We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They must think I work here...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kalaheo Cafe & Coffee Company

Kalaheo Cafe & Coffee Company
2-2560 Kaumaualii Highway, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
(808) 332-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Kalaheo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Takeout
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“They must think I work here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews here, we went to the cafe for breakfast today. The food was average--good, but not great. However, I must be getting cranky in my old age. The place is self service including being told the right place to put your menu when you have finished ordering at the counter. Coffee is self service (good java), but no one lets you know which blend is strong or weak, you just have to hunt someone down to ask and then they act like it's an imposition. After the food came we were asked if we would like anything else; when we said yes we were told where we could fetch it for ourselves. I understand the concept of self service, but the big tip jar for a small staff that does not help you is an insulting irony.
By the way, all the windows have a sticker on them that tells you not to adjust them yourself but to call the staff to do it...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    182
    37
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Good Place for Breakfast on the way to Waimea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stopped by the Kalaheo Café on the way to the Waimea Canyon. Not a big café, but cosy and casual. My husband ordered an omelet and I ordered papaya and a bagel. The coffee was very good, as I would have expected and the food was also good. Pricing was high for a café, but not unusual for Kauai.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comforting, american contemporary food in Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Best breakfast we had in Hawaii (we were in Maui and Kauai). My wife and I are the type of folks that just want a good omelet, fresh baked goods, and fresh fruits. For breakfast, just execute the simple stuff well, nothing overly greasy (but we still love our meat), great coffee, and you can just taste 'comfort' and 'freshness'. We found this at Kalaheo cafe and coffee company.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unique Coffee Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a fabulous lunch of Ahi Tuna Wrap with avocado, and butternut squash soup, GREAT! Our friends had a club sandwich that could have fed four people, and it was also great. They had homemade coconut cake, we bought 4 slices and they are to die for. The bakery makes cinnamon knuckles, YUMMY! Wish we had more time to go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast and coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was an excellent breakfast cafe. We tried new places every day for coffee so we stopped here one day while we stayed in Poipu (15 min drive). I ordered the coffee of the day - macadamia nut - and couldn't resist a fresh fruit smooth as well (mango, pineapple, berries, etc.). We enjoyed it so much we decided to come back the next day for breakfast on our way to the Napali coast. Great breakfast place on your way to the west shore. The cinnamon french toast is amazing. It's on the pricier side for a breakfast, but it's worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalaheo Cafe & Coffee Company also viewed

 

Been to Kalaheo Cafe & Coffee Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalaheo Cafe & Coffee Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.