We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean & cosy!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale O Nanakai Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale O Nanakai Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hale O Nanakai Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3726 Nanakai Place, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Kalaheo B&B and Inns
Cagliari
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, clean & cosy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Fantastic breakfast, months have gone by since our stay in Feb 2009 but we still remember the great breakfast with a view and nice hot tub. Thanks to our excellent host Sheila. The couple from Sardinia, Italy...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
49
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Needing quality time to rest and repair from our busy work schedules, my wife and I enjoyed a delightful week's stay at Hale O Nanakai, a B & B nestled on a quiet residential street in Kalaheo with expansive views of the Pacific. Refreshed daily by the Trade Winds, our accommodation, which included a simple but nourishing breakfast, was clean and comfortable in all respects. In addition to a TV and Internet access, the amenities consisted of guest use of a hot tub, beach chairs and towels, coolers, snorkeling equipment, as well as backpacks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

A great place to stay on the islands; the view from the lanai alone is worth the visit! The accommodations were comfortable, clean and well-appointed, and the tasty breakfasts were provided in true island style. The best part however was the advice and insights about the island provided by our kind hosts -- the best beaches, best hikes through Waimea Canyon, the best places for local food, etc. If your plan is to avoid the crowds and tourist haunts and see the real Kaua'i, this is the place to go.

Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We had a great time in Kauai and this B&B was one of the reasons. Sheila was a great host and gave us some great tips on where to go hiking, snorkeling, etc, on a daily basis. It was a very relaxing place - hot tub at sunrise was the best! enjoy

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

After much research, we stayed at Hale O Nanakai on our second trip to Kauai. We enjoyed the beautifully decorated room (Kahili Suite) including the comfortable king size bed, plush towels and personal toiletries. Sheila also had beach towels, mats, coolers and other items available for our time exploring the island.

Sheila is a gracious hostess and very knowledgeable of Kauai. It’s obvious she loves what she does as well as sharing her experiences with others. Her recommendations on activities and dining were helpful and much appreciated. We like to explore and the beach and hiking suggestions were all that Sheila said they’d be and more.

The breakfasts were a nice variety of cereals, fruits, bagels/breads, cheese, juices, tea and coffee. It was tastefully served each morning in the main dining area overlooking the ocean in the distance. We enjoyed meeting other guests and talking with Sheila during this time.

We had the opportunity to view each of the other rooms and they were also neat, clean and nicely decorated.

Though located in a residential area, it is quiet and the views of the ocean are beautiful. One of our favorite things to do was to sit in the small hot tub on the deck and gaze at the stars before retiring each night.

We highly recommend Hale O’Nanakai and plan to stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I spent a week at the lovely Hale O Nanakai B & B. I found this to be a great location for visiting different areas of the island and also just a very relaxing and lovely place to stay. The home is beautifully decorated with Asian & Hawaiian decor, quiet, and very clean. A big continental breakfast is served in the dining/living area which has huge windows with a territorial view looking out to the ocean in the distance. There's also a nice large deck, hot tub, and all the gear you need for the beach (mats, coolers, snorkel gear). Sheila is a gracious hostess, friendly and helpful in suggesting places to visit which helped make my stay both comfortable and memorable. I also found the location of Hale O Nanakai in a small Hawaiian town (rather than a busy resort area) to be another big plus. There is a good collection of books on Hawaii. Great value, great place!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Upon initial arrival, we were immediately impressed with the use of space and the quality of furnishings. The rooms were perfectly clean, and the layout of rooms worked very well for our group of 3 couples. There are a few very important things we always require for a pleasant stay - cleanliness, comfortable and firm beds, good showers, open space, and location - and every one of these conditions were exceptionally satisfied. The breakfasts were prepared with an abundance of fresh friuit and served in a spacious area overlooking the ocean. We were able to travel to the hiking in Waimea Canyon, and the beaches in the Poipu area, with ease - in this most convenient location to both. One of most memorable and impressive experience of our visit occurred on our last day - we had planned a hike during the day prior to our early evening departure. Sheila was very accomodating in allowing us to store our luggage. We had not fully packed before hiking. We miscalculated the time to complete the hike - and were in jeopardy of missing our flight. Sheila had called us out of concern - had packed our bags securely - and offered us assistance should we miss our flight. This was an amazing act of kindness - and not so common. This was the overall impression we were left with - and will never forget the warmth and comfort we experienced during our stay. This is a place we would most definitely return to.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale O Nanakai Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale O Nanakai Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3726 Nanakai Place, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kalaheo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Hawaiian Chalet overlooking the ocean and Kauai's South Shore. Rent entire house for parties of 5 people ($300- $350 per night) or Individual rooms, such as Laka's Garden (2 room apt. With Queen bed, sofa bed and full kitchen starting from $175 night; or rooms in the upstairs traditional B&B with Continental Breakfast: Kahili Master Suite (King size Select Comfort Sleep Number bed, private entrance and bath $145 per night; Hina's Bed Chamber (double bed, shares bath) $120 per night; Maile Room (single bed, shares bath) $85 per night Bath robes, slippers, beach towels, free WiFi, HDTV, phone, free parking beach gear, coolers, day packs and rain gear available. Cleaning fee and taxes additional. Check for seasonal discounts and offers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale O Nanakai Bed And Breakfast Kauai/Kalaheo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale O Nanakai Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.