We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, simple pleasures (but not cheap)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanalei Colony Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hanalei Colony Resort to your Saves list
Hanalei Colony Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714-9985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, simple pleasures (but not cheap)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent four nights here recently. The location on the north shore is spectacular, and we liked the relative isolation and simplicity of the place. It's a place for quiet walks on an isolated beach, not to see and be seen. Proximity to Tunnels and Ke'e beaches is great, as well as the Kalalau trail.

Stock up on groceries before you arrive (there's a grocer in Hanalei that isn't terribly expensive, but I'm sure Lihu'e has better deals). The resort has gas and charcoal grilling available, which is a nice way to stay outside a little longer.

The rooms are large but quite simple. I think the price is a little steep, but it sure is nice to hear the waves from your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    97
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
110
156
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

we spent for the second time a week in this resort, and it is just amazing!
nice, well equipped units, open to the Pacific, it feels at night as if you were sleeping on the beach.
close to the Beach from where youcan walk approx. 5 KM to mmet the end of it, where the cliffs fall into the Pacific. If you have seen The Island, or Jurassic Park, these movies were featured on Kauai, to give you an idea of the landscape.

Room Tip: the Ocean Front rooms are not the cheapest ones, but well... they are ocean FRONT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want to take in the wonders of Kauai's beautifully dramatic north shore. There is no better location in the area; some of the best beaches in Hawaii (which hotels cannot build on), are a mile or so away -- a lovely walk -- and you feel like you're in the midst of a Gauguin painting, surrounded by all the lush tropical scenery.

The resort is low-key and perfectly laid out; there are views of the beach from almost every room. Our ocean-view room was further away from the beach than most, but our view -- over the expansive lawns to the sea -- was wonderful. In particular, I liked the creative layout of our accommodations; the wooden partitions that separated the two bedrooms from the living room area made the space feel large and airy, and not like a typical condo unit.

I'd also add that the room was modern, totally up to date, and furnished in a classic tropical style that played to the beauty of the surrounding area.

Sure, you could go to the huge marble slab that is the St. Regis Princeville, and have a tiny, unspectacular beach at your doorstep. Or you could rent one of the dozens of generic-looking condos in the Princeville complex, and feel like you never left California. But Hanalei is not Waikiki, or even Maui. This is not a good destination if all you want to do is lie in the sun. If you're going to go all the way to the north shore, you need to experience it first-hand, and be prepared to do some exploring. Hanelei Colony Resort is a perfect base for such activities. It's true that you can't swim at the beach in front of the hotel. But think of the trade-offs: Ke'e and Tunnels beaches are a leisurely 20 minute walk away. It doesn't get much better than this anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Only rooms I wouldn't want would be the few garden-view rooms, though the setting is still lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in a second floor oceanfront room and the view of the ocean (50' from the balcony) is just spectacular. The rooms are a little tired but basically clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Easy access to all the beaches and attractions in the Hanalei area. Not sure we would have been as happy in a first floor room - lots of windows and people walking by.

Room Tip: Second floor, ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Hanalei Colony Resort is a great place to unplug from everything. No TV's in the room. Went for a friends wedding and the resort put on a great ceremony and the Luau was amazing. A bit tricky getting there, but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

While the other reviews represent this “resort” well, I just realized I could add my amateur video so you could see an ocean front room. In real life, the wind and ocean aren’t usually as loud as they seem here.

http://youtu.be/PMcGCrB-aok

We have stayed at HCR multiple times, one time accompanied by three other couples – we occupied four units that trip. Some things I didn’t notice on a quick read of some other reviews:

