+/week is too much money to have to battle insects on a daily basis. However, the location, pool and other amenities make it a very good vacation spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gkramer, Owner at Hale Hoku, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
I would like to thank kmanct for visiting Kauai and staying at Hale Hokuu Too and hope they return in the future.

I would like to address some of their "Not-so-Good " comments.

My gardener Wilson takes great pride in keeping our yard beautiful. Yes we are very lush and enjoy having lots of privacy. During certain times of the year when we have high humidity and no trade winds we do have active island spiders that spin their homes. They are very active and can rebuild within one day, so we have learned to share the island with our small friendly spiders. Also during this time period we can have gnats. There is nothing you can do about it. Its enviromental. Ants will come if everything is not kept spotless in the house. This can be a job. They can be attracted by cereal, sugar and even sweet fruits. We do suggest to keep any open foods in the refrigerator. We offer a sharpening stone in the knife draw to keep them all perfect. This takes just a couple of minutes to do. It is very important to me that my guests have a great time on beautiful Kauai and also enjoy Hale Hokuu Too.

When checking in the house will feel warm. We do not leave doors or windows open prior to check in. We can have frequent weather changes.

Gale
Owner of Hale Hokuu Too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We spent twelve days at Halehokuu too with my daughter, her husband, and my two grandchildren. The house wad perfect from amenities to location. It is exactly as represented by the pictures and Gale was great to work with. I cannot imagine there is a nicer house on the South Shore area of Kauai.

We typically went to one of several beaches on the island in the morning, came back to the house for lunch, and the kids went into the pool in the afternoon. My daughter and her family slept downstairs and my husband and I were upstairs. The kitchen is very well equipped and the kids built endless sand castles with the beach toys. There are plenty of beach towels. I can't think of anything we had to buy other than food.

I don't think we even used the air conditioning except in the kids room once or twice. We spent every evening on the lanai - from cocktails to nightcap.

We did Capt. Andy's Na'apali cruise (daytime) and my husband and Son-in-Law went on the Kauai Photo Tours expedition. Both of these were great! We went to the Smith's Luau which was good, but the show is kind hokey now that is a big production. We saw it years ago without the sets and lights and I think it was better. But the food was great!

I hope we can go back to Kauai and Halehokuu again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a week in Kauai after searching the internet for that very special property- condo, house, etc- that we all aspire to. Well, we found it! Hale Hoku is the completely private lower (pool, garden, and ocean) level of a beautiful home on the quiet, high-end residential, ocean front Lawai Rd that dead ends at the blow-hole attraction called Spouting Horn. There is no outside intrusion at all -- no traffic noise, no people, no commercial ventures, etc. The accommodation is roomy, immaculate, and tastefully decorated although not plush or extravagant . The amenities are complete -- AC; ceiling fans in each room; all kitchen appliances;linens and towels;hair dryer; washer and dryer; LCD TV; video player; videos; paper back books; Kauai guide books; closet full of beach and pool accessories such as boogie boards, floats, snorkels and masks, coolers, etc. The only thing we had to buy was food, laundry soap, and shampoo. In short, you feel like your in your own home- far superior to the usual hotel room or condo.

But the thing that makes this place truly special is the five-star outside -- a very large covered patio with tables and chairs, adjacent to a beautiful pool and beautiful tropical landscaping and green lawn right on the ocean maybe 30 feet away. From the patio, pool, or lawn, you have incredible ocean views of the blue Pacific, of waves crashing on the rocks in front of you, Spouting Horn spewing into the air, an occasional boat leaving the very small boat harbor just to the East, or Snowy Egrets playing in the property's lush vegetation. It really couldn't be more beautiful, private, or quiet. The other major plus of this property is its convenient location. By road, it is 0.4 miles from Spouting Horn, about 0.9 mile from the famous Beach House Restaurant and Lawai Beach (one of the best snorkeling spots on the South of Kauai, 3.3 mile to the convenient Big Save market in Koloa, etc.

After staying here, it will be very difficult to stay anywhere else on Kauai when we return. As I told the owner, Gale, this place fit us like a glove. The combination of well-appointed accomodations, incredible view, convenient location, complete privacy and quiet is hard to beat. Further, when I compared the prices of other ocean-front condos or hotel rooms, they were usually considerably more expensive.

  • Liked — Location/view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Hale Hoku for our 25th wedding anniversary. We felt like we were in our home away from home. The setting was absolutely breathtaking. The Ocean roar we heard everynight and morning was a pleaseant sound to hear rather than all the hustle and bustle from our home in New York. The whole ground floor was ours to enjoy as we wished. We had complete and exclusive use of the pool in the backyard, with a beautiful backdrop of the ocean. What a perfect way to spend some quality time together. The amenities were incredible, better than some 5 star hotels we have visited in the past., the furnishings and and the linens were top notch. The ability to have a kitchen so we could enjoy a leasurely dinner at home was quite refreshing. Trying to keep cost down, eating every meal out can be very EXPENSIVE.. having the option was nice and we were able to take advantage of other opportunities and amenities on the beautiful Island of Kauai. Breakfast never tasted so good as we sat out on our porch and watching the whales go by as we ate was incredible.. I completely without reservation reccommend this beautiful home to anyone who is looking to spend quality time without going broke. The rates are very reasonable, compared to the other places and hotels we looked into.. We will be back and will tell all our friends about the wonderful time we had. A last note, Gale, the owner was very accommodating and extremely friendly and went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and special. Mahalo.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

We rented this home based on the photos and description on the internet site, www.homeaway.com. (http://www.homeaway.com/vacation rental/p151278#unitAmenities)

The owner, Gale K., was diligent in getting her money up front, way in advance, which was fine as the home looked wonderful

The pictures were great and the description enticing…all except, the pictures did not at all represent where we'd be staying. (See posted pictures we took during our stay of the "real" accomodations)

For close to $400/night we were stationed in the basement. Not a single shot of that area is on the website except for what is referred to as a "garden" bedroom - which is, in fact the master room on that level.

