We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most western bookstore in the USA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talk Story Bookstore

Talk Story Bookstore
3785 Hanapepe Road, PO Box 770, Hanapepe, Kauai, HI 96716
(808) 335 - 6469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Hanapepe
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Most western bookstore in the USA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well stocked with vintage books and plenty of books about Hawaii. The owners love cats which lounge around the store.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dundee
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Amazing find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Fantastic old fashioned bookstore in a remote place. Very varied selection of books and you could not find more helpful staff, there was a buzz about the place which I have not seen shopping for a long time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

This little bookstore with a wide ranging selection takes you back in time to the days when we could actually enjoy browsing for a book in an actual store-what a concept! Take time browsing: there are treasures to be found. And, the staff is very helpful and courteous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A real, old fashioned bookstore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Ed and his wife have a great collection of used books and may have the only surviving book store on the island. Everything is carefully displayed, but you may have to ask them to help find things. The store is comfortable, friendly, and a great place to browse.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Large selection & friendly staff -- a great place to browse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is such a cute little bookstore. We stopped in on Friday night during the Hanapepe Art Festival. There was an author on site discussing one of her books. I especially liked how within a genre (for me, Mystery) they separate male and female authors. Also, calling my favorite genre "blood-curdling" I loved! The wide selection has new and used books and reasonable prices. A great place to browse! Be sure to say hi to the cat, Celeste.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talk Story Bookstore also viewed

 

Been to Talk Story Bookstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talk Story Bookstore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.