- This isn’t a resort in the sense of a lot of high end luxury. Much better than that, this is a comfortable bit of Kauai, and I believe it is the last multi-unit property on the island before you run out of road. Enjoy it as you would your own condominium.
- Getting here requires driving across several one-lane bridges. More than anything else, these quickly teach you that you are no longer in a hurry. You are really in the wrong place if want to rush to anything or anywhere.
- The outdoor grills are a significant part of the appeal here. Fresh fish from the market side of the Hanalei Dolphin restaurant is awesome. I’m not very social, but wholly enjoyed talking to the people I met at the grills – sometimes you have to wait a few minutes for one to free up.
- You’ll read that you can walk to Tunnels – but it’s too far for many or if you’re carrying a large cooler. If you drive, you’ll see that there’s very little parking by the beach, part of what keeps the crowds down, I’m sure. Drop off everything and everyone else in the car and drive on to Ha'ena Beach Park, walk back along the sand.

I consider this an ideal vacation for couples who enjoy quiet, but it’s short on things to do for most families with children, who will likely be better served in Kapa’a or Poipu – or, really, Maui or Oahu.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am sitting here right now at the Hanalei Colony Resort, drinking coffee and looking out at the bery blue ocean and wild mixed clouds and sun and can't think of anywhere else I would rather have stayed! No TVs-No Landlines was exactly what my boyfriend and needed- a real break from our regular life. Remote location, relaxed, real down-to-earth resort with simple condos and everything we've needed the past six days

We found HCR to be everything that was advertised and, frankly, have been chuckling at some of the complaints on this review thread.

Ants? Yes...one or two...but the is the TROPICS and bugs are Par for the course. Just remember to not leave ANY food out, unsealed, ever in this kind of climate. And clean up after yourselves!
Also, do not leave out any sweet lotions or skin products. Cap 'em up and put them away, and you will be fine!

Cat? Yes...there is a big, orange house cat that belongs to one of the full-time condo residents. Talk to the kitty, he'll want you to pet him. Ignore the kitty, he'll ignore you. Simple as that.

Worst weather on the island? Kauai's North Shore is FAMED for its mix of sun and wind and rain. We chose the North Shore deliberately because of it and we have been loving the wild mix! The temperatures have been also perfect for us: no hotter than 78 during the day and no lower than 67 at night, meaning you can sleep comfortably. If hot sun is what you want, stay on the south shore.

Unfriendly staff? EVERYONE has been WONDERFUL to us! Stephanie in the front office who gave us a thorough tour of the complex and tips for places to snorkel and we like the unobtrusive housekeeping service that only comes every three days (Which the resort tells you very clearly on their website, btw!) Don't like being bothered all the time by housekeeping and find it a delight to not have to put a "Do Not Disturb" sign out all the time, like we have to do on other vacations.

Day spa booked up? We have been able to schedule everything we want, from a massage for me the first day to Lomi-Lomi (Hawaiian Style Massage) later today! Can't wait!

We have not eaten at the restaurant as we have been mostly cooking all our own food (this is a condo rental, after all, so we can!) and have been reserving our eating out budget for when we are out and about on the island.

Food stuffs: Foodland Market in Princeville has everything you could possibly want including LOCAL oranges, papaya, mango, pineapples, bananas...we have been having a love affair with all the fresh fruit. Also, the Saturday Farmers' Market at Hanalei Town was bursting with good stuff!

All in all, as two introverts who really needed a serious break from our busy lives back home, this place has been IDEAL for us and we hope it will be for those of you who like peace and quiet as well!

Mahalo and Aloha,

Deb S.
Seattle, WA

Room Tip: If you are not wanting to be next to the parking lot (and please bear in mind that cars do have to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanalei Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Colony Resort

Address: 5-7130 Kuhio Highway, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714-9985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanalei Colony Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's only north shore beachfront resort is nestled on a gentle curve of white sand beach. These spacious 2-bedroom, 2-bath condominiums with complete kitchens are magically serene and bounded by Kauai's untamed beauty. Gourmet restaurant, day spa, pool, hot tub and coffee shop are all located on the beautifully menicured grounds. Located at the gateway to the famous Na Pali coast, Hanalei Colony Resort is totally unspoiled, unplugged and unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hanalei Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Colony Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanalei Colony Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.