We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, beautiful, historical, not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limahuli Garden and Preserve

Limahuli Garden and Preserve
5-8291 Kuhio Hwy, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
808-826-1053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Hanalei
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Pacific Palisades, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing, beautiful, historical, not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A truly beautiful garden which has fabulous gardens separated by period and kind of plants including native Hawaiian and plantation era gardens, gardens with only the native plants, a garden with those plants which were brought in and so much more. It is truly fascinating!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    38
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing break from the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went her as a break from the sand and ocean! What a great surprise! Self guided tour is great! You can get a ton of information or as little as you like. Plants are labeled and you learn quite a bit about the local ecosystem. Spectacular vistas! A photographers dream! If you're lucky, you might run into Tom, a volunteer who really knows his Hawaiian history! My kids loved it too and they are 8 and 5! Takes between 1-2 hours depending on your speed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wear sturdy shoes and take the self-guided path. You are given a book to follow along, and all the plants are labeled.
See the Canoe Garden, The Ancient way of dividing the land, the Plantation Garden, Medicinal Plants, Endangered Plants, An Indigenous forest and an invasive forest. Not a long hike, but it's all uphill. The view of the ocean at the top is worth it, but not for people who have trouble walking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hawaii
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“"And we've got to get ourselves back to the garden."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A look at Paradise before the Western World discovered it, Limahuli Garden is on the site of an ancient Hawaiian ahupua'a, a self-sustaining agricultural community that took advantage of the landscape and water supply in a series of terraces leading down to the sea. These were complex societies comparable to Mayan, Aztec and Egyptian. The garden tour leads you through several different eco-systems: plantation - with the tropical flowers we recognize, mesic forest with endangered plants unique to Kauai, and others. This isn't just a garden visit, although the setting is spectacular overlooking the coast from an easy-to-traverse footpath in a circular loop. It's more of an immersion into Hawaiian culture and tradition.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Paradise Found. Eden.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We dedicate our screen name to you. You're so beautiful!!!!!

Kawika Winter is the super nice director.

We're gonna write this wonderful charity a check when we get home.

Mahalo nui loa, Limahuli

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limahuli Garden and Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Limahuli Garden and Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limahuli Garden and Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.