The lower level/basement is reminiscent of a little used second or third hand storage area. The sectional sofa is filthy. The kitchen is a galley complete with ants marching a path along the countertops each morning. There were no extra trash bags although the owner was clear (through signs posted all over the house) about emptying the trash regularly and no dishwasher detergent was available either - we purchased both.

There are lots of bugs in this home. Roaches, spiders, ants, and even scorpions. The owner even has a sign up in the home saying this is the tropics and bugs are part of the deal. We have stayed all over Hawaii and never saw anything like this place.

The "garden" bedroom featured 5 mis-matched pillows none of which seemed to have been purchased post-2000. The bed was okay as were the sheets however. Again - sleeping was dicey due to the air conditioner positioned at the head of the bed and sounded like a jet-plane. Luckily there was a ceiling fan, so we gave up on the AC.

The true gem in the deal was the location at ocean's edge and a beautiful lap pool - we did have access to those and they are aptly represented by the photos on the website. The lawn furniture is coming apart so be careful how you sit down. Also, the beach chairs are in disrepair and be careful how you sit on those too.

On Thursday evening - 6 nights into the stay - we heard noises in the upstairs area. I knocked on the door and two young men said they'd be staying there for a couple days. Having been assured by Gale, the owner, that we were to be alone during our stay, I called her. She was always instantly accessible. She didn't know anything about the upstairs residents and began berating my husband saying she could do anything with the upstairs area she wanted and he should refer to his contract - etc., not to hospitable given she said she didn't know who was upstairs.

She determined that her caretaker's husband had somehow allowed the young men access to her home and she said the young men would be leaving that same evening - her caretaker would ensure that.

The price is astronomical based on the accommodations as I described above. The website in no way represents what we have received and the treatment by the owner has been a confusing cocktail - a mixture of concern, disregard, misrepresentation and aggressive self protection.

There are so many great options to rent in Hawaii why fool with all the hassles of Hale Hokuu on 4534 Lawai Beach Road. The home is not what was advertised, the price is excessive given the physical plant and horrible hygiene and the owner tended to blame us for our expectations.

  • Liked — Pool/ocean view
  • Disliked — Not as advertised
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gkramer, Owner at Hale Hoku, responded to this review, April 16, 2008
This review is without merit. You can go to our web site and view a movie video and picture tour showing exactly what we offer. Just ask us for the web page info and we would be happy to send it to you. We would also be happy to offer you names and phone numbers of previous guests and current guests that have stayed at Hale Hoku for their opinion of my vacation rental

If you read this description, who could possible stay at this vacation rental for 10 nights without leaving and asking for a refund.
They never said a word to me, nor did they leave Hale Hoku. In my 20 years as a vacation rental owner I consider my ocean- front rental a 5 star accommodation here on the island of kauai. This is a prime facility, great location with water views from every room, your own private pool and newly decorated with air conditioning.

We have many guests that come back year after year to stay at Hale Hoku.

Hale Hoku is a must do!

Thank you
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

Hale Hoku was by far the best overall accomodations we've had in 4 trips to Kauai, especially for our family of 4 with 2 children for 12 days! We made our reservation 10 months in advance, and the owner, Gale Kramer, was good communicating at various stages leading up to the trip about deposit, and payments (our deposit was also promptly refunded the week we returned home!)
The views are to die for, the pool right on the ocean is great, A/C in the bedrooms and you can close off the hall door to the bedrooms to keep that area cool, and leave the windows/doors open in the den and kitchen areas for the ocean breeze! We slept great in the beds. The kids enjoyed the pool and watching black crabs on the lava rocks and the geikos abound, and my husband and I enjoyed having drinks watching the ocean waves a few feet away and Spouting Horn from the lounge chairs on lawn.
The private, keyed courtyard to the 1st level entrance helps provide privacy and safety. The owner was only there the last 3 days of our trip, whom we never saw unless we wanted to...we still had privacy in the back yard and pool. But, when we needed something, (couldn't get internet access for a bit) Gale responded. We also thought it was a nice touch Gale has a 'goody closet' with all the beach items you'd need: snorkel gear, beach mats, ice cooler, even straw hats. We donated our 2 boogie boards to the gear when we left! The new Cost-Co store was helpful for buying groceries and making most of our own meals, which saved money.
Add together the views, accomodations and competitive price...we'll be back and will tell others about Hale Hoku! Thanks Gale for providing your 1st level of your home for others' special vacations!
Holly Peck, Dallas TX

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Hoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hoku

Address: 4534 Lawai Beach Road, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaheo
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hale Hoku Kauai/Kalaheo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Hoku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.