We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once isn't enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mele's Kusina - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mele's Kusina
3864 Hanapepe Rd, Hanapepe, Kauai, HI 96716
808-651-0778
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“once isn't enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

we made another trip to Hanapepe just to eat at Mele's truck again, it was that good. her BBQ pork is mouth-gasmically delicious, and any of the fresh fish dishes are also terrific! love her plate lunch choices of sides -- edamame, green salad, a seriously awesome potato salad, and of course rice. her menu is pretty extensive, considering it's a truck, and the prices are super fair.
the fried ice cream lives up to the hype -- perfectly done. the ultra-friendly Mele says she perfected it for the neighbourhood kids who were always saying "Auntie Mele, make us something!"
she's open late on Friday Art Nights but otherwise it's lunch only. and totally worth the drive if you're staying on the South Shore.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I stopped here while checking out the swinging bridge in hanapepe. We grabbed some shave ice (so-so, but refreshing on a hot day!), and the fish taco meal to share. The fish tacos were excellent! The fish was flaky and moist. There was a bit of heat in the sauce in the tortillas, and the lettuce was crispy and fresh. A great snack (shared) or meal (solo-ed) - which ever you prefer. The meal is served with corn and edamame, tortilla strips and salsa, and 2 fish tacos in corn tortillas.
The food truck has many other offerings, but most folks were getting the fish tacos, that I could tell. Worth stopping by to try it out!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“the best food wagon on Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Mele cooks up one heck of a meal. I like the Thai shrimp, it's mmm mmm good. Mele is full of aloha and her food is ono. Check her out in Hanapepe on Friday nights at the art walk and most days she is there for lunch. She is a steward of the land and takes care of Mama Kauai!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is our second visit to Kaua'i and both times we ate at Mele's and we love it.
I had the Kulua pork and my husband had the moco loco. I can't believe someone complained about not having a place to sit, did you look around when you got there did it look like a sit down diner? We will bring our friends back when we come back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central cove
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Lunch wagon dining at its finest, Fish tacos and roast pork plate, Friday night Art fair, very good food, unique flavors and good value. Do not be put off by the fact that the food comes out of a big white van, it is Good Stuff!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mele's Kusina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mele's Kusina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.