We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a place to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanamaulu Restaurant Teahouse & Aras Sushi Bar - CLOSED

Hanamaulu Restaurant Teahouse & Aras Sushi Bar
3-4291 Kuhio Hwy, Hanamaulu, Kauai, HI 96766
808-245-2511
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“always a place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

this has been a must for family gatherings for generations. food and service is always great and has maintained the local atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Unique Local Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was the second restaurant recommended to us. It is written as a local restaurant and I would agree. We called and made reservations, dressed up Hawaiian style and went to enjoy dinner. This place could use a little makeover but doing so could ruin the atmosphere. As any Japanese restaurant, you will take your shoes off. Make sure you are ready for that.

On to food and drinks. Two of us ordered the Japanese chef special for two. Cost about $25.00 each but we enjoyed a great selection of food. It had been a long time since I have had Japanese food and this did not disappoint. Introduced the restaurant to sake bombers. You have to order the beer and sake separate. The ladies ordered various thing but all of us left happy and full.

If you want to get away from the normal tourist restaurants please visit this wonderful Japanese and Chinese restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Japanese Tea House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I decided to have lunch at this restaurant. I've have eaten here many times before for parties and dinner. The place hasn't change a bit in twenty years. The front has table sitting service. In the back side of the restaurant is the traditional teahouse service for larger parties where the guest sits on cushions on the tatami mat floors. There is also a Sushi Bar in the back and a Koi pond for a Zen like dining experience. The restaurant serves Japanese and Chinese foods. The menu is quite dated but the food is tasty. They offer a number of combination plates to choose from. I highly recommend the Hanamaulu Fried Ginger Chicken which this restaurant is famous for. Deep fried chopped chicken dipped in slightly sweet ginger batter. You can order a box of Hanamaulu Chicken for $9 to bring home to eat later. It is that good. The wait service was very good. The staff there is friendly and helpful in making your selection. On the weekdays, the restaurant is open for lunch but not on the weekends. The weekends the restaurant is open for dinner service. They offer a Japanese Buffet on the weekend for $27.00 per person. I haven't tried the buffet but some of my friends says it pretty good. I would recommend eating here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Interesting find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We came here after reading reviews of this restaurant. The setting turned out to be just as described - a complete fabulous surprise. The tea garden was beautiful on a sunday evening for dinner. The front area was dingy as described - all so much part of the experience. The Big Blue Book described the food as wanting and sure enough they were right. We chose the buffet for the variety. The crab legs were still good. The teriyaki beef was flavorful. The tempura was ok. Poke was good too but only my husband had some. I would recommend this as an interesting place to eat tho would not be on the top of my recommended list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you want an authentic Japanese teahouse experience then this is the place. Sushi bar in the back is very good as well. I've been here many times and can't say I've been disappointed once. This is where the locals eat. Good value.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanamaulu Restaurant Teahouse & Aras Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanamaulu Restaurant Teahouse & Aras Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.